Detailing the EVS wagon

Changes to be made

Here, I have planned little: the end handles, the missing hauling hooks and the main marking plates.

Handles

The original handles are simply cut with a scalpel, retaining the relief representing their fixation. Drilling with diameter 0.4 at an angle of 45° approximately. This time, I use piano string more rigid than nickel silver, but nevertheless easy to bend on template.

They should have been folded to fit the wagon end wall, but I did not think of it at the time. And no question of trying to fold them afterwards: it was playable with nickel silver, but not with piano string!

Hauling hooks

I use SMD hooks. They should be provided with a support, preferably strong, because these parts are fairly exposed.

Here is the diagram of this support, intended to be fixed against the inside of the chassis, made of 1.5 × 0.3 mm nickel silver profile. The diagram is precise, but the folding is done at sight!

The hook is soldered to its support, and the only difficulty is to keep the two parts, still very small, well aligned during the operation. The gluing on the chassis is done with superglue.

3D study of hauling hooks

Markings

Initially, I only intended to change the license plate. But when erasing the original marking with alcohol, the load table was affected. So I had to remake this one also. As the characters are black on the body gray metallic background, I used a decal sheet with transparent backing.

Marking of the EVS wagon

Result

View of changes on the EVS wagon

Here, as for the STEF wagon, the new plates are reddish. The transparent support of the load table is almost invisible on the front photo, but is actually visible under certain lighting conditions because it is mate on the metallic background paint. I do not currently have varnish that can restore this surface condition. Perhaps the Microscale Microcoat, which exists in three finishes (gloss, satin and flat), of which a satin, could be suitable?

What about the Rloos?

Yes, what about the Rloos, among all? Well, I have not yet seriously considered its fate. Apart from the common changes (bogies, buffers), it has not suffered anything special, for at least two reasons: first, it has certain reliefs (rings, ladders) molded with the body, which will be very difficult to cleanly flush. Then I would like to give a coherent load to it, I think for example of pallets of empty bottles, and I have not yet found how to make it in a way that is both economical and realistic. So, to be continued ?

MICRO SATIN varnish
Ref. MI5,4.80 € (price 2017)
at micro-modele.

Détaillage du wagon EVS Habiss

Modifications à effectuer

Ici, j’ai prévu peu de choses : les mains montoires d’extrémité, les crochets de halage absents et les plaques de marquage principales.

Mains montoires

Les mains montoires d’origine sont simplement coupées au scalpel, en conservant le relief représentant leur fixation. Perçage au diamètre 0,4 à 45° environ. Cette fois, j’utilise de la corde à piano plus rigide que le maillechort, mais néanmoins facile à plier sur gabarit.

Elles auraient dû être rabattues pour être dans le plan du dossier du wagon, mais je n’y ai pas pensé sur le moment. Et pas question d’essayer de les plier après coup : là, c’était jouable avec du maillechort, mais pas avec de la corde à piano !

Les crochets de halage

J’utilise des crochets SMD. Il faut leur prévoir un support, de préférence solide car ces pièces sont assez exposées.

Voici le plan de ce support, prévu pour se loger contre l’intérieur du châssis, réalisé en profilé de maillechort de section 1,5 × 0,3. Le plan est précis, mais le pliage se fait à vue !

Le crochet est soudé sur son support, et la seule difficulté est de maintenir les deux pièces, quand même très petites, bien alignées pendant l’opération. Le collage sur le châssis est fait à la cyanoacrylate gel.

Étude des crochets de halage en 3D

Marquages

Au départ, j’avais l’intention de ne changer que la plaque d’immatriculation. Mais en effaçant le marquage d’origine à l’alcool, le tableau de charge a été atteint. J’ai donc dû le refaire aussi. Comme ce sont des caractères noirs sur le fond de la caisse gris métallisé, j’ai utilisé une feuille de décalcomanies à support transparent.

Marquage du wagon Habiss

Résultat

Vue des modifications sur le wagon Habiss

Ici comme pour le STEF, les nouvelles plaques sont rougeâtres. Le support transparent du tableau de charges est quasi invisible sur la photo de face, mais se voit en réalité sous certaines conditions d’éclairage car il est mat sur la peinture métallisée du fond. Je n’ai pas actuellement de vernis pouvant restituer cet état de surface. Peut-être le Microscale Microcoat, qui existe en trois finitions (gloss, satin et flat), dont un satiné, pourrait-il convenir ?

Et le Rloos ?

Oui, et le Rloos, dans tout ça ? Eh bien, je ne me suis pas encore penché sérieusement sur son sort. À part les changements communs (bogies, tampons), il n’a rien subi de particulier, et ceci pour au moins deux raisons : d’abord, il a certains reliefs (anneaux, échelles) moulés avec la caisse, qui seront bien difficiles à araser proprement. Ensuite, j’aimerais le doter d’un chargement cohérent, je pense par exemple à des palettes de bouteilles vides, et je n’ai pas encore trouvé comment rendre cela d’une manière à la fois économique et réaliste. Alors, à suivre ?

Vernis MICRO SATIN
Réf. MI5, 4,80 € (prix 2017)
chez micro-modèle.