Mechanical modification

As the new circuit will be placed in a hopper, the wires will have to pass through it. It is therefore necessary to intervene on the wagon body.

Dismantling of the rear bogie

This is not the easiest thing to do without risk of breakage.

We must start by unclipping small lugs (3) close to the brake shoes (1), hooked at the top of the bogie crossbar. The brake and shroud assembly (2) then comes in a single block, revealing the pivot screw.

Dismantling of the bogie

Here, I photographed a bogie without current pickup, for clarity. The presence of the current pickup strips complicates things a little more…

After removing the small screw of the printed circuit and unclipping it, the circuit / bogie assembly can be separated from the wagon.

Drilling of the body

The passage of the wires requires, depending on their size, to drill a hole with a diameter of about 2 mm in the bottom of the hopper, just below the nearest chassis crosspiece.

Circuit view

Wire connections

Since the pickup strips looked extremely fragile, I did not want to unsolder the wires connected to them. I preferred to extend these wires, disconnected from the lantern circuit, to the new circuit by soldering another wire to each and protecting the soldering with 1 mm heat shrink tubing. To the lantern circuit side, no special problem, but a sufficiently fine soldering iron tip is needed (tip for SMD).

Reassembly and testing

Start by re-fixing the lantern circuit, position the wires correctly in their guides above the bogie. Reassemble the latter, pulling the excess wires to the hopper while leaving a little slack for rotation. Secure the new circuit into the hopper. I used Patafix for this: this remains easily removable.

Check operation by rolling the wagon on a piece of track. If all is right (no more blinking!), end by reassembling the brake equipment under the bogie. Check the position of the pickup strips, which tend to twist anyhow, for the last time.

Now, let’s conceal all that!

Modification mécanique

Comme le nouveau circuit sera placé dans une trémie, les fils devront traverser celle-ci. Il faut donc intervenir sur la caisse du wagon.

Démontage du bogie arrière

Ce n’est pas la chose la plus facile à faire sans risque de casse.

Il faut commencer par déclipser de petites pattes (3) proches des semelles de freins (1), accrochées en haut de la traverse du bogie. L’ensemble équipement de frein et carénage de traverse (2) vient ensuite d’un seul bloc, laissant apparaître la vis de pivot.

Démontage du bogie

Ici, j’ai photographié un bogie sans prise de courant, pour la lisibilité. La présence des lamelles de prise de courant complique encore un peu les choses…

Après avoir ôté la petite vis du circuit imprimé et déclipsé celui-ci, l’ensemble circuit / bogie peut être séparé du wagon.

Perçage de la caisse

Le passage des fils nécessite, suivant leur grosseur, de percer un trou d’un diamètre d’environ 2 mm dans le bas de la trémie, juste sous la traverse de châssis la plus proche.

Vue du circuit

Raccordement des fils

Comme les lamelles de prise de courant m’ont paru extrêmement fragiles, je n’ai pas voulu dessouder les fils qui y sont raccordés. J’ai préféré prolonger ces fils, débranchés du circuit des fanaux, vers le nouveau circuit en leur soudant chacun un autre fil et en protégeant la soudure avec de la gaine thermorétractable de 1 mm. Côté circuit des fanaux, pas de problème particulier, mais il faut une panne de fer à souder suffisamment fine (panne pour CMS).

Remontage et essais

Commencer par refixer le circuit des fanaux, positionner les fils correctement dans leurs guides au dessus du bogie. Remonter alors ce dernier, en tirant l’excédent des fils vers la trémie tout en laissant un peu de mou pour la rotation. Fixer le nouveau circuit dans la trémie. J’ai utilisé pour cela de la Patafix : cela reste facilement démontable.

Vérifier le fonctionnement en faisant rouler le wagon sur un bout de voie. Si tout va bien (plus de clignotement !), finir en reclipsant l’équipement de frein sous le bogie. Vérifier une dernière fois la position des lamelles qui ont tendance à se tordre n’importe comment.

Maintenant, il va falloir camoufler tout ça !