Installation of tail lanterns

Cereal wagons usually travel on block trains. It is therefore necessary to equip the last wagon with end-of-convoy lights. I will explain briefly how I realized these lights. A more detailed page can be found in the REE hopper article.

I chose a flat wall model because it is easy to disassemble.

Current pickup

The equipment of the wagon with brass bearings is facilitated by the fact that the bogies can be completely disassembled, which makes it possible to easily dig the axle boxes. Some older models even have insulated half-axles with non-insulated wheels, which is ideal for the current pickup.

Conductive bearings

This is not the case for the model I plan to equip. I have therefore to swap insulated wheels for non-insulated wheels. See the article on the Nord Rapide cars.

Lanterns

These are REE lanterns that I have equipped with SMD LEDs. They are glued, after scraping the paint on the back, on the lantern holders opposite the footbridge. The wires go directly down under the headstock and then run along the edge of the chassis. Be careful to pass under the buffers that are mobile and could catch the wires.

Wiring

The brass bearings are connected in pairs by a strand of wire soldered to a flexible wire. The wires coming from the lanterns and those of the bogies pass through a hole drilled into the hopper and are soldered to the control circuit equipped with a bistable reed switch allowing the lanterns to be switched on and off.

Wiring

Control circuit

The (220 μF) capacitor is mounted under the PCB. It is stuck with thick double-sided adhesive on the single ballast plate that I left in place. This arrangement allows the reed switch to be high enough to be operated without difficulty by a magnet placed above the wagon.

Control circuit

One can see that wires (red and black) leave on both sides. Indeed, I have equipped the two bogies with current pickup. But it was actually not necessary, only one would have been sufficient.

See this PDF for the diagram and etching mask of the PCB.

Result

Wagon with lanterns, by night

Vertical illumination is unforgiving for the junction between the body and the roof!

Pose de lanternes de queue

Les céréaliers circulent la plupart du temps en rames blocs. Il faut donc équiper le dernier wagon de feux de fin de convoi. Je vais expliquer rapidement comment j’ai réalisé ces feux. Une page plus détaillée se trouve dans l’article sur les trémies EX REE.

J’ai choisi un modèle à faces planes pour sa facilité de démontage.

Prise de courant

L’équipement du wagon avec des paliers laiton est facilité par le fait que les bogies se démontent entièrement, ce qui permet de creuser sans difficulté les boîtes d’essieux. Certains modèles anciens sont même déjà pourvus de demi axes isolés munis de roues non isolées, ce qui est l’idéal pour la prise de courant.

Paliers conducteurs

Ce n’est pas le cas du modèle que je veux équiper. Il faut donc opérer un échange de roues isolées contre roues non isolées. Voir l’article sur les voitures Nord Rapide.

Lanternes

Ce sont des lanternes REE que j’ai munies de LED CMS. Elles sont collées, après avoir gratté leur peinture au dos, sur les porte-lanternes à l’opposé de la passerelle. Les fils descendent directement sous la traverse de tamponnement puis cheminent sur le bord du châssis. Attention au passage sous les tampons qui sont mobiles et pourraient accrocher les fils.

Câblage

Les paliers en laiton sont reliés deux à deux par un brin de fil, lui-même soudé à un fil souple. Les fils venant des lanternes et ceux des bogies passent par un trou fait dans la trémie, pour être soudés sur le circuit de commande muni d’un ILS bistable permettant l’allumage et l’extinction des lanternes.

Câblage

Circuit de commande

Le condensateur (de 220 µF) est monté sous la carte. Il est lui-même collé à l’adhésif double face épais sur l’unique plaque de lest que j’ai laissée en place. Cette disposition permet à l’ILS de se trou­ver assez haut pour être actionné sans difficulté par un aimant placé au dessus du wagon.

Circuit de commande

On peut voir que des fils (rouges et noirs) partent des deux côtés. En effet, j’ai équipé les deux bogies de prises de courant. Mais ce n’était vraiment pas indispensable, un seul aurait suffi.

Voir ce document PDF pour le schéma et le typon du circuit imprimé.

Résultat

Wagon avec lanternes, de nuit

L’éclairage vertical est impitoyable pour la jonction entre caisse et toit !