Detailing the Res (R9) flat wagon

Marking plates

The marking plates are mispositioned on the Jouef wagon. We can assume that this was done to facilitate the inscription in curves of very small radius. So I’ll replace them. I need:

Markings

The color was first determined by a test on normal paper, then photography of the test next to the wagon, in order to find out what color corrections should be made. The result on photo paper is not perfect, but I will content myself with it.

On second thought, I should have cut out one of the labels and stick it near the correct position: the illumination would have been more equal between the parts to be compared, and the comparison would probably have been more accurate.

It will be noted that the color of the LS Models bogies is also quite different. A good weathering should reduce all these differences.

Determination of the color by comparison

Here is a sample of these markings as a PNG file. The originals are in vector format and use the SNCF fonts that could be found a few years ago on the Apocopa website, but unfortunately no more today. Exterior black lines are cutting marks to enlarge the colored area, thus avoiding leaving any white strip after cutting. The characters are slightly oversized to improve their appearance.

Markings of Res wagon

Plates

The supports of the plates are in chrysocale of section 1 × 0,15 (because I had it on hand). They will affect a Z-shape, so that they are glued on the inside of the chassis, and make a slight protrusion on the outside of the wagon.

Soldering is done flat, before shaping: holding the parts is easy, and so is the soldering. Cut to length is done as and when. The cutting of the plates is then done, and finally the folding of the supports.

As for the steps, I burnished these pieces, but I do not recommend it. I have already said that this operation leaves a powdery layer which must be removed. But it is difficult to reach nooks, and future collages are likely to fail.

Soldering the plates

Positioning, gluing and assembly on the wagon

Here is an approximate diagram of the location of markings on the wagon, based mainly on photographs, while noting that there are quite a number of variants. The label holder will be stuck onto the old license plate, reduced to the required dimensions.

Markings positioning on the Res wagon

The next operation is the pasting of labels onto their plates. No difficulty, except to ensure proper horizontality. This done, I pass a fine brown felt pen on the paper edge.

Gluing on the wagon is done with superglue, after removing the bogies. The white mass visible near the headstock is a piece of round polystyrene which was used to refill the hole of the bufer, which was misplaced, to improve its position. I did not want to risk removing the surplus.

Gluing plates under the chassis

View of a new plate next to the old one not yet modified, for comparison. “My” police is more conformable than that of Jouef. Ouch! I made a mistake on the exchange system number: 21 instead of 31! Let me do it again!

Moreover, the bogie travel should not be a problem.

Comparison between new and old plate

I change for decals

Finally, while we're at it, I embarked on the decal! Two pockets ordered, one with white background, the other with transparent one. Obviously, for the Res wagon, white marking can only be obtained with a white background. After a few more or less satisfactory blank tests (an article about it is being written), I replace the self-adhesive paper, the most difficult is to take the paper off without leaving glue traces. The “decals”, as the initiates say, can be easily (re) positioned. Note that I have changed the color of the print. See what it says at the bottom of the page.

Hand brake wheels

The original brake wheels are very coarse and mispositioned. There are very fine photo-etched ones, but they have the disadvantage of being flat and not conical. Their ideal diameter is 5 mm. Here, they are ø 6, one plastic, and the other brass.

The problem is that there is no support, the old wheels were simply glued on the chassis reinforcement, and too low. I therefore glue a ø 1.2 polystyrene round into the reinforcement perforation, which has been previously drilled in its axis, on each side, by a ø 0.4 hole. It receives the ø 0.3 nickel silver wheel shafts.

Positioning of brake wheels

Ranchers

Several ranchers were broken, so I decided to replace them with surplus parts coming from Oskar and Roco wagons. The longest thing is to properly make the old ones flush without damaging the body. Then we must drill to the proper diameter (1.3 mm for me). The fact that there are two different types of ranchers does not bother me: one can see this on real wagons.

Other details to add — maybe…

The most visible details that are still missing would be the brake handles and the purge pull, shown in the diagram above. We’ll see that… one day…

Result

View of changes on the Res wagon

Modified like this, I find that this wagon still looks good next to the recent rolling stock, especially since this type of wagon has not been much reproduced recently. There is a Trix model ref. 24521, price about 40 €, engraving not so much better, and a Roco ref. 67558, about 45 €, both in era V, evidently of Germanic ancestry (buffers among others) and… expensive!

Détaillage du wagon plat Res (R9)

Plaques de marquage

Les plaques de marquage sont mal positionnées sur le wagon Jouef. On peut supposer que c’était pour faciliter l’inscription en courbe de très petit rayon. Je vais donc les refaire. Il me faut :

Les marquages

La couleur a été déterminée par un premier essai sur papier normal, puis photographie de cet essai avec le wagon, de façon à trouver quelles corrections de couleurs il fallait apporter. Le résultat sur papier photo n’est pas parfait, mais je m’en contenterai.

Après réflexion, j’aurais dû découper une des étiquettes et la coller à peu près à la position correcte : l’éclairement aurait été ainsi plus égal entre les parties à comparer, et la comparaison aurait été sans doute plus juste.

On notera que la couleur des bogies LS Models est elle aussi assez différente. Une bonne patine devrait atténuer toutes ces différences.

Détermination de la couleur par comparaison

Voici un échantillon de ces marquages sous forme de fichier PNG. Les originaux sont en format vectoriel et utilisent les polices SNCF que l’on pouvait trouver il y a quelques années encore sur le site Apocopa, mais malheureusement plus aujourd’hui. Les traits noirs extérieurs sont des repères de coupe permettant d’agrandir la zone colorée, évitant ainsi de laisser la moindre bande blanche après découpe. Les caractères sont légèrement surdimensionnés pour améliorer leur apparence.

Marquages du wagon Res

Les supports

Les supports des plaques sont en chrysocale de section 1 × 0,15 (parce que j’en avais sous la main). Ils affecteront une forme en Z, de façon à être collés sur l’intérieur du châssis, et à faire légèrement saillie sur l’extérieur des faces du wagon.

La soudure se fait à plat, avant mise en forme : le maintien des pièces est facile, et le soudage aussi. La coupe à longueur se fait au fur et à mesure. La découpe des plaques est faite ensuite, et enfin le pliage des supports.

Comme pour les marchepieds, j’ai passé un brunisseur sur ces pièces, mais je ne le recommande pas. J’ai déjà dit que cette opération laisse une couche poudreuse qu’il faut enlever. Mais il est difficile d’atteindre les recoins, et les futurs collages risquent de ne pas tenir.

Soudage des plaques

Implantation, collage et montage sur le wagon

Voici un schéma approximatif de l’implantation des marquages sur le wagon, basé principalement sur des photos, tout en remarquant qu’il y a d’assez nombreuses variantes. Le porte-étiquettes sera collé sur l’ancienne plaque d’immatriculation, ramenée aux dimensions voulues.

Implantation des marquages sur le Res

L’opération suivante est le collage des étiquettes sur leur plaque. Pas de difficulté, sinon de veiller à la bonne horizontalité. Ceci fait, je passe un feutre fin marron sur la tranche du papier.

Le collage sur le wagon se fait à la cyanoacrylate gel, après avoir ôté les bogies. La masse blanche visible près de la traverse de tête est un morceau de rond polystyrène qui a servi à reboucher le trou du tampon, qui était mal placé, pour le recentrer. Je n’ai pas voulu risquer d’enlever l’excédent.

Collage des plaques sous le châssis

Vue d’une nouvelle plaque à côté de l’ancienne non encore modifiée, à titre de comparaison. « Ma » police est plus conforme que celle de Jouef. Aïe ! J’ai fait une erreur sur le régime d’échange : 21 au lieu de 31 ! À refaire !

Par ailleurs, le débattement du bogie ne devrait poser aucun problème.

Comparaison des nouvelles plaques avec l’ancienne

Et je passe aux décalcomanies

Et puis finalement, tant qu’à refaire, je me lance dans la décalcomanie ! Deux pochettes commandées, une avec fond blanc, l’autre avec fond transparent. Evidemment, pour le Res, le marquage blanc ne peut être obtenu qu’avec un fond blanc. Après quelques essais à blanc plus ou moins satisfaisants (un article à ce sujet est en cours de rédaction), je remplace donc le papier autocollant, le plus délicat étant de le décoller sans laisser de traces de colle. Les « décals », comme on dit chez les initiés, se (re) positionnent facilement. Notez que j’ai modifié la couleur de l’impression. Voyez ce que ça donne en bas de page.

Volants de frein à main

Les volants de frein d’origine sont très grossiers et mal positionnés. Il en existe de très fins en photodécoupe, mais ils ont l’inconvénient d’être plats et non coniques. Leur diamètre idéal est de 5 mm. Ici, ce sont des volants de récupération, ø 6, l’un en plastique, et l’autre en laiton.

Le problème est qu’il n’y a pas de support, les anciens volants étaient simplement collés sur le renfort de châssis, et trop bas. Je colle donc dans la perforation de ce renfort un rond en polystyrène ø 1,2 qui a été percé préalablement dans son axe, de chaque côté, d’un trou ø 0,4. Il reçoit les arbres des volants en maillechort ø 0,3.

Implantation des volants de frein

Ranchers

Plusieurs ranchers étant cassés, j’ai décidé de les remplacer par des pièces de surplus venant de wagons Oskar et Roco. Le plus long est d’araser proprement les anciens sans endommager la caisse. Il faut ensuite percer au diamètre convenable (1,3 mm pour moi). Le fait qu’il y ait deux types différents de ranchers ne me gêne pas : on voit cela sur des wagons réels.

Autres détails à ajouter — peut-être…

Les détails les plus visibles qui manquent encore seraient les poignées de frein et la tirette de purge, accessoires figurés sur le schéma ci-dessus. On verra ça… un jour…

Résultat

Vue des modifications sur le wagon Res

Ainsi modifié, je trouve que ce wagon fait encore bonne figure à côté du matériel actuel, d’autant plus que ce type de wagon n’a pas été beaucoup reproduit récemment. Il y a bien un modèle Trix réf. 24521, prix environ 40 €, de gravure pas tellement meilleure, et un Roco réf. 67558, environ 45 €, tous deux en époque V, évidemment d’ascendance germanique (tampons entre autres) et… chers !