Electrical modification

I will use the conventional solution of the rectifier followed by a capacitor, with a circuit to limit the load current of the latter, as explained elsewhere. Since the LED consumption is very low, the capacitor’s value may be relatively small. After tests, I found that 100 μF 35 V was ample enough, but I kept the 470 μF capacitor initially planned.

New circuit

Here is the diagram of this circuit, which will simply be inserted between the wheels on one side and the original circuit on the other. I made this circuit on bakelite stripboard that I had at hand.

Diagram

Here is a 3D drawing, prettier and more readable than the real prototype circuit! Pay close attention to the capacitor polarity! Provide fairly long connecting wires (10 cm) for easy connection. It will always be possible to conceal the surplus into the hopper after reassembly.

In the plan view, the capacitor is rendered translucent and the other components are represented by a white outline. The tracks are seen by transparency, they are actually on the opposite side of the board. They must be cut as indicated (under diode, resistor and rectifier bridge). Connections to make (solder bridges or bent component wires) are indicated by red lines.

3D circuit

Circuit diagram

Connections

The connections are, from top to bottom, and in the same order as on the circuit above:

Connections

Modification électrique

Je vais utiliser la solution classique du redresseur suivi d’un condensateur, avec un circuit de limitation du courant de charge de ce dernier, comme expliqué par ailleurs. La consommation des LED étant très faible, la capacité du condensateur pourra être relativement petite. Après essais, j’ai constaté que 100 µF 35 V était amplement suffisant, mais j’ai laissé le condensateur de 470 µF prévu au départ.

Nouveau circuit

Voici le schéma de ce circuit, qui sera simplement intercalé entre les roues d’un côté, et le circuit d’origine de l’autre. J’ai réalisé ce circuit sur de la bakélite prépastillée que j’avais sous la main.

Schema

En voici un dessin 3D, plus joli et plus lisible que le circuit prototype réel ! Faire très attention à la polarité du condensateur ! Prévoir des fils de liaison assez longs (10 cm) pour faciliter le raccordement. Il sera toujours possible d’en dissimuler l’excédent dans la trémie après remontage.

Dans la vue en plan, le condensateur est rendu translucide et les autres composants sont représentés par leur contour en blanc. Les pistes sont vues par transparence, elles sont en fait du côté opposé de la carte. Elles doivent être coupées comme indiqué (sous la diode, la résistance et le pont redresseur). Des raccordements (ponts de soudure ou pattes pliées des composants) doivent être faits ; ils sont indiqués par les traits rouges.

Circuit 3D

Plan du circuit

Raccordements

Les raccordements sont, de haut en bas, et dans le même ordre que sur le circuit ci-dessus :

Raccordement