Nord covered wagon, profile view

AMF87 Nord metallic covered wagon under construction.

I begin building a metal kit, a nickel silver one in this case. This kit is supposed to be within the reach of a beginner. OK, I’m one… The kit reference is K282. Its price (in 2017) is €130 sold alone, and €140 with the soldering initiation set, solution that I chose. I ordered at the same time the primer and the paint for the model’s decoration.

Note: given my status as a beginner, I preferred not to take pictures during making, having too much to do with it. My punishment was to draw some parts in 3D to illustrate the subject…

Discovering the kit

Kit contents

The set, delivered in a cardboard shipping envelope, consists of a 0.3 mm thick photo-etched nickel silver plate, a smaller brass plate for the end walls, another nickel-silver plate, shaped, for the roof, foundries of the same metal (buffers, brake accessories, axle boxes and suspensions), and finally a bag containing the cylindrical spindle axles, equipped with attractive spoke wheels, and their cut brass bearings. There is also a notice of a few pages in colour and two decal sheets (one per side).

As already said, the kit can for a modest supplement be delivered with the initiation set to soldering. It contains different types of tin alloys (for different melting temperatures), soldering water — which the electronic technicians would rather call soldering cream, flux, de-soldering wick and a set of metal clips for holding parts.

Obviously, before starting, it is wise to read and reread the advice of specialists, especially those of Gérard Huet, whose productions were partially resumed by AMF87 when he retired. Unfortunately, Gérard Huet’s website whose address appears on the AMF87 notice no longer presents any document. I therefore allowed myself to take back the old documents on soldering and make a PDF available here (in French). However, keep in mind that this document is several years old and that some suppliers mentioned no longer exist.

Another excellent source of information is the Loco-Revue Forum, in its part entitled The model-maker’s universe.

You’ll also have to learn how to clean the model, to paint it and to lay decals.

In short, if you are a real beginner, it will be of interest for you to practice on metal scraps before embarking on a real construction, as simple as it is supposed to be.

First impressions

Foundry parts, buffers, axle boxes, brake cylinders, seem clear at first glance. The roof is in nickel silver, already shaped. But it is taped, and the adhesive left marks difficult to erase.

I read and reread the instruction booklet; it is obviously not written for a beginner: there are a lot of details passed over in silence, considered probably obvious… for an experienced maker! It would have been a good thing if the parts were numbered on the nickel silver plate, or on a drawing of this plate. Besides, I was not able to identify some small parts.

White decals on a light blue background are always almost unreadable, which is embarrassing for choosing the desired markings. The manufacturer should make a document reproducing these decals with increased contrast, to facilitate the selection, like this (in low resolution to avoid an illegal copy).

Contents of decal sheet

Note that there is no revision date for the years 50-60, i.e. for era III. Too bad.

Also, note that beginner in kit making does not mean beginner, period! It’s necessary to have minimum knowledge in railway technique, for example how is constituted a braking system or a screw coupling…

I described this making on the Loco-Revue forum, which allowed me to get tips and tricks that I’ll make you enjoy here.

Kit mounting beginner set (8) including
the S001 box and a Nord K282 covered wagon kit
Ref. PACDEB8, 2017 price €140
at AMF87.

Cellulose Paint red No. 606, 30 ml
Ref. p114, 2017 price €5.10
at AMF87
Primer for metal, 30 ml
Ref. p511, 2017 price €5.10
at AMF87.

Couvert Nord vu de profil

Couvert Nord métallique AMF87 en cours de construction.

Je me lance dans la construction d’un « kit laiton », ou plutôt maillechort en l’occurrence. Ce kit est censé être à la portée d’un débutant. Ça tombe bien, je le suis… La référence du kit est K282. Son prix (en 2017) est de 130 € vendu seul, et de 140 € avec l’ensemble d’initiation à la soudure, solution que j’ai choisie. J’ai commandé en même temps de l’apprêt et de la peinture pour la décoration du modèle.

Une remarque : étant donné mon statut de débutant, j’ai préféré ne pas prendre de photos en cours de construction, ayant trop à faire avec celle-ci. Ma punition a été d’en reprendre une bonne partie en dessin 3D pour illustrer le propos…

Découverte du kit

Contenu du kit

L’ensemble, livré dans une enveloppe d’expédition en carton, se compose d’une plaque de maillechort photogravée de 0,3 mm d’épaisseur, d’une autre plaque plus petite en laiton cette fois pour les dossiers, d’une autre plaque encore en maillechort mise en forme pour le toit, de fonderies du même métal (tampons, accessoires de frein, boîtes et suspensions d’essieux), et enfin d’un sachet contenant les essieux à fusées cylindriques, munis de jolies roues à rayons, et leurs paliers en laiton décolleté. Il y a aussi une notice de quelques pages en couleurs et deux feuilles de décalcomanies (une par face).

Comme déjà dit, le kit peut pour un supplément modeste être livré avec l’ensemble d’initiation à la soudure. Celui-ci contient différents types d'alliages d’étain (pour différentes températures de fusion), de l’eau à souder — les électroniciens diraient plutôt de la crème à souder, du flux, de la tresse à dessouder et un jeu de pinces métalliques pour le maintien des pièces.

Évidemment, avant de se lancer, il est prudent de lire et de relire les conseils des spécialistes, et en particulier ceux de Gérard Huet, dont AMF87 a d’ailleurs repris en partie les productions lorsqu’il a pris sa retraite. Malheureusement, le site de Gérard Huet dont l’adresse figure sur la notice AMF87 ne présente plus aucun document. Je me suis donc permis de reprendre les anciens documents sur la soudure et d’en faire un PDF disponible ici. Tenez compte cependant que ce document date de plusieurs années et que certains fournisseurs cités n’existent plus.

Une autre excellente source d’informations est le Forum Loco-Revue, dans sa partie intitulée L’univers du modéliste-constructeur.

Il faut aussi se documenter sur le nettoyage du modèle, sa peinture et la façon de poser les décalcomanies.

Bref, si vous êtes un vrai débutant, vous aurez intérêt à vous exercer sur des chutes de métal avant de vous lancer dans une véritable construction, aussi « simple » soit-elle.

Premières impressions

Les pièces en fonderie, tampons, boîtes d’essieux, cylindres de frein, semblent nettes à première vue. Le toit est en maillechort, déjà mis en forme. Mais il est scotché, et l’adhésif a laissé des traces difficiles à effacer.

La notice, que j’ai lue et relue, n’a manifestement pas été rédigée pour un débutant : il y a pas mal de détails passés sous silence, considérés sans doute comme évidents… pour un monteur expérimenté ! Il aurait été bon que les pièces soient numérotées sur la plaque de maillechort, ou sur un dessin de cette plaque. D’ailleurs, je n’ai pas été capable d’identifier certaines petites pièces.

Les décalcomanies blanches sur fond bleu clair sont comme toujours quasi illisibles, et c’est gênant pour choisir les marquages voulus. Le fabricant devrait faire un document reproduisant ces décals avec un contraste augmenté, de façon à faciliter la sélection, comme ceci (en faible résolution pour éviter une copie illicite).

Contenu de la planche de décalcomanies

Notez qu’il n’y a aucune date de révision pour les années 50-60, autrement dit pour l’époque III. Dommage.

Notez aussi que débutant en montage de kit ne signifie pas débutant tout court ! Il faut s’y connaître un minimum en technique ferroviaire, par exemple savoir comment est constitué un système de freinage ou un attelage à vis…

J’ai décrit ce montage sur le forum Loco-Revue, ce qui m’a permis d’obtenir des conseils et des astuces dont je vous ferai profiter ici.

Pack débutant montage de kit (8) comprenant
le coffret S001 et un kit de wagon couvert Nord K282
Réf. PACDEB8, prix 2017 140 €
chez AMF87

Peinture cellulosique rouge UIC no 606, 30 ml
Réf. p114, prix 2017 5,10 €
chez AMF87
Primer pour métal, 30 ml
Réf. p511, prix 2017 5,10 €
chez AMF87.