Really functional lanterns

REE era IV lanterns

In 2015, REE proposed era IV lanterns in bag of six parts. Like the (too) modern lanterns currently fitted to the hopper, they are equipped with a light guide. So I rightly thought that they were interchangeable and I immediately jumped at the opportunity to replace them.

Disappointment: the lantern body is shorter, and does not mask the bottom of the light guide. Therefore, almost all light passes under the lantern! And, due to the poor design of the guide (no 45° return at the end), the little light arriving at the end cannot practically be seen.

For some time now, I was meditating to replace this device with lanterns equipped with an embedded LED. I had mounted an LED in ten REE lanterns, and I had already equipped a LS Models TA60 wagon, without any difficulty, and then a Roco Est car and a Jouef cereal hopper. I finally decided to equip the REE hopper.

Keep the original circuit or make a new one?

The question arose whether to retain the original circuit or not; very discreet, it allows to run empty or loaded: it remains invisible. At the price of the suppression of the coupler, which prevents manoeuvring the wagon. But, as we saw before, I added an anti-blinking circuit to the wagon, hidden by a load. So there was no longer question of running empty!

Another question: should we connect the new LEDs in place of the old ones? These are really tiny, and the risk is very great to destroy them when unsoldering. Better keep this circuit intact for possibly restoring the wagon in its original state.

All these considerations led me to eliminate purely and simply the original circuit and to make the choice of a new circuit, implanted into the hopper, combining all the required functions, namely:

Implementation

Current pickup

The solution adopted by REE, that of the strips rubbing on the inner side of the wheels, is not very satisfactory. In addition to the bad contacts already mentioned, there are other disadvantages, such as the braking of the wagon (accompanied by grinding) and the non-burnishing of the wheels to ensure correct electrical contact with the track. The solution of using conductive bearings in combination with non-insulated wheels half-axles is much better.

But these cars do not have conductive bearings! Never mind. I installed them, according to the method already used for the Hornby Acho reefer: digging the axle box with a spherical milling cutter in the drill mounted obliquely with respect to its descending axis.

The bearings, slightly bonded, are then connected by a strand of wire soldered on their shoulders, using flux, because the operation made directly on the spot must be fast. Finally, flexible wires are soldered in the same way and then connected to the control circuit. Attention: these wires must be very thin, under penalty of rubbing under the chassis of the wagon, thus hindering the bogie travel.

Conductive axles

I need four uninsulated wheels, which I am going to take from another wagon: for aesthetic reasons they must all have the same browned appearance, contrary to those of the original bogie; these will be mounted on the other bogie.

As usual, first disassembly of the insulated wheels on two axles and uninsulated wheels on two other axles. Reassembly of the insulated wheels on the axles which have retained their insulated wheels and immediately re-equipment of the donor wagon.

Cutting of the remaining axles (length of a half-axle: about 11 mm.) Repositioning of the wheels with an offset of 0.4 mm from their original position (the shoulder existing on the REE axle makes it possible to easily estimate the offset).

Assembly thanks to a suitable sleeve (ballpoint pen cartridge) of exactly 14 mm long, which automatically gives the wheel back-to-back distance of 14.5 mm (± 0.1). A suitable axle must have an overall length of 23.6 mm (originally 24.4 mm). This last dimension can be slightly modified if it is found that the rotation in the bogie is not free, or if there is too much clearance: this depends on the bearings used and their mounting depth. It is even possible to adjust this depth by carefully pressing the bearing with a thermoregulated soldering iron (about 150° C, not more!).

Stripping of wheels

The wheels used are burnished, and — according to REE — badly conductive. So I stripped their rolling table until material appeared, which is brass (there is an intermediate copper layer probably to promote chemical treatment). And as the appearance obtained does not look really serious, I try to burnish again with brass burnisher, to check whether the conduction is correct. Well, yes it is!

Installing the lanterns

Normally, the lantern supports are attached to the railing; but there is none! There is, nevertheless, a suitable support: the light guide itself. And as the REE lanterns are designed to fit on, let’s enjoy it! So they are glued on their guide (only slightly depressed, because of the presence of the LED).

Lantern position

The LED wires (ø 0.1 enamelled wires), cautiously twisted, since this is not the time to break them flush with the lantern, descend vertically on the buffer beam and then go towards the outside of the chassis, maintained by some superglue drops. Then they enter the hopper through the hole already drilled. They are painted in wagon red (approximate!)

Wire path

Note that it is unfortunately impossible to mount an elongated drawbar, the proper part being missing. Or maybe a Makette KKK1?

Control and connection circuit

See the PDF document giving the diagram and the etching film of this circuit.

The circuit has two input terminals for the wires coming from the bogie and four terminals for those of the LEDs. The latter being in series, I could have connected two wires further upstream, but I find it more convenient to bring all the wires back to the same place. I have equipped the circuit with the 470 μF capacitor used before, which gives a lighting autonomy of more than ten seconds!

Control circuit

Circuit photographed before soldering the (present) reed switch and the capacitor (not present, its location being in the circuit centre). The bogie wires arrive to the left, and the lantern wires go to the right. The resistor R2 value (27 kΩ, marking 273) can be changed to set the LED brightness.

Result

Result

It can be seen that the light passes through the walls of the lanterns. Indeed, the material in which they are moulded is white! If it had been black… What a pity, isn’t it?

REE lanterns ref. XB-502
11.90 € per 6 - price 2015
at jura-modelisme.fr

Des lanternes vraiment fonctionnelles

Les lanternes REE époque IV

En 2015, REE a proposé en sachet de six pièces des lanternes époque IV. Comme les lanternes (trop) modernes équipant actuellement la trémie, elles sont munies d’un conduit de lumière. J’ai donc pensé à raison qu’elles étaient interchangeables et j’ai immédiatement sauté sur l’occasion de les remplacer.

Déception : le corps de lanterne est plus court, et ne masque pas le bas du conduit de lumière. Par conséquent, presque toute la lumière passe sous la lanterne ! Et, à cause de la mauvaise conception du conduit (pas de renvoi à 45° à l’extrémité), le peu de lumière arrivant au bout ne se voit pratiquement pas.

Depuis un certain temps, je méditais donc de remplacer ce dispositif par des lanternes équipées d’une LED incorporée. J’avais monté une LED dans une dizaine de lanternes REE, et j’en avais déjà équipé, sans difficulté particulière, un wagon TA60 LS Models, puis une voiture Est Roco et un céréalier Jouef. Je me suis enfin décidé à rééquiper la trémie REE.

Conserver le circuit d’origine ou en faire un nouveau ?

La question s’est posée de conserver ou non le circuit d’origine ; très discret, il permet de circuler à vide ou chargé : il reste invisible. Au prix de la suppression de l’attelage, ce qui empêche de manœuvrer le wagon. Mais, comme on l’a vu précédemment, j’ai ajouté dans la trémie un circuit anti-clignotement à condensateur, caché par un chargement. Donc plus question de circuler à vide !

Autre question : faudrait-il connecter les nouvelles LED à la place des anciennes ? Ces dernières sont vraiment minuscules, et le risque est très grand de les détruire en les dessoudant. Autant garder ce circuit intact pour la remise éventuelle à l’état d’origine.

Toutes ces considérations m’ont amené à supprimer purement et simplement le circuit d’origine et à faire le choix d’un nouveau circuit, implanté dans la trémie, combinant toutes les fonctions voulues, à savoir :

Mise en œuvre

Prise de courant

La solution adoptée par REE, celle des lamelles frottant sur le flanc intérieur des roues, n’est pas très satisfaisante. Outre les mauvais contacts déjà soulignés, il y a d’autres inconvénients, comme le freinage du wagon (accompagné de grincements) et le non-brunissage des roues pour assurer un contact électrique correct avec les rails. La solution qui consiste à utiliser des paliers conducteurs en combinaison avec des demi-essieux à roues non isolées est bien meilleure.

Mais ces wagons n’ont pas de paliers conducteurs ! Qu’à cela ne tienne. J’en ai installé, selon la méthode déjà utilisée pour les frigos Hornby Acho : creusement de la boîte d’essieu avec une fraise sphérique dans la perceuse montée obliquement par rapport à son axe de descente.

Les paliers, légèrement collés, sont ensuite reliés par un brin de fil soudé sur leur épaulement, à l’aide de flux Bergeon, car l’opération faite directement sur place doit être rapide. Des fils souples sont enfin soudés de la même façon pour être ensuite raccordés au circuit de commande. Attention : il faut que ces fils soient très fins, sous peine de frotter sous le châssis du wagon, gênant ainsi le débattement du bogie.

Essieux conducteurs

Il me faut quatre roues non isolées, que je vais prendre sur un autre wagon : pour des raisons esthétiques, elles doivent toutes avoir le même aspect, bruni, contrairement à celles du bogie d’origine ; ces dernières seront montées sur l’autre bogie.

Comme d’habitude, démontage des roues isolées sur deux essieux et des roues non isolées sur deux autres essieux. Remontage des roues isolées sur les axes ayant conservé leurs roues isolées et rééquipement immédiat du wagon donneur.

Tronçonnage des axes restants (longueur d’un demi-axe : 11 mm environ. Remise en place des roues avec un décalage de 0,4 mm par rapport à leur position d’origine (l’épaulement existant sur les axes REE permet de bien se repérer).

Manchonnage par tube adéquat (cartouche de stylo à bille) de longueur 14 mm exactement, qui donnera automatiquement la distance dos à dos des roues de 14,5 mm (± 0,1). Un essieu convenable doit avoir une longueur entre pointes de 23,6 mm (24,4 à l’origine). On peut modifier légèrement cette dernière cote si on constate que la rotation dans le bogie n’est pas libre, ou au contraire s’il y a trop de jeu : cela dépend des paliers utilisés et de leur profondeur de montage. On peut même régler cette profondeur en enfonçant prudemment le palier à chaud (150 °C environ, pas plus !) avec un fer thermorégulé.

Décapage des roues

Les roues utilisées sont brunies, et — selon REE — mauvaises conductrices. Je décape donc leur table de roulement jusqu’à apparition de la matière, qui est du laiton (il y a une couche intermédiaire de cuivre sans doute pour favoriser le traitement chimique). Et comme l’aspect obtenu ne fait pas vraiment sérieux, je tente de re-brunir avec du brunisseur pour laiton, histoire de vérifier si la conduction est correcte. Eh bien, oui, elle l’est !

Installation des lanternes

Normalement, les supports de lanternes sont fixés sur le garde-corps ; mais il n’y en a pas ! Il y a néanmoins un support tout trouvé : c’est le conduit de lumière lui-même. Et comme les lanternes REE sont conçues pour s’enficher dessus, profitons-en ! Elles sont donc collées sur leur conduit (peu enfoncées, à cause de la présence de la LED).

Position des lanternes

Les fils des LED (fils émaillés ø 0,1), torsadés prudemment, car ce n’est pas le moment de les casser à ras de la lanterne, descendent verticalement sur la traverse de tamponne­ment, puis cheminent vers l’extérieur du châssis, maintenus par quelques points de cyanoacrylate. Ils entrent ensuite dans la trémie par le trou déjà percé. Ils sont peints en rouge wagon (approximatif !)

Cheminement des fils

Remarquez qu’il est malheureusement impossible de remonter un timon à élongation, la pièce adéquate étant absente. Ou peut-être un timon Makette KKK1 ?

Circuit de commande et raccordement

Voir le document PDF donnant le schéma et le typon de ce circuit.

Ce circuit a deux bornes d’entrée pour les fils venant du bogie et quatre pour ceux des LED. Ces dernières étant en série, j’aurais pu raccorder deux fils plus en amont, mais je trouve que c’est plus pratique de ramener tous les fils au même endroit. J’ai équipé le circuit du condensateur de 470 µF utilisé auparavant, ce qui donne une autonomie d’éclairage d’une bonne dizaine de secondes !

Circuit de commande

Circuit photographié avant soudage de l’ILS (présent) et du condensateur (non présent, son emplacement étant au centre du circuit). Les fils du bogie arrivent à gauche, et ceux des lanternes partent à droite. La valeur de la résistance R2 (27 kΩ, marquage 273) peut être changée pour modifier la luminosité des LED.

Résultat

Résultat

On peut constater que la lumière traverse les parois des lanternes. En effet, la matière dans laquelle elles sont moulées est blanche ! Si elle avait été noire… C’est ballot, n’est-ce pas ?

Lanternes REE réf. XB-502
11,90 € les 6 — prix 2015
chez jura-modelisme.fr