About rotating axle holders

LS Models has designed rotating axle holders, as does Roco for large-wheelbase wagons, for a better running in curves. And I wonder whether the connection wires I have planned, quite rigid (diameter 0.3 mm), could hinder the rotation?

While the wagon is in its cradle, legs up, I take the opportunity to do a little experiment. I place an R 356 Fleischmann Profi curved track coupon on the wagon wheels to observe the behaviour of the axle holders. Result: they don’t move a jot and remain desperately aligned. I still increase the angle between the rails and the wheels: nothing happens.

I do the same test with another TA60 devoid of electrical connections: same observation.

May it be because of the little too rigid return springs moulded with the axle holder? I inhibit them with small clamps: no more results! And if I rotate the axle holder by hand, it remains as it is even on a straight track!

Conclusion: this system of so-called radiant axles is totally inefficient and therefore unnecessary. But it exists; let it be as it is.

But why this doesn’t work?

I can hardly accept the above observation without a justification. It may be a matter of mechanical clearance between the axle and the track. So let’s look at the NEM standards and let’s do some small calculations.

The NEM 110 standard gives the distance Gmin = 16.5 to Gmax = 16.8 as track gauge, in HO scale of course. According to NEM 310, for the axle, this rating is not given directly; it depends on the dimensions B (back to back distance between the wheels) and K (distance between a wheel back and the rolling point of the opposite wheel). These dimensions are: B = 14.5 ± 0.1 and K = 15.2 ± 0.1.

The distance between the wheels at the rolling points, which I note Z, can be deduced by the formula Z = 2K - B, with three times the tolerance, i.e. ± 0.3, because the tolerances must be added. This gives Z = 30.4 - 14.5 = 15.9 ± 0.3, i.e. Zmin = 15.6 and Zmax = 16.2. The clearance between the track and the axle is thus:

NEM axle dimensions

Extract from the NEM 310. © Morop.

Min. clearance = Gmin − Zmax = 16.5 − 16.2 = 0.3

Max. clearance = Gmax − Zmin = 16.8 − 15.6 = 1.2!

With relatively thin flanges and such a tolerance, it is not surprising that the axle position is not influenced by the curvature of the track! But, as long as there is no derailment, eh. By the way, I’ve been told that the actual TA60 wagons were rather prone to derailments…

Detail improvements

These are details that LS Models did not think fit to represent, but which are nevertheless clearly visible on the actual wagons.

Security chains

These chains, which block the upper deck ends, are wrapped into a sheath, the probable function of which is to protect the car bodies.

I have imitated them with a ø 0.1 copper wire wrapped into a ø 0.5 wrapping wire sheath. I fix this wire by wrapping it around the railings in a rather loose way. When in the correct position, I place a micro droplet of superglue just where the wire comes in contact with the railing.

Security chains

From the Het Utrechts Archief website

Once the glue dries, I unwind the excess wire and cut it with a scalpel blade. The ends that protrude from the sheath are painted grey.

It would perhaps have been more elegant to drill a ø 0.3 hole into the railing itself to pass the wire, because, in reality, and as can be seen in the picture, the chain is attached to a lug welded on this railing… And why not make these lugs, while we are at it!

Lower gateway locking bars

These bars are actually articulated near the body pillar to lift and release the lower deck lifting-bridge.

I used a simple ø 0.3 nickel silver wire, folded and burnished. Its vertical part is intentionally too long so that it can rest on the wagon floor and not remain in the air in cantilever. The body pillar is drilled at ø 0.4. The drilling is done at the point where there is a right angle moulding mark, which helps to centre the drill bit.

Locking bars

From the Het Utrechts Archief website

I drill with the mini-drill set at very low speed, with a carbide drill bit. A test with a drill bit holder was immediately punished by the breakage of the drill bit, while with the mini drill I made sixteen holes without a problem…

Tip: to burnish brass or nickel silver, parts must be completely degreased after handling, otherwise the result is not regular and does not hold. The best way to do this is to use not an organic solvent such as alcohol, for example, but caustic soda (sink unblocking type). It is a very aggressive but very effective product, to be handled with suitable gloves (the latex examination gloves are destroyed rather quickly). It is necessary to wash the parts thoroughly before going to burnishing. This is the degreasing method used in industry, before chemical or electrolytic surface treatment.

Result

Click the list items to see the details.

  1. Security chain attachment.
  2. Passage of the lantern wires
  3. Locking bar.
Security chain Passage of the lantern wires Locking bar
  1. Security chain attachment
  2. Passage of the lantern wires
  3. Locking bar

For information, and because I still have a little space, here are the references of the cars loaded on this wagon:

Three quarters view

TA60 wagon equiped with lanterns

Au sujet des porte-essieux pivotants

LS Models a prévu des porte-essieux pivotants, comme le fait aussi Roco pour des wagons à grand empattement, dans le but de faciliter l’inscription en courbe. Et là, je m’interroge : les fils de raccordement que j’ai prévus, assez rigides (diamètre 0,3 mm), ne risquent-ils pas de gêner ce pivotement ?

Pendant que le wagon est dans son berceau, les pattes en l’air, j’en profite pour faire une petite expérience. Je place un coupon de voie courbe R 356 Fleischmann Profi sur les roues du wagon, pour observer le comportement des porte-essieux. Résultat : ils ne bougent pas d’un poil et restent désespérément alignés. J’augmente encore l’angle entre les rails et les roues : rien à faire.

Je fais le même essai avec un autre TA60 dépourvu de liaisons électriques : mêmes constatations.

Je me dis que c’est peut-être à cause des ressorts de rappel moulés avec le porte-essieu, un peu trop rigides. Je les inhibe avec de petites pinces : pas plus de résultat ! Et si je fais pivoter le porte-essieu à la main, il reste tel que je l’ai mis même sur une voie en ligne droite !

Conclusion : ce système d’essieux prétendument radiants est totalement inefficace et donc inutile. Mais il existe, laissons-le tel quel.

Mais pourquoi cela ne fonctionne-t-il pas ?

J’ai du mal à accepter le constat ci-dessus sans justification. C’est peut-être une question de jeu mécanique entre l’essieu et la voie. Ressortons donc les normes NEM et livrons-nous à quelques petits calculs.

La norme NEM 110 donne comme écartement de la voie, en HO bien sûr, la cote Gmin = 16,5 à Gmax = 16,8. Selon la NEM 310, pour l’essieu, cette cote n’est pas donnée directement ; elle dépend des cotes B (distance des roues dos à dos) et K (distance entre dos d’une roue et point de roulement de la roue opposée). Ces cotes sont : B = 14,5 ± 0,1 et K = 15,2 ± 0,1.

On peut en déduire l’écartement des roues aux points de roulement, que je note Z, par la formule Z = 2K − B, avec une tolérance triple, soit ± 0,3, car les tolérances se cumulent. Cela donne Z = 30,4 − 14,5 = 15,9 ± 0,3, soit Zmin = 15,6 et Zmax = 16,2. Le jeu entre voie et essieu est donc :

Cotes essieu NEM

Extrait de la norme NEM 310. © Morop.

Jeu mini = Gmin − Zmax = 16,5 − 16,2 = 0,3

Jeu maxi = Gmax − Zmin = 16,8 − 15,6 = 1,2 !

Avec des boudins relativement fins et une telle tolérance, rien d’étonnant à ce que la position de l’essieu ne soit pas influencée par la courbure de la voie ! Mais, tant qu’il n’y a pas de déraillement, hein. Soit dit en passant, les wagons TA60 réels étaient, paraît-il, assez enclins aux déraillements…

Améliorations de détails

Il s’agit de détails que LS Models n’a pas cru bon de représenter, mais qui sont quand même nettement visibles sur les wagons réels.

Chaînes de sécurité

Ces chaînes, qui barrent les extrémités du pont supérieur, sont entourées d’une gaine dont le rôle probable est de protéger les carrosseries des voitures.

Je les ai représentées par un fil de cuivre ø 0,1 entouré d’une gaine de fil à wrapper ø 0,5. Je fixe ce fil en l’enroulant autour des rambardes d’une façon assez lâche. Lorsqu’il est en position correcte, je dépose une microgoutte de colle cyanoacrylate juste à l’endroit où le fil vient en contact avec la rambarde.

Chaîne de sécurité

Extrait de photo du site Het Utrechts Archief

Une fois la colle sèche, je déroule l’excédent de fil et je le coupe sur une lame de scalpel. Les bouts qui dépassent de la gaine sont peints en gris.

Il aurait peut-être été plus élégant de percer un trou ø 0,3 dans la rambarde elle-même pour y passer le fil, car, en réalité, et comme on peut le voir sur la photo, c’est à une patte soudée sur cette rambarde que la chaîne est attachée… Et pourquoi pas fabriquer ces pattes, tant qu’à faire !

Barres d’accrochage des passerelles inférieures

Ces barres sont en réalité articulées près du montant de caisse pour pouvoir se soulever et libérer la passerelle du pont inférieur.

J’ai utilisé un simple fil de maillechort ø 0,3, plié et bruni. La partie verticale est volontairement trop longue de façon qu’elle puisse reposer sur le plancher du wagon et non rester en l’air en porte-à-faux. Le montant de caisse est percé à ø 0,4. Le perçage est effectué à l’endroit où il y a une marque de moulage à angle droit, qui aide à centrer le foret.

Barres d’accrochage

Extrait de photo du site Het Utrechts Archief

Je perce avec la mini-perceuse réglée à très faible vitesse, avec un foret carbure. Un essai avec un porte-foret à main a été immédiatement sanctionné par la casse du foret, alors qu’avec la perceuse, j’ai fait seize trous sans problème

Conseil : pour le brunissage du laiton ou du maillechort, il faut que les pièces soient parfaitement dégraissées après manipulation, sinon, le résultat n’est pas régulier et ne tient pas. Le meilleur moyen pour cela est d’utiliser non pas un solvant organique comme l’alcool par exemple, mais la soude caustique (genre débouche-évier). C’est un produit très agressif mais très efficace, à manipuler avec des gants adaptés (les gants d’examen en latex sont détruits assez rapidement). Il faut bien sûr laver à fond avant de passer au brunissage. C’est la méthode de dégraissage utilisée dans l’industrie, avant traitement de surface chimique ou électrolytique.

Résultat

Cliquez sur les éléments de la liste pour voir les détails.

  1. Attache de chaîne de sécurité.
  2. Passage des fils de lanterne.
  3. Barre d’accrochage.
Chaîne de sécurité Passage des fils de lanternes Barre d’accrochage
  1. Attache de chaîne de sécurité
  2. Passage des fils de lanterne
  3. Barre d’accrochage

Pour information, et parce qu’il me reste un peu de place, voici les références des autos chargées sur ce wagon :

Vue de trois-quart

Wagon STVA équipé de lanternes