Couplers

We need very thin drawbar bases to pass between the chassis and the wheels. I chose Makette KKK1, with (relatively) large elongation. Presented in the form of a photo-etched nickel silver plate containing 35 copies, so to equip… 17.5 wagons (!), they are quite cheap. But, currently (2014), they are difficult to find in this form.

Note: I tried plastic Roco models, but they don’t fit!

Making drawbars

The making of these drawbars does not pose any difficulty. Just avoid tightening the assembly tabs. I was worried at the beginning of the height adjustment problems, since there is no adjustable NEM box on this model. But in fact, by tilting the box tail at 45°, the desired height is substantially obtained. Nevertheless, the small thickness (0.3 mm) of this tail makes the drawbar lack rigidity, and it seems very difficult to add a reinforcement. If you want to burnish the drawbars for more discretion, do it before the construction, it will be much easier.

Putting the drawbars

Coupling detail

It is naturally necessary to trim all the reliefs between the bogie pivot and the headstock. Fortunately, there are few. The drawbar base must be positioned against the headstock. For fixing, if possible, I prefer M2 screws screwed in ø 1,6 holes. A priori, do not bother tapping these holes, but I do it anyway! For adjustment, begin by tightening screws moderately, and move the drawbar. There is a good chance that it will get stuck in an oblique position. Then loosen the screws gently until the drawbar comes back to its centre position.

Using screws is impossible for flat wagons, on which I then glue the drawbars with superglue. Thin double-sided adhesive doesn’t hold in the long term.

Attelages

Il faut des embases de timons d’épaisseur très réduite pour passer entre le châssis et les roues. J’ai choisi des timons Makette KKK1, à (relativement) grande élongation. Présentés sous forme de plaque de maillechort photogravée de 35 exemplaires, donc pour équiper… 17,5 wagons (!), ils sont assez bon marché. Mais, actuellement (2014), ils sont difficiles à trouver sous cette forme.

NB : j’ai essayé des modèles Roco en plastique, mais ça ne « rentre » pas !

Construction des timons

La construction de ces timons ne pose pas de difficulté. Il faut simplement éviter de trop serrer les pattes d’assemblage. Je craignais au début des problèmes de réglage de hauteur, puisqu’il n’y a pas de boîtier NEM ajustable sur ce modèle. Mais en fait, en inclinant la queue de boîtier à 45°, on obtient sensiblement la hauteur voulue. Malgré tout, la faible épaisseur (0,3 mm) de cette queue fait que le timon manque de rigidité, et il me paraît très difficile d’y ajouter un renfort. Si vous voulez brunir les timons pour plus de discrétion, faites-le avant la construction, ce sera beaucoup plus facile.

Pose des timons

Détail de l’attelage

Il faut naturellement araser tous les reliefs entre le pivot de bogie et la traverse de tête. Heureusement, il sont peu nombreux. L’embase du timon doit être positionnée contre la traverse de tête. Pour la fixation, si c’est possible, je préfère des vis M2 vissées dans des trous ø 1,6. A priori, pas la peine de tarauder ces trous, mais je le fais quand même ! Pour le réglage, commencer par serrer modérément les vis, et faire jouer le timon. Il y a de fortes chances qu’il reste coincé dans une position oblique. Desserrer alors doucement les vis jusqu’à ce que le timon revienne de lui-même en position centrale.

L’utilisation de vis est impossible pour les wagons plats, sur lesquels je colle donc à la cyanoacrylate. L’adhésif double face mince ne tient pas à long terme.