Loading of wagons

The difficulty is of course to fill hoppers whose opening narrows towards the top. We will use a shape of extruded polystyrene coated with a flocking. Two questions: what flocking to use, and how to introduce this form inside the wagon?

What flocking material?

Personally, I used 10 mm thick waterproof plaster wall remnants. Unlike conventional wall (BA13), it has a greyish-beige appearance, which looks like a certain type of blast furnace slag (there is a wide variety). It is easily crushed. The powder obtained is passed through a sieve of about 1 mm mesh (tea strainer!).

Here are examples of slag, according to the Centre Technique de Promotion des Laitiers sidérurgiques (Technical Centre for the Promotion of Steel Slag). The trouble is that the particle size is not specified!

Blast furnace slagBlast furnace slagBlast furnace slag

Crystallized blast furnace slag Vitrified blast furnace slag Conversion steel slag

The product I chose looks more like crystallized blast furnace slag.

How to introduce the shape in the wagon?

Well, by simply disassembling it! And, rest assured, this wagon is as simple to reassemble as to disassemble. The top of the body is simply clipped to the bottom at three points on each side, located approximately to the centre of each hopper. It can even be removed without tools, provided you get fingernails of at least 1 mm long!

Disassembling of the body

The only precaution to be taken is that the brake pipes, the supports of which are trapped between the two parts, will fall. Put them aside carefully. As for the ladders, they were stuck to the top of the body on this copy (not on others), and I did not want to force to remove them, even if their position makes them very vulnerable!

Disassembled parts

In the central hopper, you can see a ballast of 32 × 32 × 2.6 mm stainless steel, weighting about 19 g, which is necessary because the wagon lacks at least 11 g to comply with the NEM 302. It may be more advisable to place steel or lead balls at the bottom of the hoppers in order to lower the centre of gravity.

Chargement des wagons

La difficulté est bien sûr de remplir des trémies dont l’ouverture se rétrécit vers le haut. Nous allons utiliser une forme en polystyrène extrudé recouverte d’un flocage. Deux questions : quel flocage utiliser, et comment introduire cette forme à l’intérieur du wagon ?

Quel matériau de flocage ?

Personnellement, j’ai utilisé des restes de cloison de plâtre hydrofuge d’épaisseur 10 mm. Contrairement aux cloisons classiques (BA13), celle-ci a un aspect beige grisâtre qui ressemble assez à un certain type de laitier de haut-fourneau (il y en a une grande variété). Elle se concasse facilement. La poudre obtenue est passée dans un tamis de maille 1 mm environ (passoire à thé !).

Voici des exemples de laitiers, d’après le Centre Technique de Promotion des Laitiers sidérurgiques. L’ennui est que la granulométrie n’est pas précisée !

Laitiers de haut fourneauLaitiers de haut fourneauLaitiers de haut fourneau

Laitier de Haut-Fourneau Cristallisé Laitier de Haut-Fourneau Vitrifié Laitier d’Aciérie de Conversion

Le produit que j’ai choisi ressemble plutôt au laitier de haut-fourneau cristallisé.

Comment introduire la forme dans le wagon ?

Eh bien, en le démontant, tout simplement ! Et, rassurez-vous, ce wagon est aussi simple à remonter qu’à démonter. Le haut de la caisse est simplement clipsé sur le bas en trois points de chaque côté, situés à peu près au centre de chaque trémie. On peut même l’enlever sans outil, pourvu que l’on ait des ongles d’au moins 1 mm !

Démontage de la caisse

Seule précaution à prendre : les tuyauteries de frein dont les supports sont prisonniers entre les deux parties vont tomber. Les mettre de côté soigneusement. Quant aux échelles, elles sont restées collées au haut de caisse sur cet exemplaire (pas sur d’autres), et je n’ai pas voulu forcer pour les retirer, même si leur position les rend très vulnérables !

Pièces démontées

Vous pouvez voir dans la trémie centrale un lest en acier inox de 32 × 32 ×  2,6, qui fait environ 19 g, lest nécessaire car il manque au moins 11 g au wagon pour être conforme à la NEM 302. Il serait peut-être plus judicieux de mettre des billes d’acier ou de plomb au fond des trémies, afin d’abaisser le centre de gravité.