Setting the coupler height

Several solutions can be envisaged, such as intervening on the drawbar — complicated because it is difficult to dismantle — or use height-adjustable dovetail couplers — which is much easier, but which produces a larger gap between the buffers (about 3 mm: this is much).

I chose an intermediate solution: make the tail of the couplers thinner in their upper part, and compensate underneath with a wedge. These are Fleischmann Profi models. Their total thickness is 1.7 mm. If 0.7 mm is removed, value moderate enough so as not to weaken the coupler too much, a 0.75 thick plastic card (7 × 3 mm rectangle) will compensate. The problem is to maintain the coupler during the milling operation. Hence the making of a machining assembly: a 2 mm aluminium plate with two ø 2 holes to allow the movable — and fragile — part of the coupler to pass through, and two others, tapped M2, for securing a flange to immobilize the head.

Dimensional drawing of the machining assembly

The external dimensions are not critical, nor that of the spacing of the tapped holes. However, the width dimension of the flange must not be exceeded, since it must not press the rear part of the coupler head.

Drawing of the machining assembly

Photos

Coupler after machining. The dismantled flange can be seen with its two M2 screws and the coupler placed on the support through which the protruding parts of the moving pre-uncoupling piece pass. This allows the head to be fixed firmly during machining, without risk of deterioration.

Machining assembly

Assembly of the thinned coupler with the polystyrene wedge, before completely engaging the assembly into the NEM box. The coupler thus arrives at practically the same level as that of the “curved-walls”.

Machined coupler

Result

After modification, I find the result rather satisfactory, even if the “curved-walls” is now slightly too high, thing easy to correct with raising wedges slightly thinner.

Comparison

There remains an unknown factor: the retaining force of the coupler, which is probably lower due to the smaller thickness of the tail. If there are coupling breakages, you will have to insert a wedge to lock the clips on the back of the coupler.

Réglage de la hauteur des attelages

On peut envisager plusieurs solutions, comme intervenir sur le timon — compliqué car pas évident à démonter — ou utiliser des attelages réglables en hauteur, à queue d’aronde —  chose nettement plus facile, mais qui produit un écart plus important des tampons (environ 3 mm, ce qui est beaucoup).

J’ai choisi une solution intermédiaire : amincir la queue des attelages dans leur partie supérieure, et compenser par dessous avec une cale. Il s’agit ici de modèles Fleischmann Profi. L’épaisseur totale est de 1,7 mm. Si on enlève 0,7 mm, valeur assez modérée pour ne pas trop fragiliser l’attelage, on compensera par de la carte plastique ép. 0,75 (rectangle de 7 × 3 mm). Le problème est de maintenir l’attelage pendant l’opération de fraisage. D’où la fabrication d’un montage d’usinage : une plaquette en alu de 2 mm, percée de deux trous ø 2 pour laisser passer la partie mobile — et fragile — de l’attelage, et de deux autres, filetés M2, pour fixer une bride venant immobiliser la tête.

Schéma coté du montage d’usinage

Les cotes des dimensions extérieures ne sont pas critiques, ni celle de l’écartement des trous taraudés. Cependant, la cote de largeur de la bride ne doit pas être dépassée, car il ne faut pas qu’elle appuie sur la partie arrière remontante de la tête.

Schéma du montage d’usinage

Photos

Attelage après usinage. On peut voir la bride démontée avec ses deux vis M2 et l’attelage posé sur le support à travers lequel passent les parties saillantes de la pièce mobile de prédételage. Ceci permet de fixer la tête fermement pendant l’usinage, sans risque de détérioration.

Montage d’usinage

Montage de l’attelage aminci avec la cale en polystyrène, avant d’engager complètement l’ensemble dans le boîtier NEM. L’attelage arrive ainsi pratiquement au même niveau que celui des « faces bombées ».

Attelage usiné en cours de montage

Résultat

Après modification, je trouve le résultat plutôt satisfaisant, même si le « faces bombées » est maintenant un pouïème trop haut, chose facile à corriger avec des cales de rehausse légèrement moins épaisses.

Comparaison

Il reste une inconnue : la force de retenue de l’attelage, sans doute plus faible du fait de l’épaisseur moindre de la queue. S’il s’avère qu’il y a des ruptures, il faudra insérer un coin pour bloquer les clips à l’arrière de l’attelage.