Wagon TA60 profile view

Installation of lanterns

When I chose to equip such a wagon, I did not choose the easy way, as it seems to present no sufficiently discreet location where to put the circuits. But if I get there, I think I won’t worry about other wagons. I will use the REE lanterns I have equipped with LEDs.

Questions

Above all, we must find where the lanterns are attached on this type of wagon. After a long search on the Internet, I finally found an answer on the Loco Revue forum, given by the famous Gérard Huet, nicknamed SuperGG: it is in the red circle of the photo.

In fact, on the LSM model, at this location is a small outgrowth of 0.7 × 0.7 mm and a few tenths of a millimetre thick. Two questions arise immediately. How to hold the lantern there? And where to pass the wires?

For the first question, I think the best solution is to drill a ø 0.8 hole at the lantern base back, which will serve as a kind of mortise for the square tenon. This will not be sufficient to hold the lantern, but will be a centring point for gluing.

Lantern location

Picture SuperGG on forum.e-train.fr.

Note: I have lightened the part in question to make it more visible.

Obviously, it would have been better to make this drilling before installing the LED, because I may touch or even cut the wires.

For the second question, passing the wires along the edge of the gangway will be the most discreet, then under the chassis, in a groove that one would think made purposely. They will be glued slightly and then painted in aluminium grey.

LED power supply: PCB

The LEDs of the two lanterns will be connected in series, and therefore the same current will run through them. Being in DCC, it would be enough to calculate the series resistance for a rectified voltage of approximately 15 V. A test on a breadboard makes me choose a 10 kΩ resistance, which will give a current less than 2 mA. But, for this time, I want to imitate the REE hopper circuit that regulates the current, and therefore the LED lighting, in a fairly wide voltage range. For this purpose, a constant current supply, obtained by means of a transistor, must be provided. See the diagram. This circuit can be used in analogue, for a voltage ranging from 6 V to more than 20 V if necessary. If the current is to be increased, the value of R2 may be reduced.

Current pickup

For a proper current pickup, the four wheels of the wagon should participate. Luckily, the axle boxes are provided with brass bearings. It will suffice to solder wires on them and to isolate half-axles by cutting them in the middle. I also need non-insulated wheels, which will be taken from another wagon of the same type. Usual method…

There I committed a blunder which made me waste a lot of time. I wanted to remove the brass bearings to ease soldering wires to them. Not easy to do without damage. I found a solution which consists in drilling a ø 0.3 hole in the central nut hollow of the axle box and then pushing the bearing from the outside with a short ø 0.3 piano string rod held in a chuck. The force must be quite large. All the bearings were pushed out willy-nilly, but I lost one… So I had to make new bearings in brass sheet.

In fact, I should have dared a much faster method that I tested later on a LSM USI car. It consists of milling a small space into the plastic against the brass bearing, putting a little flux in it, placing the end of the tin-bonded wire and soldering with a drop of tin, so quickly that the plastic cannot melt. It seems a bit risky, but thanks to the flux, it goes very well. Fast and no risk of loss. But of course, careful washing mandatory! I forgot to mention that this method is greatly facilitated by the fact that the axle-holder part is removable.

Where to place the PCB?

Now that everything is ready, the last question is to place the PCB as discreetly as possible. Behind the headstock? Not possible, because of the elongated drawbar. I do not want to remove it, as REE did with its hopper, because it would prevent manoeuvring the wagon. Under the chassis? Not good: it would be quite visible and the braking equipment would have to be sacrificed. The last possibility is under the axle holder. Yes: by levelling the ribs, and taking into account the presence of the axle, it is possible to install the circuit there. There, it will be the most discreet, hidden in large part by the wheels. See the etching mask.

Result

Click the items in the list to see the details.

  1. Insulating sleeve.
  2. Bearing-to-circuit connection.
  3. Brass bearing.
  4. Circuit-to-lantern connexion.
  5. For information: milling of the NEM box for mounting the handles.
  6. Passage of the lantern wire.
  7. Connection to the other axle.

Close up view on the axle
One of the wires connecting the two axles can also be seen.

Zoom sur un palier
The connection is done with a self-adhesive copper tape. The tape bypasses the wheel.

Zoom sur la liaison des lanternes
The connection made with ø 0.1 varnished wires stuck on double-sided adhesive is almost invisible because of thanks to the camouflage painting!

Zoom sur le passage des fils
Here again, discretion was the goal. The wires bypass the hauling “diabolo” then pass under the NEM box.

Zoom sur la liaison inter-essieux
The ø 0.3 varnished wire bypasses the brake shoe, then passes through a discreet ø 0.6 hole drilled into the suspension tie rod.

  1. Insulating sleeve.
  2. Bearing-to-circuit connection
  3. Brass bearing
  4. Circuit-to-lantern connection
  5. For information: milling of the NEM box for mounting the handles.
  6. Passage of the lantern wire
  7. Connection to the other axle

View from below

Wagon TA60 vue de profil

Pose de lanternes

En choisissant d’équiper un tel wagon, je n’ai pas choisi la facilité, car il semble ne présenter aucun emplacement suffisamment discret où mettre les circuits. Mais, si j’y arrive, je pense que je n’aurai pas de soucis pour d’autres wagons. Je vais utiliser les lanternes REE que j’ai équipées de LED.

Repérages

Avant tout, il faut trouver où s’accro­chent les lanternes sur ce type de wagon. Après une longue recherche sur Internet, j’ai enfin trouvé une réponse sur le forum Loco Revue, donnée par le fameux Gérard Huet, dit SuperGG : c’est dans le cercle rouge de la photo.

De fait, sur le modèle LSM, se trouve à cet endroit une petite excroissance de 0,7 × 0,7, et de quelques dixièmes d’épaisseur. Deux questions se posent immédiatement. Comment y faire tenir la lanterne ? Et où faire passer les fils ?

Pour la première question, je crois que la meilleure solution est de percer à l’arrière du socle de la lanterne un trou ø 0,8, qui servira en quelque sorte de mortaise pour le tenon carré. Cela ne sera pas suffisant pour tenir la lanterne, mais servira de point de centrage pour le collage.

Position des lanternes

Cliché SuperGG sur forum.e-train.fr.

NB : j’ai éclairci la pièce en question
pour la rendre plus visible.

Évidemment, il aurait mieux valu effectuer ce perçage avant la pose de la LED, car je risque de toucher voire de couper les fils.

Pour la seconde question, le plus discret sera de faire passer les fils le long du bord de la passerelle, puis sous le châssis, dans une rainure que l’on croirait faite exprès. Ils seront collés légèrement, puis peints en gris aluminium.

Alimentation des LED : circuit imprimé

Les LED des deux lanternes seront mises en série, et donc parcourues par le même courant. Étant en DCC, il suffirait de calculer la résistance série pour une tension redressée d’environ 15 V. Un essai sur plaque à trous me fait choisir une résistance de 10 kΩ, ce qui donnera un courant inférieur à 2 mA. Mais, pour cette fois, je veux imiter le circuit des trémies REE qui régule le courant, et donc l’éclairage des LED, dans une assez large plage de tension. Pour cela, il faut prévoir une alimentation à courant constant, obtenue grâce à un transistor. Voir le schéma. Ce circuit pourra être utilisé en analogique, pour une tension allant de 6 V à plus de 20 V si nécessaire. Si l’on veut augmenter le courant, il faut diminuer la valeur de R2.

Prise de courant

Pour une prise de courant correcte, les quatre roues du wagon doivent participer. Par chance, les boîtes d’essieux sont munies de paliers en laiton. Il suffira de souder des fils dessus et d’isoler des demi-axes en les coupant au milieu. Il me faut aussi des roues non isolées, qui seront prélevées sur un autre wagon de même type. Méthode habituelle, quoi…

Là j’ai commis une boulette qui m’a fait perdre pas mal de temps. J’ai voulu sortir les paliers laiton pour leur souder des fils. Déjà pas évident à faire sans dégât. J’ai trouvé une solution qui consiste à percer au porte-foret à main un trou ø 0,3 dans le creux de l’écrou central de la boîte d’essieu, puis à pousser le palier de l’extérieur avec une courte tige de corde à piano ø 0,3 tenue dans un mandrin. La force doit être assez importante. Tous les paliers sont sortis de gré ou de force, mais j’en ai perdu un… J’ai donc dû refaire des paliers en tôle de laiton.

En fait, j’aurais dû oser une méthode beaucoup plus rapide que j’ai testée ensuite sur une voiture USI LSM. Elle consiste à fraiser un petit espace dans le plastique contre le palier en laiton, d’y mettre un peu de flux, d’y placer l’extrémité du fil de liaison étamé, et de souder avec une goutte d’étain, assez rapidement pour que la matière plastique ne fonde pas. Cela paraît un peu risqué, mais, grâce au flux, ça se passe très bien. Rapide et pas de risque de perte. Mais naturellement, lavage soigneux obligatoire ! J’ai oublié de préciser que cette méthode est grandement facilitée par le fait que la pièce porte-essieu est démontable.

Où placer le circuit imprimé ?

Maintenant que tout est prêt, reste à placer le circuit imprimé le plus discrètement possible. Derrière la traverse de tamponnement ? Pas possible, à cause du timon à élongation. Je ne veux pas le supprimer, comme REE l’a fait avec sa trémie, car cela empêcherait de manœuvrer le wagon. Sous le châssis ? Pas terrible : ce serait assez visible et il faudrait sacrifier l’équipement de freinage. Reste dans le porte-essieu. Oui : en arasant les nervures, et en tenant compte de la présence de l’axe d’essieu, il est possible d’y installer le circuit. C’est là qu’il sera le plus discret, caché en grande partie par les roues. Voir le typon.

Résultat

Cliquez sur les éléments de la liste pour voir les détails.

  1. Manchon isolant.
  2. Liaison palier-circuit.
  3. Palier en laiton.
  4. Liaison circuit-lanternes.
  5. Pour info : fraisage du boîtier NEM permettant le montage des mains d’atteleur.
  6. Passage des fils des lanternes.
  7. Liaison avec autre essieu.

Zoom sur l’essieu
On voit aussi en bas l’un des fils qui relient les deux essieux.

Zoom sur un palier
La liaison se fait par ruban cuivre autocollant. Le ruban contourne la roue.

Zoom sur la liaison des lanternes
Le raccordement en fils vernis ø 0,1 collés sur adhésif double-face est peu visible à cause de grâce à la peinture de camouflage !

Zoom sur le passage des fils
Ici aussi, la discrétion a été recherchée. Les fils contournent le diabolo et passent sous le boîtier NEM.

Zoom sur la liaison inter-essieux
Le fil verni ø 0,3 contourne le sabot de frein puis passe par un discret trou ø 0,6 à travers la menotte de suspension.

  1. Manchon isolant.
  2. Liaison palier-circuit
  3. Palier en laiton
  4. Liaison circuit-lanternes
  5. Pour info : fraisage du boîtier NEM permettant le montage des mains d’atteleur.
  6. Passage des fils des lanternes
  7. Liaison avec autre essieu

Vue de dessous