What is planned

The wagons discussed here appeared in the 1970s. While still retaining many of the defects of their predecessors (huge wheels, bogies a little coarse and without braking equipment, atrophied buffers), they began to look good concerning the respect of the scale: their chassis length was accurate to within 0.5 mm. So I figured they could deserve an upgrade.

These are the following:

Wagon Plat Res Jouef
Wagon Plat Rloos Jouef
Wagon Couvert Habiss Jouef
Wagon Couvert Iaehss Jouef

Here is what this lifting will consist in:

Ballast

If this operation does not pose any difficulty for covered wagons, it is different for flat wagons, which are already ballasted, but not enough. My goal is to achieve the mass recommended by NEM 302, namely 0.4 g × overall length, which can be increased by 30%. This gives a mass to be reached of between 90 and 120 g approximately for an initial value ranging from 60 to 65 g, that is to say a ballast of 30 to 60 g.

Habiss and Iaehss

The only possible difficulty is the dismantling of the roof without breakage:

The ballasts are rectangular, taken from 1.5 mm steel sheet, stuck with thin double-sided adhesive. Their width takes into account possible obstacles (reinforcements) inside the bodies.

Res and Rloos

There is very little space under the wagons, and the ballast must not be visible. There are places on either side of the 120 × 7 mm “fishbone” reinforcement, but this is not enough. By milling this reinforcement, which is removable, 1.5 mm deep and 6.5 mm wide, a central plate of 120 × 6 mm can be added. The maximum added mass is about 28 g.

Of course, if a loading is planned, the ballast can be reduced accordingly — in particular, do not install the central plate which requires a lot of work, that is what I did on the Res for which I intend a loading of ISO containers.

Wagon Ballast
Type Initial mass
(g)
Resulting mass
(g) 1
Length
(mm)
Width
(mm)
Mass
(g)
Habiss 60 112 173 19 39
Iaehss 60 103 120 25 35
Res 65  90 120 2 × 7 20
Rloos 60 100 120 2 × 7 + 6 28
  1. Taking into account the other additions: wheels, couplers.

Theoretical calculation of ballast weight

The density of the mild steel is about 7.85 g/cm3. To obtain the ballast mass, it is enough to multiply this value by the thickness, the width and the length of the ballast plate (yes, it gives its volume!), these three dimensions being expressed in cm. Example for Habiss (e = 0.15 cm, L = 17.3 cm, l = 1.9 cm):

7,85 × 0,15 × 17,3 × 1,9 ≈ 39 g

Ce qui est prévu

Les wagons dont il sera question ici sont apparus dans les années 1970. Tout en conservant encore bien des défauts de leurs prédécesseurs (roues énormes, bogies un peu grossiers et sans équipement de freinage, tampons atrophiés), ils commençaient à faire bonne figure du point de vue du respect de l’échelle : la longueur de leur châssis était exacte à 0,5 mm près. Je me suis donc dit qu’ils pouvaient mériter une remise à niveau.

Il s’agit des wagons suivants :

Wagon Plat Res Jouef
Wagon Plat Rloos Jouef
Wagon Couvert Habiss Jouef
Wagon Couvert Iaehss Jouef

Voici en quoi consistera ce lifting :

Lestage

Si, pour les wagons couverts, cette opération ne pose aucune difficulté, il en va autrement pour les plats, qui sont déjà lestés, mais faiblement. Mon but est d’atteindre la masse préconisée par la NEM 302, à savoir 0,4 g × longueur hors tampons, pouvant être augmentée de 30 %. Cela donne une masse à atteindre comprise entre 90 et 120 g environ pour une valeur initiale allant de 60 à 65 g, soit un lest de 30 à 60 g.

Habiss et Iaehss

La seule difficulté éventuelle est le démontage du toit sans casse :

Les lests sont rectangulaires, pris dans de la tôle d’acier de 1,5 mm, collés à l’adhésif double-face mince. Leur largeur tient compte des obstacles (renforts) possibles à l’intérieur des caisses.

Res et Rloos

Il y a très peu de place sous les wagons, et il ne faut pas que le lest soit visible. Il y a des emplacements de part et d’autre du renfort en « arête de poisson », de 120 × 7 mm, mais cela ne suffit pas. En fraisant ce même renfort, qui est démontable, sur 1,5 mm de profondeur et 6,5 mm de largeur, on peut ajouter une plaque centrale de 120 × 6 mm. La masse maximale ajoutée est de 28 g environ.

Bien sûr, si l’on prévoit un chargement, on pourra diminuer le lest en conséquence — en particulier, ne pas installer la plaque centrale qui nécessite pas mal de travail, c’est ce que j’ai fait sur le Res auquel je destine un chargement de conteneurs ISO.

  1. Tenant compte des autres ajouts : roues, attelages.
Wagon Lest
Type Masse initiale
(g)
Masse obte
nue
(g) 1
Lon­gueur
(mm)
Lar­geur
(mm)
Masse
(g)
Habiss 60 112 173 19 39
Iaehss 60 103 120 25 35
Res 65  90 120 2 × 7 20
Rloos 60 100 120 2 × 7 + 6 28

Calcul théorique de la masse du lest

La masse volumique de l’acier doux est d’environ 7,85 g/cm3. Pour obtenir la masse du lest, il suffit de multiplier cette valeur par l’épaisseur, la largeur et la longueur de la plaque de lest (oui, ça donne son volume !), ces trois cotes étant exprimées en cm. Exemple pour le Habiss (e = 0,15 cm, L = 17,3 cm, l = 1,9 cm) :

7,85 × 0,15 × 17,3 × 1,9 ≈ 39 g