Replacing the rear draw bar

At the rear, you should give up the battery box to mount a coupler? This would distort the typical aspect of the railcar, and would remind me the Jouef model of the 1960s in an annoying way. Something must be done!

This is the rear of the Picasso:

X 4039 by Auzéau

Photo © Auzéau 2008.

Not that!

X 4039 par Auzéau

Picture shamefully forged by me.

The future draw bar

The most important is that the future draw bar, passing under the battery box, doesn’t come to stop behind it.

We see that the old plastic draw bar will be cut at the level of its NEM box. The fixing screw 4 will pass through a hole tapped in the guide pin of the plastic draw bar, to benefit from its greater thickness. Pin 3 is used to maintain alignment. It will have to be carefully leveled so as not to rub under the body. Finally, pins 5 (from a 1/10’ pitch connecting bar for PCB) will receive a specially prepared Roco or Fleischmann coupler to get the shortest possible coupling.

View of the draw bar

  1. Plastic draw bar
  2. Brass draw bar, thickness 0,5
  3. Pin dia. 0,8 mm
  4. TC M 1,6 × 4 screw or better 1,4 × 3 P-tite at micro-modèle
  5. Square pins 0,6 mm for coupler fixing
  6. Battery box wall
  7. NEM box horizontally cut

Warning: as I’m a little lazy, I haven’t shown all the old draw bar details, especially the return spring fastener. Do not deduct that it should be identical to the above drawing…

Dimensions of the draw bar

Here is an exploded view of the assembly. The main part is a 0.5 mm thick and 5 mm wide strip of brass. For the holes, see the figure below. The M1,6 tapping in the plastic draw bar is made in a dia. 1.3 mm hole. The pins height is about 5 mm; they’ll have in any case to be adjusted after assembly.

Here is another dimensioned view of the draw bar, this time flat, before folding. It is always delicate to dimension a fold. I estimated the folding inside radius to be 0.5 mm. But don’t take the ​​given values literally. The accuracy doesn’t have to be 1/10th of a millimeter. The differences with the previous view are explained by the fact that the dimensions are not taken at the same locations.

Dimensioning the draw bar

Dimensioning the draw bar

Remplacement du timon arrière

À l’arrière, il faudrait renoncer au coffre à batteries pour monter un attelage ? Cela dénaturerait l’aspect caracté­ristique de l’engin, et me rappellerait fâcheusement le modèle Jouef des années 1960. Il faut faire quelque chose !

L’arrière du Picasso, c’est ça :

X 4039 par Auzéau

Cliché © Auzéau 2008.

Et pas ça !

X 4039 par Auzéau

Cliché honteusement maquillé par moi.

Le futur timon

Le plus important est que le futur timon, passant en dessous du coffre, ne vienne pas buter derrière celui-ci.

On voit que l’ancien timon en plastique sera sectionné au niveau de son boîtier NEM. La vis de fixation 4 passera dans un trou taraudé dans un pion de guidage du timon en plastique, pour bénéficier de sa plus grande épaisseur. La broche 3 servira à maintenir l’alignement. Elle devra être soigneusement arasée pour ne pas frotter sous la caisse. Enfin, les broches 5 (issues de barrettes au pas de 2,54 mm pour circuit imprimé) recevront un attelage Roco ou Fleischmann spécialement préparé pour obtenir l’attelage le plus court possible.

Aspect du timon

  1. Timon en plastique d’origine
  2. Timon en laiton épaisseur 0,5
  3. Broche ø 0,8
  4. Vis TC M 1,6 × 4 ou mieux P-tite 1,4 × 3 chez micro-modèle
  5. Broches carrées 0,6 pour fixation de l’attelage
  6. Paroi du coffre
  7. Boîtier NEM sectionné horizontalement

Attention : par paresse, je n’ai pas représenté tous les détails de l’ancien timon, notamment l’attache du ressort de rappel. N’en déduisez surtout pas qu’il faille le rendre identique au dessin ci-dessus…

Dimensions du timon

Voici une vue éclatée du montage. La pièce principale est une bande de laiton d’épaisseur 0,5 mm, et de largeur 5 mm. Pour les perçages, voyez la figure ci-dessous. Le taraudage M1,6 dans le timon en plastique est pratiqué dans un trou ø 1,3. La hauteur des bro­ches est d’environ 5 mm ; elles devront de toute façon être ajustées après montage.

Voici une autre vue cotée du timon, cette fois à plat, avant pliage. Il est toujours délicat de coter un pliage. J’ai estimé le rayon intérieur du pliage à 0,5 mm. Mais il ne faut pas prendre les valeurs données au pied de la lettre — ou plutôt du chiffre. On n’est pas à 1/10e de mm près. Les différences avec la vue précédente s’expliquent par le fait que les cotes ne sont pas prises aux mêmes endroits.

Cotation du timon

Cotation du timon