Buffers

The buffers are composed of a body and a plate equipped with a rod (the plunger).

The mark 4 shows the wagon headstock.

Depending on the case and availability, these items will be made of brass or nickel silver. For each wagon, I give you the approximate dimensions of the buffers.

Exploded view of a buffer

  1. Plate
  2. Rod
  3. Body

Buffers for Res and Rloos wagons

Buffer dimensions for Res and Rloos

The plate is obtained from a brass screw shaped on a mini drill. Then the top and bottom flats are made with a diamond disk. Finally, the corners are rounded with fine abrasive paper. The rod is a brass tube with diameters 1.5 × 1.1. The body is a brass tube with diameters 2.5 × 1.6. These values ​​allow the rod to slide into the body, allowing to make spring buffers. But I quickly abandoned the idea.

Buffers for Habiss

The plate is obtained from a 0.3 mm thick nickel silver photo-etching cutout roughly cut and then adjusted with the file or a diamond disk (the last operation is to be done preferably after soldering it on the rod). The corners are rounded with a file and then with fine abrasive paper. The rod is a brass tube with diameters 1,3 × 0,9. The body is a brass tube with diameters of 2.0 × 1.4.

Buffer dimensions for Habiss

To facilitate centering and consolidate the soldering of the plate on the rod, the plate is 0.8 mm drilled in the middle and a short section of nickel silver round of the same diameter is inserted there. The assembly is slided into the rod, then the whole is soldered with flux and, if possible, silver solder, a little harder than that the leaded one.

Finally, the ø 0.8 rod portion that protrudes from the plate is flush with a file, and the plate dimensions are adjusted as indicated above.

An excess metal at the mouth of the body is obtained when cutting the brass tube placed in the mandrel of a drill (at low speed): by pressing hard enough with a cutter, the metal is repelled and this sympathetic flange is obtained although somewhat random…

Buffers for Iaehss

The plate is obtained from a buffer purchased at micro-modele (former Magic Train) turned on a mini drill. As for the Habiss, the rod is a brass tube of outside diameter 1,3, and the body is a brass tube with diameters 2,0 × 1,4.

Buffer dimensions for Iaehss

A flange is obtained in the same way as previously.

Before assembling, brown the plates and paint the bodies in the shade of the chassis. It is now necessary to remove all or part of the old plastic buffers and to drill to the desired diameter, 2 or 2.5 mm, depending on the case. The new buffers will be glued with superglue or Kristal Klear, the latter allowing for easier readjustment.

Steps

The steps are photo-etched parts by Haxo Models, ref. HM 44049. This reference proposes sixteen pieces, half in width 3 mm, half in 4 mm. The 3 mm steps are suitable for Gas and Res wagons; those of 4 mm for the Rloos and Iaehss (the Habiss has steps of a specific type). Something bothers me in these steps: their support does not extend under the step, which gives them a too flat aspect.

The mounting straps have a half-etching imitating the actual bolt heads. For more realism, I will drill them to ø 0.4 and solder a 0.3 mm nickel silver wire to them. This wire will serve as both decor and fixing reinforcement: it will be introduced in a hole drilled in the wagon body. I first provided two wires for fixing, since there are two bolts, but I quickly found that it is difficult to vertically align two holes so close together. So one will only serve as a decor and will be flush backside.

The steps, still on their cluster, are successively cleaned with fine grain abrasive paper, burnished to tarnish their appearance (they are made of brass), rinsed. The powdery layer which is formed is carefully wiped off. The cluster is then stuck with thin double-sided adhesive on a plywood martyr for drilling.

Since the soldering has to be done at the back, the cluster is peeled off, turned over and then stuck again. The legs are pickled with a fiberglass pen, two pieces of wire are positioned in the holes and slightly depressed to protrude on the other side. A little flux, very little tin, and it’s done. The wires are then cut to approximately length, and then we start again for the next step.

When all the wires are soldered, the different parts may be separated and the wires may be cut. One must be 2 to 3 mm for fixing; the other should be flush backside. Both should be cut very short at the front, and adjusted with a file to simulate the bolt heads.

Soldering wires on steps

Rear view of steps

Front view of steps

TC M4 brass screw to have
a sufficient head diameter

Curved buffers
Ref. LU-Tamp-Bo
1,61 € per 4
at micro-modele

Tampons

Les tampons sont constitués d’un boisseau et d’un plateau muni d’une tige (le plongeur).

Le repère 4 représente la traverse de tête du wagon.

Selon les cas et la dispo­nibilité, ces éléments seront en laiton ou en maillechort. Je vous don­ne pour chaque wa­gon les cotes approxima­tives des tampons.

Vue éclatée d’un tampon

  1. Plateau
  2. Tige
  3. Boisseau

Tampons pour Res et Rloos

Cotes du tampon pour Res et Rloos

Le plateau est obtenu à partir d’une vis en laiton mise en forme sur une mini perceuse. Puis les méplats haut et bas sont réalisés au disque diamanté. Enfin, les angles sont arrondis au papier abrasif fin. La tige est un tube de laiton de diamètres 1,5 × 1,1. Le boisseau est un tube de laiton de diamètres 2,5 × 1,6. Ces valeurs permettent le coulissement de la tige dans le boisseau, permettant faire des tampons à ressort. Mais j’ai vite abandonné cette idée.

Tampons pour Habiss

Le plateau est obtenu à partir d’une chute de photodécoupe en maillechort ép. 0,3 mm découpée grossièrement puis ajustée à la lime ou au disque diamanté (cette dernière opération est à faire de préférence après soudage sur la tige). Les angles sont arrondis à la lime puis au papier abrasif fin. La tige est un tube de laiton de diamètres 1,3 × 0,9. Le boisseau est un tube de laiton de diamètres 2,0 × 1,4.

Cotes du tampon pour Habiss

Pour faciliter le centrage et consolider la soudure du plateau sur la tige, le plateau est percé en son milieu au diamètre 0,8 et une courte section de rond maillechort du même diamètre y est plantée. L’ensemble est enfilé sur la tige, puis le tout est soudé avec du flux et, si possible, de la soudure à l’argent, un peu plus dure que celle au plomb.

Finalement, la partie de tige ø 0,8 qui dépasse du plateau est arasée à la lime, et les dimensions du plateau sont ajustées comme indiqué ci-dessus.

Un bourrelet à l’embouchure du boisseau est obtenu lors de la coupe du tube de laiton placé dans le mandrin d’une perceuse (à faible vitesse) : en appuyant assez fort avec un cutter, on repousse le métal et on obtient ce bourrelet sympathique quoiqu’un peu aléatoire…

Tampons pour Iaehss

Le plateau est obtenu à partir d’un tampon acheté chez micro-modèle (ex-Train Magique) tourné sur une mini perceuse. Comme pour le Habiss, la tige est un tube de laiton de diamètre extérieur 1,3, et le boisseau est un tube de laiton de diamètres 2,0 × 1,4.

Cotes du tampon pour Iaehss

Un bourrelet est obtenu de la même façon que précédemment.

Avant assemblage, brunir les plateaux et peindre les boisseaux dans la teinte du châssis. Il faut maintenant supprimer tout ou partie des anciens boisseaux en plastique et repercer au diamètre voulu, 2 ou 2,5 mm suivant les cas. Les nouveaux tampons seront collés à la cyanoacrylate ou à la Kristal Klear, cette dernière permettant un réajustement éventuel plus facile.

Marchepieds

Les marchepieds sont des pièces photogravées de Haxo Modèles, réf. HM 44049. Cette référence propose seize pièces, moitié en largeur 3 mm, moitié en 4 mm. Les marchepieds de 3 mm conviennent pour les wagons Gas et Res ; ceux de 4 mm pour les Rloos et Iaehss (le Habiss a des marchepieds d’un type spécifique). Une chose me chagrine dans ces marchepieds : leur support ne se prolonge pas sous la marche, ce qui leur donne un aspect trop plat.

Les pattes de fixation comportent une demi-gravure imitant les têtes de boulons réels. Pour plus de réalisme, je vais les percer à ø 0,4 et leur souder un fil de maillechort de 0,3 mm. Ce fil servira à la fois de décoration et de renfort de fixation : il sera introduit dans un trou percé dans la caisse du wagon. J’ai d’abord prévu deux fils pour la fixation, puisqu’il y a deux boulons, mais j’ai vite constaté qu’il est difficile d’aligner verticalement deux trous aussi rapprochés. Donc l’un servira uniquement de décor et sera arasé à l’arrière.

Les marchepieds, encore sur leur grappe, sont successivement décapés au papier abrasif grain fin, brunis pour ternir leur aspect (ils sont en laiton), rincés. La couche poudreuse qui se forme est soigneusement essuyée. La grappe est ensuite collée au double-face mince sur un martyr en contreplaqué pour le perçage.

Les soudures devant être faites à l’arrière, la grappe est décollée, retournée puis de nouveau collée. Les pattes sont décapées au stylo à fibres de verre, deux morceaux de fil sont positionnés dans les trous et légèrement enfoncés pour faire saillie de l’autre côté. Un peu de flux, très peu d’étain, et c’est fait. Les fils sont alors coupés approximativement à longueur, puis on recommence pour le marchepied suivant.

Lorsque tous les fils sont soudés, on peut séparer les différentes pièces et recouper éventuellement les fils. L’un doit faire 2 à 3 mm pour la fixation ; l’autre doit être arasé à l’arrière. Les deux doivent être coupés très court à l’avant, et ajustés à la lime pour simuler les têtes de boulons.

Soudage des fils sur les marchepieds

Aspect des marchepieds, vue arrière

Aspect des marchepieds, vue avant

Vis laiton TC M4 pour avoir
un diamètre de tête suffisant

Tampons bombés
Ref. LU-Tamp-Bo
1,61 € les 4
chez micro-modèle