Bogie replacement

I chose LS Models welded type Y25 bogies. But for the Res and Rloos, molded Y25 would be better: it seems to me that the vast majority of these wagons, if not the whole, were equipped with these bogies, at least originally.

Naturally, this change will be accompanied by a modification of the pivots, which do not necessarily give the correct height of the wagon, which are often split and damaged by not very careful disassembly and reassembly and whose large original screws (mark 4 in the picture below) are also to be replaced.

Preparing the pivots

If the pivots are split, they must of course be repaired (superglue or polystyrene model glue). To prevent future deterioration, I reinforce them with a ring made of a thin tube piece of inner diameter 5, here in aluminium, chamfered inside for easier installation (mark 3).

Their height must then be reduced to about 5 mm. This value is not absolute, it depends on the concerned wagon, and it is better to measure the height before intervention and deduce the value to be removed. Personally, I am not very good at filing perpendicularly to the axis. To achieve this more easily, I stack around the pivot washers chosen to reach the desired thickness (it is not to within a tenth millimeter), then I file until reaching the top of the stack.

In the photo, the new handles and the new buffers have already been mounted, and the steps have been flushed.

Bogie pivot

  1. New pivot screw, ø 2.2 Parker screw
  2. New pivot made of ø 3.3 Evergreen tube
  3. Aluminium pivot reinforcement ring
  4. Old pivot screw
  5. LS Models bogie ø 3,4 pivot hole

Note the plywood support, whose core, invisible in the picture, is 30 mm wide, i.e. the inside width of the wagons, thus letting to immobilize and handle them without risk of deterioration.

Swivel axis

The LS Models bogies have a ø 3.4 pivot hole (mark 5). That’s good for us: there is a 3.3 diameter Evergreen tube that fits perfectly, with just the necessary backlash. I therefore drill the pivots of the wagon, whose thread is often very tired, at ø 3.3 (a drill of this diameter is fairly easy to find, because it is the value to use to tap to M4). Be careful, for flat wagons, not to pierce the floor!

An Evergreen tube section is cut to the desired length (5 to 8 mm depending on the wagon), held in a mandrel to prevent deformation, then “pre-tapped” with the Parker screw which will be used for assembly, avoiding excessive torsional stresses during final assembly.

Bogie pivot tapping

The protrusion necessary for the bogie backlash, whose cross-piece is 2.1 mm thick, is determined by a stack of washers — again! — with a total thickness of 2.4 mm (too much is better than not enough) under the screw head. The pivot thus equipped is finally glued with superglue. Once the glue is dry, it will be enough to remove the screw then the washers and put the bogie in place.

Three-point suspension

Regarding covered wagons (EVS and STEF), I thought it useful to have a three-point suspension to improve their seat. On the two-point suspension side, bosses by which the chassis rests on the bogie are installed. The pivot that will receive these bosses should be slightly shortened (barely 0.5 mm).

The height being relatively large, about 5 to 6 mm, I design something rather strong. The device consists of four pieces of 1 mm thick polystyrene:

  • A 13 × 9 mm base;
  • a 13 × 4 mm vertical reinforcement;
  • two 9 × 6 mm bosses themselves; the height will be adjusted before the final installation. The part in contact with the bogie must be rounded to allow a certain clearance on a transverse axis.

Two-point suspension device

If you have thicker polystyrene, say 3 mm, you can use it for the base, and thus avoid the addition of reinforcements. The width of 9 mm is calculated to allow just enough space for the planned Makette elongation drawbar (see next page).

Once the parts are glued (liquid Kibri), a 6.5 mm central hole is drilled so that the assembly can be mounted on the pivot — reinforced, I recall, with a ø 6 mm aluminium ring. The whole is stuck in place with thin double-sided adhesive: a stronger bonding seems useless.

Remplacement des bogies

J’ai choisi des bogies Y25 de type soudé LS Models. Mais, pour les Res et Rloos, il vaudrait mieux des Y25 moulés : il me semble que ces wagons en étaient équipés en grande majorité, sinon en totalité, au moins à l’origine.

Naturellement, ce changement va s’accompagner d’une modification des pivots, qui ne donnent pas (ou plus) forcément la hauteur correcte du wagon, qui sont souvent fendus et abîmés par des démontages et remontages peu délicats, et dont les grosses vis d’origine (repère 4 sur la photo ci-dessous) sont aussi à remplacer.

Préparation des pivots

Si les pivots sont fendus, il faut bien sûr les réparer (colle cyanoacrylate ou colle polystyrène pour maquette). Pour éviter une future détérioration, je les renforce avec une bague faite d’un morceau de tube mince de diamètre intérieur 5, ici en aluminium, chanfreiné à l’intérieur pour faciliter la pose (repère 3).

Il faut ensuite réduire leur hauteur à environ 5 mm. Ce chiffre n’est pas absolu, il dépend du wagon concerné, et il vaut mieux mesurer la hauteur avant intervention et en déduire la valeur à supprimer. Personnellement, je ne suis pas très doué pour limer bien perpendiculairement à l’axe. Pour y parvenir plus facilement, j’empile autour du pivot des rondelles choisies pour atteindre l’épaisseur voulue (ce n’est pas à 1/10e près), puis je lime jusqu’à atteindre le haut de l’empilement.

Sur la photo, les nouvelles mains montoires et les nouveaux tampons ont déjà été posés, et les marchepieds ont été arasés.

Pivot de bogie

  1. Nouvelle vis de pivot, vis Parker ø 2,2
  2. Nouveau pivot en tube Evergreen ø 3,3
  3. Bague de renfort de pivot en aluminium
  4. Ancienne vis de pivot
  5. Trou de pivot du bogie LS Models ø 3,4

Notez le support en contreplaqué, dont le noyau, invisible sur la photo, fait 30 mm de large, soit la largeur intérieure des wagons, ce qui permet de les immobiliser et de les manipuler sans risque de détérioration.

Pour les photos de cette page, j’ai pris mon tapis de coupe du dimanche presque tout neuf !

Axe de pivotement

Les bogies LS Models ont un trou de pivot de ø 3,4 (repère 5). Ça tombe bien : il y a une taille de tube Evergreen diamètre 3,3 qui s’y adapte parfaitement, avec juste le jeu nécessaire. Je reperce donc les pivots du wagon, dont le taraudage est souvent bien fatigué, à ø 3,3 (un foret de ce diamètre est assez facile à trouver, car c’est la valeur à utiliser pour tarauder à M4). Attention, pour les wagons plats, à ne pas traverser le plancher !

Une section de tube Evergreen est coupée à la longueur voulue (de 5 à 8 mm selon wagon), maintenue dans un mandrin pour éviter sa déformation, puis « prétaraudée » avec la vis Parker qui sera utilisée pour le montage, le but étant d’éviter des efforts de torsion trop importants lors du montage définitif.

Taraudage du pivot de bogie

La saillie nécessaire au jeu du bogie, dont la traverse a une épaisseur de 2,1 mm, est déterminée par un empilement de rondelles — encore ! — d’une épaisseur totale de 2,4 mm (il vaut mieux trop que pas assez) sous la tête de vis. Le pivot ainsi équipé est enfin collé à la cyanoacrylate gel. Une fois la colle prise, il suffira d’enlever la vis pour retirer les rondelles et mettre le bogie à la place.

Portée en trois points

Concernant les wagons hauts (EVS et STEF), il m’a paru utile de prévoir une portée en trois points pour améliorer leur assise. Côté portée en deux points, des bossages par lesquels le châssis s’appuiera sur le bogie sont installés. Le pivot qui recevra ces bossages doit être légèrement raccourci (à peine 0,5 mm).

La hauteur étant relativement importante, de l’ordre de 5 à 6 mm, je prévois quelque chose d’assez costaud. Le dispositif est constitué de quatre pièces en polystyrène ép. 1 mm :

  • une base de 13 × 9 mm ;
  • un renfort vertical de 13 × 4 mm ;
  • les deux bossages proprement dits, de 9 × 6 mm au départ ; la hauteur sera ajustée avant la pose définitive. La partie en contact avec le bogie doit être arrondie pour permettre un certain jeu sur un axe transversal.

Dispositif de portée en deux points

Si vous en avez, vous pouvez utiliser du polystyrène plus épais, disons 3 mm, pour la base, et éviter ainsi l’ajout de renforts. La largeur de 9 mm est calculée pour laisser juste assez de place au timon à élongation Makette prévu (voir page suivante).

Une fois les pièces collées (Kibri liquide), un trou central de 6,5 mm est percé pour que l’ensemble puisse se monter sur le pivot — renforcé, je le rappelle, avec une bague alu ø 6 mm. Le tout est collé en place avec de l’adhésif double face mince : un collage plus fort me semble superflu.