Turning the red front lights off

What solutions?

For turning off the red lights, there are two possible solutions:

I chose the second solution, with a little bonus: the switch will be a bistable reed (flexible blade switch, controlled by a magnet). This means that it will remain closed even in the absence of the magnet, without complicated electronics. This is a technique I have already adopted for several cars. See video. The only difficulty is that these reed are not many in the market. The only ones I found, type PMC-1424THX, are on sale at Conrad, rather expensive, and, unfortunately, much more expensive on the French website than on the German one. But at Conrad’s, verboten for a Frenchman to order in Germany… If you have contacts in this country, you know what you have to do. Even with shipping costs, you’ll be largely a winner.

Note: I found another manufacturer, Standex Meder, who offers this type of reed switch, ref. KSK-1E66, and a dealer, Mouser Electronics. This product doesn’t seem very interesting, because it is approximately the same size as the Conrad, just a little narrower, while being almost three times more expensive.

There are two questions left:

Positioning the reed switch

As the LEDs to be controlled are at the front, you may be tempted to place the reed at this position. Especially not! The presence of the loudspeaker magnet — for a sounded version — will prevent the reed from working! It is also necessary that the location is easily visible from outside, to know where to pass the control magnet over.

The best place I found, which nevertheless requires a slight milling under the roof (surrounded in pink), is located above the passenger access doors. I took the opportunity to paint the underside of the roof in black to minimize the light leakage (there are unfortunately many others, on the side walls and at the lanterns).

Positioning the reed switch

Click the image for a closer view of the reed.

I fixed the reed (surrounded in green), lying at about 45 °, with a little Patafix, but it is not really essential, because it is well stuck under the roof!

Connection with LEDs circuit

I give you here the result of my investigations, without total guarantee, because I did not want to completely disassemble the LED circuit, which is in the form of a flexible circuit (here is the back one). It is easy to unplug from the board by sliding the connector’s black lock. This makes it possible to test with an ohmmeter with little risk.

So here is the supposed diagram of the front lights (the rear circuit seems identical). Note: the wires are numbered as in the picture below.

Connector lock

Click the image for a closer view of the connector lock.

Circuit diagram

It is noted that all the LEDs have a common point on the cathode side, through their limiting resistors, except that of the left red light. I think it is for the back signaling in era III, during which only one of the two big lanterns was lit. It can be seen that, in order to cut the red lights, one can act on wire No. 1, common to both red LEDs.

A small scalpel surgery follows: scratching the insulation varnish on track #1 over about 5 mm, cutting and removing of a 1 mm section, tinning the stripped parts. Finally, soldering of the reed connecting wires.

Connexion circuit

Tip: work on the unplugged flexible circuit, and place under it a scrap PCB, or aluminium, or a piece of thick cardboard, which will avoid touching the railcar body with the soldering iron. For the iron, fine tip (for SMD) mandatory! And pay also attention to the brave driver, forced to stay in place!

£ 3,39 per piece — price 2014
code 506952-62 at Conrad

Extinction des feux rouges avant

Quelles solutions ?

Pour l’extinction des feux rouges, il y a deux solutions envisageables :

J’ai choisi la deuxième solution, avec un petit plus : l’interrupteur sera un ILS (interrupteur à lame souple, commandé par un aimant) bistable. Cela signifie qu’il restera fermé même en l’absence de l’aimant, sans électronique compliquée. C’est une technique que j’ai déjà adoptée pour plusieurs voitures. Voir la vidéo de démonstration. La seule difficulté est que ces ILS ne se bousculent pas sur le marché. Les seuls que j’ai trouvés, de type PMC-1424THX, sont en vente chez Conrad, assez chers, et, chose fâcheuse, nettement plus chers sur le site français que sur le site allemand. Mais, chez Conrad, verboten pour un Français de commander en Allemagne… Si vous avez des contacts dans ce pays, vous savez ce qu’il vous reste à faire. Même avec les frais d’envoi, vous serez largement gagnants.

NB : j’ai trouvé un autre fabricant, Standex Meder, qui propose ce type d’ILS, réf. KSK-1E66, et un distributeur, Mouser Electronics. Ce produit ne me semble pas très intéressant, car il est sensiblement de la même taille que le Conrad, juste un peu plus étroit, tout en étant presque trois fois plus cher.

Il reste deux questions :

Implantation de l’ILS

Comme les LED à commander se situent à l’avant, on peut être tenté de placer l’ILS à cet endroit. Surtout pas ! La présence de l’aimant du haut-parleur — pour une version sonorisée naturellement — va empêcher l’ILS de fonctionner ! Il faut aussi que l’emplacement soit facilement repérable de l’extérieur, pour savoir où passer l’aimant de commande.

La meilleure place que j’aie trouvée, qui nécessite cependant un léger fraisage sous le toit (entouré en rose), se situe au-dessus des portes d’accès voyageurs. J’en ai profité pour peindre le dessous du toit en noir pour minimiser les fuites de lumière (il y en a mal­heureusement beaucoup d’autres, sur les parois latérales et au niveau des fanaux).

Positionnement ILS

Cliquez sur l’image pour voir l’ILS de plus près.

J’ai fixé l’ILS (entouré en vert), couché à 45° environ, avec un peu de Patafix, mais ce n’est pas vraiment indispensable, car il est bien coincé sous le toit !

Raccordement avec le circuit des LED

Je vous livre ici le résultat de mes investigations, sans totale garantie, car je n’ai pas voulu démonter complètement le circuit des LED, qui se présente sous la forme d’un circuit souple (ici, c’est celui d’arrière). Il est facile à débrancher de la carte en faisant coulisser le verrou noir du connecteur. Cela permet de faire des tests à l’ohmmètre sans trop de risques.

Voici donc le schéma supposé des feux avant (le circuit arrière semble identique). NB : les fils sont numérotés comme sur la photo ci-dessous.

Verrou du connecteur

Cliquez sur l’image pour voir le verrou de connecteur de plus près.

Schéma du circuit

On remarque que toutes les LED ont un point commun côté cathode, à travers leurs résistances de limitation, sauf celle du feu rouge gau­che. Je pense que c’est pour la signalisation d’arrière époque III, dans laquelle un seul des deux gros fanaux est allumé. On voit que, pour couper les feux rouges, on peut agir sur le fil no 1, commun aux deux LED rouges.

Suit une petite intervention chirurgicale au scalpel : grattage du vernis isolant de la piste no 1 sur environ 5 mm, coupure et suppression d’un tronçon de 1 mm, étamage des parties décapées. Enfin, soudage des fils de liaison avec l’ILS.

Connexion circuit

Conseil : travaillez sur la nappe débranchée, et placez dessous une plaquette de circuit imprimé, ou d’aluminium, ou à défaut un morceau de carton épais, qui évitera de toucher la caisse de l’autorail avec le fer à souder. Pour ce dernier, panne fine obligatoire ! Et attention aussi au brave agent de conduite, forcé de rester à son poste !

3,60 € pièce, 3,06 € à partir
de 25 pièces — prix 2014
code 506952-62 chez Conrad