Observation

Height difference

There are two different models of Hornby-Jouef cereal hoppers: one with flat walls, the oldest, which I believe originates from Rivarossi; the other with curved walls. The first is too high by 0.8 mm, the second is too low by 1 mm! This would not be too inconvenient if these wagons were not running together in a train, where the difference can be easily seen, both at the roof and at the buffer level.

Comparison

Wagon base

About mechanics, we see that there is no three-point suspension, but a four-point one! This is obviously unfavourable to running stability, since the bogies have no backlash with respect to each other.

Ballast

Referring to the NEM 302 recommendation, these wagons are too heavy: the curved-wall model is 94 g for a recommended mass of 70 to 91 g; for the flat-wall model, it is hardly better with a mass of 89 g. For amateurs of long realistic trains, this represents an undesirable excess load for the locomotive when the layout presents ramps.

The “flat-walls” is easy to open (clips at the top of the vertical faces). Its ballast consists of two steel plates of 51 × 26 × 1.5 mm, 13.5 g each, superimposed and secured by two screws. Simply remove one of the plates to obtain a mass more in conformity with the NEM. Unfortunately, the “curved-walls” appears to be more difficult to disassemble, and I did not insist, for fear of deteriorating. And I did not find an exploded view or advice on forums that could have helped me.

Le constat

Différence de hauteur

Il y a deux modèles différents de céréaliers chez Hornby-Jouef : l’un à parois planes, le plus ancien, qui est, je crois, d’origine Rivarossi ; l’autre, à parois bombées. Le premier est trop haut de 0,8 mm, le deuxième trop bas de 1 mm ! Chose qui ne serait pas trop gênante si ces wagons n’étaient pas amenés à cohabiter dans une rame, où la différence se voit, tant au niveau du toit qu’à celui des tampons.

Comparaison

Assise des wagons

Au chapitre mécanique, on constate qu’il n’y a pas de portée en trois points, mais en quatre ! C’est évidemment défavorable à la tenue de voie, puisque les bogies ne peuvent pas jouer l’un par rapport à l’autre.

Lest

Si on se réfère à la recommandation NEM 302, ces wagons sont trop lourds : le modèle à faces bombées fait 94 g pour une masse recommandée de 70 à 91 g ; pour celui à faces planes, c’est à peine mieux avec une masse de 89 g. Pour les amateurs de longues rames réalistes, cela représente une charge excédentaire nuisible pour la locomotive dès qu’un réseau présente des rampes.

Le « faces planes » est facile à ouvrir (clips en haut des faces verticales). Son lest se compose de deux plaques d’acier de 51 × 26 × 1,5 mm, de 13,5 g chacune, superposées et fixées par deux vis. Il suffit d’enlever une des plaques pour obtenir une masse plus conforme à la NEM. Malheureusement, le « faces bombées » paraît plus difficile à démonter, et je n’ai pas insisté, de peur de le détériorer. Et je n’ai pas trouvé de vue éclatée ou de conseils sur les forums qui auraient pu m’aider.