Replacing the rear draw bar (continued)

Mounting the pins

First, the round pin is placed into a mini-drill and its upper end is chamfered with a file. The square pins are already chamfered. To ensure that they are perpendicular to the draw bar, the pins are held in a block of wood drilled at dia. 0.8 mm to a depth of 4 mm. Soldering is done on the underside of the draw bar.

Pin soldering

As for the square pins (photo), they are first pressed into their insulating support so that they protrude about 4 mm above the surface of the draw bar. The support will be removed after soldering.

Preparation of the coupling

The coupler (a Fleischmann Profi), held in the vice by a recovery NEM box (Ribu), has two 0,8 mm dia. holes drilled 1 mm from the rear and, of course, 2.54 mm — 1/10’ — center distance. Then its normalized tail is cut. It will be mounted on the draw bar already installed on the DMU, so that it can be adjusted to the right height.

Coupling

Final result

It remains to pass a coat of gray paint on the new draw bar, to assemble the parts and to mount back the whole on the DMU. To make this easier, I release the rear bogie and let it hanging at the end of its wires, although this is not very wise… Don’t forget to mount the battery box back before the final assembly.

Et voilà, as we say in France (and in the USA too)…

The draw bar is too low by about 0.5 mm, due to the original draw bar clearance. But it's possible to catch up by playing on the brass piece folding. I have taken this into account in the dimensions given on the previous page. It’s the destiny of prototypes to remain perfectible, and we make practically only prototypes!

Result

Result

Click the image to get a closer view of the coupling.

Remplacement du timon arrière (suite)

Montage des broches

L’extrémité supérieure de la broche ronde est d’abord chanfreinée à la lime sur mini perceuse. Les broches carrées sont chanfreinées d’origine. Pour qu’elles soient bien perpendiculai­res au timon, les broches sont maintenues dans un bloc de bois percé à ø 0,8 sur une profondeur de 4 mm. Le soudage est fait sur la face inférieure du timon.

Soudage de la broche

Concernant les broches carrées (photo), elles sont d’abord enfoncées dans leur support isolant pour qu’elles dépassent d’environ 4 mm au dessus de la surface du timon. Le support sera enlevé après soudage.

Préparation de l’attelage

L’attelage (un Fleisch­mann Profi), maintenu dans l’étau par un boîtier NEM de récupération (un Ribu), est percé de deux trous ø 0,8 à 1 mm de l’arrière, et, bien sûr, à 2,54 mm d’entraxe. Puis sa queue normalisée est sectionnée. Il sera monté sur le timon déjà mis en place sur l’autorail, de façon à pouvoir le régler à la hauteur correcte.

Attelage

Résultat final

Il reste à passer un coup de peinture grise sur le nouveau timon, à assembler les pièces et à remonter le tout sur l’autorail. Pour faciliter cela, je déboîte le bogie arrière et le laisse pendouiller au bout de ses fils, bien que ça ne soit guère prudent… Ne pas oublier de remonter aussi le coffre à batteries avant l’assemblage final.

Et voilà, comme disent nos amis anglo-saxons…

Le timon est trop bas d’environ 0,5 mm, à cause des jeux du timon d’origine. Mais c’est rattrapable en jouant sur le pliage de la pièce en laiton. J’ai d’ailleurs tenu compte de cette constatation dans les cotes données à la page précédente. C’est le lot des prototypes de rester perfectibles, et nous ne faisons pratiquement que des prototypes !

Résultat

Résultat

Cliquez sur l’image pour voir l’attelage de plus près.