Building the chassis

Chassis itself

The notice says :

Detach the floor from the plate. Bend at 90° the different elements as indicated on the right, fold line inside (buffer beam, underbody flanks, air tank and brake cylinder holder, NEM couplings fixing brackets).

I did as indicated, but I regretted, because these details become very exposed: for example I damaged a shunter handle. But, on the other hand, the bends help to position the side beams. So…

Strengthen with solder (straps and ends in particular).

I did not do that, afraid of not being able to insert beams or drawbar bases correctly. Moreover, I keep at the level of the buffer beams a flexibility that would allow me to correct a lack of perpendicularity more visible when the end walls are mounted.

Then detach the beams (red), beam decorations (blue) and lower beam parts (orange). Solder the beam decorations on the beams…

The overlay of the beam and beam decor parts is facilitated by passing a steel wire rod through each of the footboard holes. Solder on the opposite side to the decor to avoid damaging it (the guard plate fixing rivets are already very little visible…)

… then solder them on the floor and finish with the lower beam plate.

I think it’s better to mount the “lower beam plates” (orange) on the beams (blue and red) first. Indeed, putting solder into the corner of the two parts will be easy, while, in situation under the chassis, it becomes almost impossible. Illustration (background: solution of the notice, in front of: mine).

Mounting the chassis beams

To this, the creator of the kit replied:

Nothing complicated for the lower beam plates, simply let the solder seep by the mortises, that’s more than enough, if there is too much solder, put flux again and get the solder back from the bottom of the chassis to the soldering iron.

I take good note of that for next time.

Attention: the length of the side beams must be corrected: it is 77,2 mm whereas the inside space between buffer beams is only 76,8 mm: it’s thus necessary to shorten the side beams of 0,4 or 0,5 mm so that they fit. Note that mounting with “tenons and mortises” is very easy. The adjustments are surprisingly accurate. I almost never needed to adjust them.

Brake set

Under the chassis, solder the 4 brake pairs, then the control rods (triangles) after having twisted at 90° the central part then the brake shoes.

Personally, I preferred to mount the assembly on template before soldering it on the chassis. I chose to use a round nickel silver control bar. Not only is it more realistic, but it makes it easier to connect the brake shoes (the original flat part doesn’t fit into the small holes provided), and to position the decoration of the shoes.

Here’s the process:

Into a wood or, better, epoxy board (shown in blue), drill two holes 0.5 mm diam., 2 mm deep, distant of 17.6 mm. Prepare a first “pair of brakes”, enlarge the shoe holes a little if necessary with a drill. Prepare two 0.5 mm diam., 22 mm long nickel silver bars, plant them into the board holes. Tin the parts. Put successively on the bars: the brake shoes (half-etched side underneath — pay attention to the position of the etching representing the shoe articulation axle: I made one mistake); then the “pair of brakes”. Hold the parts down and solder them. If a shoe has turned, it’s easy enough to correct by melting the solder again.

Get the obtained assembly out of the board, turn it over, put the second pair of brakes then the shoes (shown in red), etched face towards the base again. Replant the bars into the board.

Mounting the brakes, first side

Mounting the brakes, turning them over

Lay a 17.7 mm thick template (green). Hold the parts down well on it and solder the red pieces.

When the assembly is finished, shorten the ends of the nickel silver bars (cutting pliers then file) to obtain a length of about 19 mm (almost flush with the shoes). Note that with this way of proceeding, the soldering is always done on the inside of the shoes and doesn’t risk impeding the etching.

Mounting the brakes, second side

The original control rods are shortened to keep only the triangles.

Once the assemblies ready, mounting and soldering them under the chassis poses no particular problem. It remains to solder the rods on the new bars, then the safety brackets on the chassis.

Here is a view of the brakes a little later in the mounting process, when the axle boxes and the wheels were mounted.

View of brakes under chassis

Mounting the cylinder and the brake valve

For the air tank and the cylinder, after tinning, the soldering is done through the openings left by the folding of the straps.

Previously, I soldered the transmission levers on the cylinder, replacing the flat fake spring with a guitar string spinning on a diam. 0.3 mm silver nickel rod.

Small problem: either the piece representing the transmission between empty / loaded rod and cylinder is too long, or the distance between rod and cylinder is too short. In the photo below, the original length of this part is shown in red.

Detail of the brake cylinder

It turns out that the cylinder is misplaced, as shown in the photo, but I can’t help it: the location is imposed by the chassis straps (not visible here); small design mistake, confirmed when mounting the brackets: it can be seen that the brake levers (blue lines) are not centred on these brackets (red lines). The cylinder should be 0.5 to 1 mm further to the left (red arrow).

I got the confirmation on the forum by Gérard Huet himself, who is at the origin of this kit (see full post):

In fact, the good trick so that the brake cylinder is in the right place is to first position the triple valve rods on the control rod. The cylinder is then placed so that the rod falls right onto the small end of the shaft protruding from the triple valve.

Personally, I got out of it by shortening the transmission piece, by soldering one on the other, shifting them, the two copies provided and cutting the surplus.

For the brake control rods, levers and transmission, the drawing of the manual is hardly readable, especially with very small parts printed in yellow on a white background. It may be convenient to consult the corresponding PDF file.

Mounting the “stops” of the guard plates

Positioning these stops is delicate; I did it by positioning and holding them with tape, then soldering them with soldering water.

I just realized that the wheel hub is cracked…

Guard plate stop

Mounting the axle boxes

After extracting these parts from the foundry cluster, they must be de-burred and flattened over the spring supports (be careful: file with delicacy, because the nickel silver is twisted quite easily). Then tin them, as well as the chassis beams at the corresponding locations. The parts are held by the finger (the faster it is, the less it burns!). To facilitate a possible correction, only solder one side; check the position in relation to the guard plate before soldering the other side.

Suspension tie rods

Building the steps

The internal distance between supports being 10 mm, they are positioned taped on either side of a 10 mm thick piece of plywood. The step is inserted above; its centring is facilitated by the notches etched under the step.

Step

Elongation drawbars

I don’t intend to mount these drawbars, but I must still point out that there is also a small design mistake here that makes their operation impossible.

Design mistake

To correct it, just turn the reinforcement (green part) up and down. Disadvantage: the hook will have its opening directed towards the frame, making the attachment of the return spring more difficult.

Couplings

For mounting screw couplings, dummies of course, I used the same method as for the brakes, namely to plant the nickel silver rods which will serve as a hinge, in a board, to the exact spacing of parts provided in the kit. For the shackle, I preferred to use ø 0.5 mm silver nickel rod, flattened at the joints.

Of the eight parts representing the clamping cranks, which must be soldered in pairs to obtain the desired thickness, only two (highlighted in green) are correctly etched. Two others (in orange) have no half etching but are still usable at the cost of a small adjustment with a file.

Bad etching of the couplings

To prevent the solder from seeping into the joints and blocking them, it is recommended to insert a sheet of oiled cigarette paper between the parts. Since it is difficult enough to put the pieces on the rods, I didn’t do it; I simply oiled. Only one of six joints was blocked. The ball of the crank was figured by a drop of solder.

Screw coupling

Note that the hooks are equipped with a long tail with a small hole: they are designed to receive a traction spring held by a pin passed through this hole, as shown on the coupling on right. This will be for the sake of it, because I don’t plan to actually use this coupling. By the way, the spring I used would probably be too stiff for proper operation. But the coupling remains removable if I fancy installing a NEM box one day.

Here is a photo of a real coupling (on 150 X steam loco) to get a better idea on ​​how it must appear. The crank is different: it is folding here.

Actual screw coupling

I used a piece of transmission spiral
Ref. BB-5213, 2017 price: 3.50 €
at micro-modele
stretched to make the turns non-joined.
This is actually more of an helix than a spiral…

Construction du châssis

Châssis proprement dit

La notice dit :

Détachez de la plaque le plancher. Pliez à 90° les différents éléments comme indiqué ci-contre, trait de pliage à l’intérieur (traverse d’extrémité, flancs de sous caisse, support de réservoir d’air et de cylindre de frein, pattes de fixation des attelages NEM).

J’ai fait comme indiqué, mais je l’ai regretté, car ces détails deviennent ainsi très exposés : j’ai détérioré par exemple une main d’atteleur. Mais, d’un autre côté, les pliages aident à positionner les longerons. Alors…

Renforcez à la soudure (pattes et bouts notamment).

Ça, je ne l’ai pas fait, craignant de ne plus pouvoir insérer correctement des longerons ou les socles de timons. De plus, je garde au niveau des traverses une souplesse qui me permettrait de corriger un manque de perpendicularité plus visible lorsque les dossiers seront montés.

Détachez ensuite les longerons (rouge), décors de longerons (bleu) et parties inférieures de longerons (orange). Soudez les décors de longeron sur les longerons…

La superposition des pièces « longeron » et « décor de longeron » est facilitée en passant une tige de corde à piano à travers chacun des trous de marchepied. Souder du côté opposé au décor pour ne pas l’abîmer (déjà que les rivets de fixation des plaques de garde sont très peu visibles…)

… puis les longerons sur le plancher et pour terminer le plat inférieur de longeron.

Je pense qu’il vaut mieux monter les « plats inférieurs de longerons » (orange) sur les longerons (bleu et rouge) en premier. En effet, le dépôt de soudure dans l’angle des deux pièces sera facile, alors que, en situation sous le châssis, ça devient quasi impossible. Illustration (arrière-plan : solution de la notice ; devant : la mienne).

Montage des longerons de châssis

À ceci, le créateur du kit a répondu :

Rien de compliqué pour les plats inférieurs de longerons, on fait simplement filer la soudure par les mortaises, ça suffit amplement, si il y en a trop, on remet du flux et on refait filer la soudure par le bas du châssis vers le fer à souder.

J’en prends bonne note pour la prochaine fois.

Attention : il faut corriger la longueur des longerons qui est de 77,2 mm alors que l’espace intérieur entre traverses est de 76,8 mm seulement : il faut donc raccourcir les longerons de 0,4 à 0,5 mm pour que ça rentre. À noter que le montage par « tenons et mortaises » est très facile. Les ajustements sont étonnamment précis. Je n’ai presque jamais eu besoin d’en corriger.

Appareillage de frein

Sous le châssis, soudez les 4 paires de freins, puis les barres de commande (triangles) après avoir vrillé à 90° la partie centrale puis les sabots de freins.

Personnellement, j’ai préféré monter l’ensemble sur gabarit avant de le souder sur le châssis. J’ai choisi de mettre une barre de commande en rond maillechort. Non seulement c’est plus réaliste, mais ça permet de relier plus facilement les sabots de frein (la pièce plate d’origine ne rentre pas dans les petits trous prévus), et de positionner le décor des sabots.

Voici le processus :

Dans une planchette (représentée en bleu) de bois ou, mieux, d’époxy, percer deux trous ø 0,5, prof. 2 distants de 17,6 mm. Préparer une première « paire de freins », agrandir un peu si nécessaire les trous des sabots à l’équarrissoir — ou avec un foret. Préparer deux barres de maillechort ø 0,5 de 22 mm, les planter dans les trous de la planchette. Etamer les pièces. Enfiler sur les barres successivement les sabot de frein (côté demi-gravé en dessous — attention à la position de la gravure représentant l’axe d’articulation des sabots : je me suis planté une fois) puis la « paire de freins ». Plaquer les pièces et les souder. Si une semelle a tourné, il est assez facile de corriger en refaisant fondre la soudure.

Sortir l’ensemble obtenu de la planchette, le retourner, enfiler la deuxième paire de freins puis les sabots (représentés en rouge), toujours face gravée vers le socle. Replanter les barres dans la planchette.

Montage de frein, premier côté

Montage de frein, retournement

Poser un gabarit de 17,7 mm d’épaisseur (vert). Bien plaquer les pièces dessus et souder les pièces rouges.

Lorsque l’ensemble est terminé, raccourcir les bouts des barres maillechort (pince coupante puis lime) pour obtenir une longueur de 19 mm environ (presque à ras des sabots). Notez qu’avec cette façon de procéder, la soudure se fait toujours sur l’intérieur des sabots et ne risque pas d’empâter la gravure.

Montage de frein, deuxième côté

La tringlerie de commande d’origine est raccourcie pour ne garder que les triangles.

Une fois les ensembles prêts, leur montage et soudage sous le châssis ne pose aucun problème particulier. Il reste à souder les tringleries sur les nouvelles barres, puis les étriers de sécurité sur le châssis.

Voici l’aspect des freins un peu plus tard dans le montage, alors que les boîtes d’essieux et les roues ont été montées.

Vue des freins sous le châssis

Montage du cylindre et du distributeur de frein

Pour le réservoir et le cylindre, après étamage, le soudage se fait par les ouvertures laissées par le pliage des pattes.

Auparavant, j’ai soudé les leviers de transmission sur le cylindre, en ayant remplacé l’évocation plate de ressort de rappel par un filage de corde de guitare enfilé sur un rond maillechort ø 0,3.

Petit problème : soit la pièce représentant la transmission entre tringle vide/chargé et cylindre est trop longue, soit la distance entre tringle et cylindre est trop courte. Sur la photo ci-dessous, la longueur d’origine de cette pièce est figurée en rouge.

Détail du cylindre de frein

Il s’avère que c’est le cylindre qui est mal placé, comme le montre la photo, mais je n’y peux rien : l’emplacement est imposé par les pattes du châssis (invisibles ici) ; petite erreur de conception, confirmée par le montage des étriers de sécurité : on voit que les leviers de freinage (traits bleus) ne sont pas centrés sur ces étriers (traits rouges). Le cylindre devrait être de 0,5 à 1 mm plus à gauche (flèche rouge).

J’ai eu la confirmation sur le forum par Gérard Huet lui-même, qui est à l’origine de ce kit (voir message complet) :

En fait, le bon truc pour que le cylindre de frein soit à la bonne place, c’est de positionner d’abord les biellettes de commande de la triple valve sur la tringle de commande. On place ensuite le cylindre pour que la biellette tombe pile-poil sur le petit bout d’axe dépassant de la triple valve.

Personnellement, je m’en suis sorti en raccourcissant la pièce de transmission, par soudage l’un sur l’autre, en les décalant, des deux exemplaires fournis et en coupant l’excédent.

Pour les tringles de commande de frein, manettes et transmission, le dessin de la notice est peu lisible, surtout avec des pièces très petites imprimées en jaune sur fond blanc. Il peut être pratique de consulter le fichier PDF correspondant.

Montage des « butées » des plaques de garde

Le positionnement de ces butées est délicat ; j’y suis parvenu en les positionnant et en les maintenant avec du ruban adhésif, puis en les soudant avec de l’eau à souder.

Je viens de me rendre compte que le moyeu de la roue est fendu…

Butée de plaque de garde

Montage des boîtes d’essieu

Après extraction de la grappe de fonderie, il faut bien ébavurer et aplanir les pièces au niveau des supports de ressort (attention : limer avec délicatesse, car le maillechort se tord assez facilement). Ensuite, les étamer, ainsi que les longerons aux emplacements correspondants. Le maintien est fait au doigt (plus c’est rapide, moins ça brûle !). Pour faciliter une éventuelle correction, ne souder qu’un côté ; vérifier la position par rapport à la plaque de garde avant de souder l’autre côté.

Menotte de suspension

Fabrication des marchepieds

La distance intérieure entre supports étant de 10 mm, ils sont positionnés scotchés de part et d’autre d’un morceau de contreplaqué d’épaisseur 10. La marche s’insère au dessus ; son centrage est facilité par les encoches gravées sous la marche.

Marchepied

Timons à élongation

Je n’ai pas l’intention de monter ces timons à élongation, mais je dois quand même signaler qu’il y a ici aussi une petite erreur de conception qui rend le fonctionnement impossible.

Erreur de la notice

Pour corriger, il suffit de retourner le renfort (pièce en vert) haut vers bas. Inconvénient : le crochet aura son ouverture dirigée vers le châssis, rendant l’accrochage du ressort de rappel plus difficile.

Attelages

Pour le montage des attelages à vis, factices bien sûr, j’ai utilisé la même méthode que pour les freins, à savoir de planter les tiges de maillechort, qui serviront d’articulation, dans une planchette, à l’écartement exact des pièces fournies dans le kit. Pour la manille, j’ai préféré utiliser du rond de maillechort de diamètre 0,5, aplati au niveau des articulations.

Sur les huit pièces représentant les manivelles de serrage, qui doivent être soudées deux à deux pour obtenir l’épaisseur voulue, seules deux (surlignées en vert) sont gravées correctement. Deux autres (en orange) n’ont pas de demi-gravure mais sont quand même utilisables au prix d’un petit ajustement à la lime.

Mauvaise gravure de l’attelage

Pour éviter que la soudure coule dans les articulations et les bloque, il est recommandé d’intercaler entre les pièces une feuille de papier à cigarette huilée. Comme il est déjà assez difficile d’enfiler les pièces sur les tiges, je ne l’ai pas fait ; je me suis contenté d’huiler. Seule une articulation sur six a été bloquée. La boule de la manivelle a été figurée par une goutte de soudure.

Attelage à vis

Notez que les crochets sont munis d’une longue queue percée d’un petit trou : ils sont prévus pour recevoir un ressort de traction maintenu par une goupille passée dans ce trou, comme le montre l’attelage de droite. Ça, ce sera pour la beauté du geste, car je ne prévois pas d’utiliser réellement cet attelage. D’ailleurs, le ressort que j’ai utilisé serait sans doute trop raide pour un fonctionnement correct. Mais l’attelage reste ainsi amovible si l’envie me prend un jour d’installer un boîtier NEM.

Voici une photo d’un attelage réel (sur 150 X) pour se faire une meilleure idée de l’aspect qu’il doit avoir. La manivelle est différente : elle est pliante ici.

Attelage à vis réel

J’ai utilisé un tronçon de spirale de transmission
Réf. BB-5213, prix 2017 : 3,50 €
chez micro-modele
étiré pour rendre les spires non jointives.
C’est en réalité plutôt une hélice qu’une spirale…