Correction of height difference

Despite their different design, the two models have identical bogies. These bogies of Y25 type are quite complex since they are a screwed assembly of four main parts: the proper chassis, a part supporting the pivot, and finally two sides. This complexity will allow us to act paradoxically in a simple way, by raising or lowering the pivot piece as needed.

I will not try to correct the total height, but only that of the buffers, which is ultimately the most visible; this correction will be plus or minus 0.5 mm. Let's start with the easiest thing: raise the curved-wall wagon.

Drawing © Hornby International

Bogie in separate parts

Raising of the curved-wall wagon

Simply insert a spacer made of 0.5 mm thick polystyrene sheet between the chassis and the pivot piece. Here is a dimensioned drawing of this piece and a picture illustrating the thing.

In the picture, the new part is already positioned in its chassis location, and the assembly screws are already in place. The pivot piece is placed above.

While we are at it, let’s see how to restore the three-point suspension. In fact, the wagon chassis rests on the bogies by the cylindrical protuberances of the pivot piece into which the assembly screws are screwed (circles in the picture). It is sufficient, on one bogie only, to reduce the height of these protuberances: half a millimetre should suffice. There is nothing else to do with the curved-wall wagon. On the flat-wall wagon, in addition, the screws must be shortened.

Raising spacer

Raising spacer

Lowering the flat-wall wagon

For this model, this will be a little more difficult to achieve, but the principle is the same: instead of thickening the pivot parts, they will have to be thinned by 0.5 mm.

For this, it is better to use a milling machine, but it is also possible to file the parts. To avoid damaging them, I made a small aluminium machining assembly. Holes are provided for milling two pieces simultaneously; you may of course put as many parts as you want.

There are three holes ø 4, spaced 8 mm apart. The middle one receives the pivot (red circle); those on the sides (green circles) receive the cylindrical protuberances already seen. The parts to be milled are held by their own screws mounted under the plate, with washers interposed to avoid overtaking.

Machining assembly

Attention to the perfect parallelism of the assembly to the table of the milling machine! A dial probe indicator will be useful to verify it.

In order for the workpiece to penetrate deeper into the chassis, the projecting parts of the rectangular shapes must also be removed (blue hatched area in the picture above). A well-sharpened scalpel does the trick.

Pivot piece after machining

Reassembled bogie: it can be seen that the pivot piece is more depressed in its housing. I recall that the screws must be a little shortened, especially on the side where the 2-point suspension is removed. The rod connecting the front brake shoes was cut because it was leaning on the NEM box.

Reassembled bogie

Result

The buffers of the “flat-walls” were about a millimetre higher than those of its colleague “curved-walls”. Now, they are rather a bit lower, although the height at the roof level is not totally compensated. The trouble is that the “flat-walls” couplers are now also too low. We have to find a way to raise them up.

Correction de la différence de hauteur

Malgré leur conception d’origine différente, les deux modèles ont des bogies identiques. Ces bogies de type Y25 sont assez complexes puisqu’ils présentent un assemblage par vis de quatre pièces principales : le châssis proprement dit, une pièce supportant le pivot, et enfin deux flancs. Cette complexité va nous permettre paradoxalement d’agir de façon simple, en surélevant ou en abaissant la pièce pivot selon les besoins.

Je ne vais pas essayer de corriger la hauteur totale, mais seulement celle des tampons, qui est finalement la plus visible ; cette correction sera de plus ou moins 0,5 mm. Commençons par le plus facile : surélever le wagon à faces bombées.

Dessin © Hornby International

Bogie en pièces détachées

Surélévation du wagon à faces bombées

Il suffit d’intercaler entre le châssis et la pièce pivot une entretoise faite en carte de polystyrène d’épaisseur 0,5 mm. Voici un dessin coté de cette pièce et une photo illustrant la chose.

Sur la photo, la nouvelle pièce est déjà positionnée dans son logement du châssis, et les vis d’assemblage sont déjà en place. La pièce pivot se met par dessus.

Pendant que nous y sommes, voyons comment rétablir la portée en trois points. En fait, le châssis du wagon repose sur les bogies par les excroissances cylindriques de la pièce pivot dans lesquelles sont vissées les vis d’assemblage (cercles sur la photo). Il suffit, sur un bogie seulement, de diminuer la hauteur de ces excroissances : un demi millimètre devrait suffire. Sur le wagon à faces bombées, il n’y a rien d’autre à faire. Sur celui à faces planes, il faudra en plus raccourcir les vis.

Entretoise de rehausse

Entretoise de rehausse

Abaissement du wagon à faces planes

Pour ce modèle, cela va être un peu plus difficile à réaliser, mais le principe est le même : au lieu d’épaissir les pièces pivots, il va falloir les amincir de 0,5 mm.

Pour cela, il est préférable d’utiliser une fraiseuse, mais il est aussi possible de limer les pièces. Pour éviter de les détériorer, j’ai fabriqué un petit montage d’usinage en aluminium. Des emplacements sont prévus pour fraiser deux pièces simulta­né­ment ; on peut bien entendu en mettre autant que l’on veut.

Les trous ø 4 espacés de 8 mm reçoivent, pour celui du milieu (cercle rouge) le pivot, et, pour ceux des côtés (cercles verts) les excroissances cylindriques déjà vues. Les pièces à fraiser sont maintenues par leurs propres vis montées sous la plaque, avec interposition de rondelles pour éviter leur dépassement.

Montage d’usinage

Attention au parfait parallélisme du montage avec la table de la fraiseuse ! Un comparateur à cadran sera le bienvenu pour le vérifier.

Pour que la pièce usinée puisse pénétrer plus profondément dans le châssis, il faut aussi supprimer les parties en saillie des formes rectangulaires (zone hachurée en bleu sur la photo ci-dessus). Un scalpel bien aiguisé fait l’affaire.

Pièce pivot après intervention

Bogie remonté : on voit que la pièce pivot est plus enfoncée dans son logement. Je rappelle ici que les vis doivent être un peu raccourcies, surtout du côté où on supprime la portée en deux points. La tringle reliant les sabots de frein à l’avant a été sectionnée, car elle portait sur le boîtier NEM.

Bogie remonté

Résultat

Les tampons du « faces planes » étaient un bon millimètre plus hauts que ceux de son collègue « faces bombées ». Maintenant, ils sont plutôt un poil plus bas, bien que la hauteur au toit ne soit pas totalement compensée. L’ennui est que les attelages des « faces planes » sont maintenant eux aussi trop bas. Il faut trouver un moyen de les remonter.