Detailing the Iaehss reefer wagon

Changes to be made

In addition to the buffers and steps already mentioned, the different ramps and ladders, made of molded plastic, have to be remake. There is a “kit” in photo-etching for this wagon, but what I have against it is, as always, the flat and not cylindrical aspect of the railings and other handles. The truth is that, seen from a distance and painted in black, it is deceptive.

I also plan to replace the main marking plates, as the original pad printing is poorly applied.

Handles

There are four handles near the doors. The fixing pins are very large, but I do not want to fill the holes. So these “blocks” will be preserved, glued and eventually painted to make them more discreet. But the four corner handles are missing. They are a little different: same centre distance, but right angled elbows.

In the photos, their appearance is really very graceful and their diameter is visibly lower than that of the ladders. I choose ø 0.3 nickel silver wire. A very simple template allows to bend the eight pieces to 12 mm of center distance. Four of them have their ends folded at 90° to about 1 mm from the first elbows. They will be degreased with caustic soda, burnished and carefully wiped, with the possible purpose of painting them in black, because, in the black and white photos, they seem very dark color, and I will — just the once will not hurt — to trust Jouef on this point.

The wagon body, mounted on its plywood support, is drilled to ø 0.4 at the desired locations. The handles are glued with superglue, from the inside concerning the parts near the doors, and from the outside to the ends, with a microdrop of glue.

Ladders

I’ll try to make the ladders from ø 0.4 round nickel silver. I did a test (virtual, in 3D drawing) with 0.5, and it seemed too thick.

To make the parts a bit less fragile, I modified the attachment points to the wagon end walls. As far as I can see in the pictures, there is no fixing at the bottom: the first rung is free, and in fact results from the bending of the two stiles, forming a kind of U. On the contrary, you see on my drawing that only the outside stile ① is bent to form the step, and then extends horizontally ⓐ to enter the wagon body. There will therefore be two fixing points at the top ⓑ and two others at the bottom.

The fifth rung seems missing, but it will actually be constituted by the platform that will be make separately.

3D study of ladders

The making is rather delicate and, to avoid nerve attacks, we must prepare templates. The construction will be broken down into three stages:

The templates are machined in scrap epoxy plates (I don’t lack), preferably 1.6 thick for stiffness, even if the dimensions are not large. The advantage is twofold: it is an insulating material (both thermally and electrically) and it supports the soldering heat, by definition. The positioning of the nickel silver wire will be ensured by a V-groove made with a 60° conical milling bit which is normally used to cut off the tracks of printed circuits in English etching. It can be easily and inexpensively found on the Internet. The groove depth will be 0.3 to 0.4 mm. Obviously, in order to make it, you need a milling machine. If, in addition, one wants to engrave all the curves, one needs a digital milling machine. I don’t have any, and I just mill “wide”, with a cylindrical mill bit, at the locations of the elbows and turns.

Etching 60° mill bits

I wandered how to keep the different parts well stuck in their groove. Eventually, I used pieces of adhesive tape, which had to be changed every two solders about! But holding is not as effective as with a screwed flange, for example.

Here is a picture of the ladder template with a piece already soldered into. I should have made two symmetrical templates, because the aspect of the solder joints is much better on the face opposite the soldering. The parts, and in particular the rungs, must be adjusted to the tenth of a millimeter in order to obtain the correct outfit.

Template for making ladders

Click or tap the picture to see details.

The soldering is done with an electronic tin-silver alloy, of which a tiny slice is deposited on the joint previously brushed with flux. The iron, set at about 350°, brings only the heat.

Here is the assembly template for the parts. It is also used for the bending of guardrails, with holes receiving 2 or 3 mm diameter tubes, and for the drilling of the body, thanks to the holes marked and to the positioning notches intended to overlap the buffer bodies.

Assembly and drilling template

  1. ø 0.5 holes for steps;
  2. ø 0.5 holes for ramps;
  3. ø 1.1 holes for platform;
  4. ø 0.5 hole for electric box.

The inclined grooves were obtained by pivoting the plate around the central screw and repositioning the other screws at locations calculated for a rotation of ± 14°.

Assembly and drilling template

Here is finally a picture of one of the pieces made, placed on another plywood template, for painting (Humbrol acrylic mat black No. 33).

I plan to gather all the useful diagrams into a PDF file.

Mounted and painted ladders

Platforms

After reflection, I retain the old platforms, with of course their ladders and railings suppressed, because their supports look quite well. But I’m going to have to reposition them higher, because I’ve been shown by a blank test that they are too low compared to the ladders — in fact, the rungs are a bit too far apart. All fastening holes must be plugged with pieces of Evergreen: pieces of 1 × 0.8 mm at the bottom and 0.75 × 1.5 mm at the top, pressed in by force and flushed. You can also fill with putty, but I don’t like — didn’t I say it before?

Notch on platform

To make the platforms compatible with the new ladders, it is sufficient to reduce their rear width by about 0.5 mm between the edges and the supports with a cutter and to thin them by milling their very coarse anti-skid relief, which I replace by brass sheet imitating expanded metal, glued with thin double-sided adhesive. Like all the metallic details added, it will be burnished and then painted. It is also necessary to thin the fixing pins so that they can fit into the new ø 1.1 to 1.2 mm holes.

Note: the plastic material of these platforms is flexible and cannot be easily machined.

The electrical box underneath one of the gangways is also retained, but the conduits or cables connected to it are replaced by rigid conductors of suitable diameter: stripped mini wrapping ø 0.3 wire for the bottom one, and also stripped ø 0.5 telephone wire for the top. The small box just below the roof, forgotten by Jouef, 1.5 mm wide and 1.7 mm high, is created by cutting a piece of 1 mm thick Evergreen with the mini-milling machine, without forgetting to drill a ø 0.5 hole to insert a nickel silver or other material fixing pin. This box is painted in light gray (I'm not sure of this color). A hole is provided on the mounting template to drill the body at this location (mark ④).

Small electrical box

Markings

On my copy, the original marking is applied crooked. If it were not, I think I would not touch it. This raises the problem of the inscription plate projecting about 3 tenths of a millimeter on the model, a solution often used by Jouef to facilitate the decoration of its models, when in reality, the inscriptions are painted directly on the body. So, should this plate be made flush, at the risk of damaging the body, or leave it as it is? I will not take a risk: with decals, the thickness will hardly be visible.

Here is the new plate, copied on a real wagon photo, with an adaptation to make it more readable. As for the Res, the PNG image, moreover not to scale, does not render as well as the original vector file.

Marking of the Iaehss wagon

Result

View of changes on the Iaehss wagon

The black colour of the decals drifts a little to the reddish, although the print was made in grayscale, but it is much less visible in reality than on the photos. The wagon still lacks a few touches of black on the door locks.

Ref. SMD 124
Detail kit for Jouef reefer
25.10 € - price end 2016 at SMD

Set of 10 60° milling bits
for printed circuit board
9.59 € (price 2017) at Amazon

Scale Scenics ref. 652-3501,
photo-etched brass grid,
8.90 € — price 2017 at micro-modele

Yes, because I never knew how to use
this thing to make oblique lines:
Etch A Sketch
So, with an XY table, it was missed in advance!

Détaillage du wagon réfrigérant Iaehss

Modifications à effectuer

En plus des tampons et des marchepieds déjà évoqués, les différentes rampes et échelles, en plastique moulé, sont à refaire. Il existe un « kit » en photodécoupe pour ce wagon, mais je lui reproche comme toujours l’aspect plat et non cylindrique des rambardes et autres mains montoires. Il est vrai que, vu de loin et peint en noir, cela fait illusion.

Je prévois aussi de remplacer les plaques de marquage principales, car la tampographie d’origine est mal appliquée.

Mains montoires

Il existe quatre mains montoires à proximité des portes. Les tenons de fixation sont très gros, mais je n’ai pas envie de mastiquer les trous. Donc ces « plots » seront conservés, collés et éventuellement peints pour les rendre plus discrets. Mais les quatre mains montoires d’angle manquent. Elles sont un peu différentes : même entraxe, mais retours coudés à angle droit.

Sur les photos, leur aspect est vraiment très gracile et leur diamètre est visiblement plus faible que celui des échelles. Je choisis du fil de maillechort de diamètre 0,3. Un gabarit très simple permet de couder les huit pièces à 12 mm d’entraxe. Quatre d’entre elles ont ensuite leurs extrémités repliées à 90° à environ 1 mm des premiers coudes. Elles seront dégraissées à la soude caustique, brunies et soigneusement essuyées, dans le but éventuel de les peindre en noir, car, sur les photos en noir et blanc, elles semblent de couleur très foncée, et je vais — une fois n’est pas coutume — faire confiance à Jouef sur ce point.

La caisse du wagon, montée sur son support en contreplaqué, est percée à ø 0,4 aux emplacements voulus. Les mains montoires sont collées à la cyanoacrylate, par l’intérieur pour les pièces près des portes, et par l’extérieur aux extrémités, avec une microgoutte de colle.

Les échelles

Je vais donc tenter de fabriquer les échelles à partir de rond maillechort de diamètre 0,4. J'ai fait un test (virtuel, en dessin 3D) avec du 0,5, et cela m’a paru trop épais.

Pour rendre les pièces un peu moins fragiles, j’ai modifié les points d’attache aux dossiers du wagon. Autant que je peux le distinguer sur les photos, il n’y a pas de fixation en bas : le premier échelon est libre, et résulte en fait du coudage des deux montants, formant une sorte de U. Vous voyez au contraire sur mon dessin que seul le montant extérieur ① est coudé pour former l’échelon, puis il se prolonge horizontalement ⓐ pour rentrer dans la caisse du wagon. Il y aura donc deux points de fixation en haut ⓑ et deux autres en bas.

Le cinquième échelon semble manquant, mais il sera constitué en fait par la plateforme qui sera fabriquée à part.

Étude des échelles en 3D

La fabrication est assez délicate et, pour éviter des crises de nerf, il faut préparer des gabarits. La construction se décomposera en trois temps :

Les gabarits sont usinés dans des plaques d’époxy de rebut (je n’en manque pas), de préférence ép. 1,6 pour la rigidité, même si les dimensions sont réduites. L’avantage est double : c’est une matière isolante (aussi bien thermiquement qu’électriquement) et elle supporte bien la chaleur du soudage, par définition. Le positionnement du fil maillechort sera assuré par une rainure en V réalisée avec une fraise à 60° qui sert normalement à détourer les pistes des circuits imprimés en gravure dite anglaise. On en trouve facilement et bon marché sur Internet. La profondeur de la rainure sera de 0,3 à 0,4 mm. Évidemment, pour la réaliser, il faut une fraiseuse. Si, en plus, on veut graver toutes les courbes, il en faut une numérique. Je n’en ai pas, et je me contente de fraiser « large », avec une fraise cylindrique, aux emplacements des coudes et des virages.

Fraises à graver 60°

Je m’étais demandé comment maintenir les différentes pièces bien plaquées dans leur rainure. Finalement, j’ai utilisé des morceaux de ruban adhésif, à changer toutes les deux soudures environ ! Mais le maintien n’est pas aussi efficace qu’avec une bride vissée par exemple.

Voici une photo du gabarit d’échelle avec une pièce déjà soudée dedans. J’aurais dû faire deux gabarits symétri­ques, car l’aspect des joints est bien meilleur sur la face opposée aux soudures. Les pièces, et en particulier les échelons, doivent être ajustés au dixième de millimètre pour obtenir une tenue correcte.

Gabarit de fabrication des échelles

Cliquez sur l’image avec la souris pour voir des détails.

La soudure se fait avec un alliage étain-argent électronique, dont une minuscule tranche (pour fixer les idées, l’équivalent au 87e d’une bonne tranche de salami…) est déposée sur le joint préalablement badigeonné de flux. Le fer, réglé à 350° environ, n’apporte que la chaleur.

Voici le gabarit d’assemblage des pièces. Il sert aussi au cintrage des rambardes, avec des trous recevant des tubes de 2 ou 3 mm, et au perçage de la caisse, grâce aux trous repérés et aux encoches de positionnement prévues pour venir chevaucher les boisseaux des tampons.

Gabarit de montage et de perçage

  1. Trous ø 0,5 pour marchepieds ;
  2. Trous ø 0,5 pour rampes ;
  3. Trous ø 1,1 pour plateforme.
  4. Trou ø 0,5 pour boîtier électrique.

Les rainures inclinées ont été obtenues en faisant pivoter la plaque autour de la vis centrale et en repositionnant les autres vis à des emplacements calculés pour une rotation de ±14°.

Gabarit de montage et de perçage

Voici enfin une photo d’une des pièces réalisées, posée sur un autre gabarit en contreplaqué, pour la mise en peinture (Humbrol acrylique mat noir no 33).

Je prévois de réunir tous les plans utiles dans un fichier PDF.

Échelles montées et peintes

Les plateformes

Après réflexion, je conserve les anciennes plateformes, débarrassées bien sûr de leurs échelles et rambardes, car leurs supports sont assez ressemblants. Mais je vais être obligé de les repositionner plus haut, un essai à vide m’ayant montré qu’elles sont trop basses par rapport aux échelles — en fait, ce sont les échelons qui sont un peu trop espacés. Il faut donc boucher tous les trous de fixation, avec des morceaux d’Evergreen : morceaux de 1 × 0,8 mm en bas et 0,75 × 1,5 mm en haut, enfoncés à force et arasés. On peut aussi mastiquer, mais je n’aime pas — je ne l’ai pas déjà dit ?

Encoche sur plateforme

Pour rendre les plateformes compatibles avec les nouvelles échelles, il suffit d’en réduire d’environ 0,5 mm la largeur à l’arrière, entre les bords et les supports, avec un cutter, et de les amincir en enlevant par fraisage leur relief antidérapant très grossier, que je remplace par de la tôle de laiton imitation métal déployé, collée avec du double-face mince. Comme tous les détails métalliques ajoutés, elle sera brunie puis peinte. Il faut aussi amincir les tenons de fixation pour qu’ils puissent rentrer dans les nouveaux trous ø 1,1 à 1,2 mm.

Remarque : la matière plastique de ces plateformes est souple et ne s’usine pas facilement.

Le boîtier électrique qui se trouve sous une des passerelles est aussi conservé, mais les conduits ou câbles qui y sont reliés sont remplacés par des conducteurs rigides de diamètre approprié : du fil de mini wrapping dénudé ø 0,3 pour celui du bas, et du fil téléphonique, dénudé aussi, ø 0,5 pour celui du haut. Le petit boîtier juste en dessous du toit, oublié par Jouef, de largeur 1,5 mm et de hauteur 1,7 mm, est créé en détourant un morceau d’Evergreen ép. 1 à la mini-fraiseuse, sans oublier d’y percer un trou non débouchant ø 0,5 pour insérer un tenon de fixation en maillechort ou autre. Ce boîtier est peint en gris clair (je ne suis pas sûr de cette couleur). Un trou est prévu sur le gabarit de montage pour percer la caisse à cet endroit (repère ④).

Petit boîtier électrique

Les marquages

Sur mon exemplaire, le marquage d’origine est appliqué de travers. Si ce n’était pas le cas, je crois que je n’y toucherais pas. Se pose alors le problème de la plaque d’inscriptions en saillie de 3/10 environ sur le modèle, solution souvent utilisée par Jouef pour faciliter la décoration des ses modèles, alors qu’en réalité, les inscriptions sont peintes directement sur la caisse. Alors, faut-il araser cette plaque, au risque d’abîmer la caisse, ou la laisser telle quelle ? Je ne prendrai pas de risque : avec des décalcomanies, l’épaisseur ne sera guère visible.

Voici la nouvelle plaque, copiée sur photo de wagon réel, avec une adaptation pour la rendre plus lisible. Comme pour le Res, l’image PNG, d’ailleurs pas à l’échelle, ne rend pas aussi bien que le fichier vectoriel d’origine.

Marquage du wagon Iaehss

Résultat

Vue des modifications sur le wagon Iaehss

Le noir des décals tire un peu sur le rougeâtre, bien que l’impression ait été faite en niveaux de gris, mais c’est beaucoup moins visible en réalité que sur les photos. Il manque encore quelques touches de noir sur les verrous des portes.

Réf. SMD 124
Kit de détail pour "frigo" Jouef
25,10 € — prix fin 2016 chez SMD

Lot de 10 fraises à graver 60°
pour circuit imprimé
9,59 € (prix 2017) sur Amazon

Scale Scenics réf. 652-3501,
grille en laiton photodécoupé,
8,90 € — prix 2017 chez micro-modele

Oui, car je n’ai jamais su me servir de ce machin pour faire des lignes obliques :
Télécran
Alors, avec une table XY, c’était raté d’avance !