Electrical connections

The toilet can already be glued again on the fitting, which in turn is snapped again onto the frame, taking care to pass the wires of the bogies through the provided holes.

Preparation of the control circuit

Four about 50 mm long wires must be connected to the control circuit: one red and one black corresponding to the rails, and marked ~ (tilde) on the diagram (the order is indifferent), a blue one for the positive common (+), and a green one (or other color) for the lighting (−) control. As I have already pointed out many times, I use a bistable reed switch for this control. But as I adjust a light intensity rather low — more realistic for my taste — it is possible to dispense with it and leave the car permanently lit: this will be almost invisible in broad daylight. In this case, it will be enough to bridge the reed pads. See the PDF document: the reed is marked PCM-1424THX.

Installation of the control circuit

I fix the control circuit with a thin double-sided adhesive. It does not last very long, but no matter: the important thing is that it does not move during the soldering of the wires.

There are six wires in all. The wires of the same color, red or black, will be connected together on the lighting strip. On the other end, only the two wires coming from the bogies are present.

Passing of the wiresInstallation of the control circuit

Note the walls covered with black electrician tape to prevent light leakage. Note: this is not the same car; this one is in C1 livery.

Reassembling the body

Begin by presenting the body on the chassis, passing the wires through the openings located just above the toilets. Then turn the assembly upside down into a holder (the original box is very suitable). Place two cardboard or plastic cards between the box and the chassis as in the beginning, and position the chassis longitudinally (locating the right position with respect to the pads and beads). Once the correct position is found, the chassis falls almost by itself into the body.

And it is at this precise moment that, manipulating the whole, you hear the characteristic noise of a part walking inside. Don’t search: it’s a compartment shelf that has come loose. You then have the choice between dismantle again to put the part back (and glue all of them with Kristal Klear), or let it walk quietly, or try to get it back by a hole in the roof (I did it!), waiting for a more serious opportunity to reopen the car.

Connections of the lighting strip

The most practical method is to stick the strip temporarily upside down, i. e. copper up, on the roof, with Patafix. Care must then be taken when soldering the wires.

Before returning the strip to the correct direction, make a lighting test. Car placed on a piece of track, a voltage of about 10 V is supplied, with current limitation set to a minimum. Personally, I was lucky to do this: there was a short due to a solder burr in the control circuit. Assessment: desoldering, dismantling of the body, repair, re-soldering.

Connections of the lighting strip

When all is right, the strip is returned to the correct position. Four small Patafix pellets are distributed, and the strip is pressed on, checking that the LEDs are placed into their respective holes. A last lighting test, and the final operation is to close the roof.

Conclusion

I think this is the first time I’ve found a car so easy to disassemble, with no particularly fragile parts or cables that could get stuck on reassembly. The mechanical design is therefore excellent. You only should keep an eye on the small shelves of the compartments, too little glued or not glued at all.

About lighting, it would of course be better to use the existing brass bearings for the current pickup. With the strips, running resistance is rather important. But, in any case for my era, one can never find a large number of this type of cars in a train. Therefore it is not a crippling defect.

To conclude, here is a “nocturnal” (day for night) view of my enlightened VSE.

Voitures VSE éclairées

Although the selected LEDs have a not too warm color temperature (3500 K), the resulting atmosphere is quite yellowish because of the tinted windows.

Raccordements électriques

On peut dès maintenant recoller les toilettes sur l’aménagement, puis reclipser celui-ci sur le châssis, en prenant soin de faire passer les fils des bogies par le trou prévu.

Préparation du circuit de commande

Il faut raccorder quatre fils de 50 mm environ au circuit de commande : un rouge et un noir correspondant aux rails et marqués ~ (tilde) sur le plan (l’ordre est indifférent), un bleu pour le commun positif (+), et un vert (ou autre couleur) pour la commande d’allumage (−). Comme je l’ai déjà signalé à de nombreuses reprises, j’utilise pour cette commande un interrupteur à lame souple (ILS) bistable. Mais, comme je règle une intensité lumineuse assez faible — plus réaliste à mon goût — il est possible de s’en passer et de laisser la voiture éclairée en permanence : ce sera quasi invisible en plein jour. Dans ce cas, il suffira de ponter les pastilles de l’ILS. Voir le document PDF : l’ILS est repéré PCM-1424THX.

Montage du circuit de commande

Je fixe le circuit de commande avec un adhésif double-face mince. Cela ne tient pas bien longtemps, mais c’est sans importance : l’essentiel est qu’il ne bouge pas durant le soudage des fils.

On distingue six fils en tout. Les fils de même couleur, rouge ou noire, seront raccordés ensemble sur la réglette d’éclairage. De l’autre côté, on trouve seulement les deux fils venant des bogies.

Passage des filsMontage du circuit de commande

Remarquez les parois recouvertes de scotch d’électricien noir pour éviter les fuites de lumière. NB : il ne s’agit pas ici de la même voiture ; celle-ci est en livrée C1.

Remontage de la caisse

Commencer par présenter la caisse sur le châssis, en faisant passer les fils par les ouvertures situées juste au dessus des toilettes. Puis retourner l’ensemble dans un support (la boîte d’origine convient très bien). Placer comme au début deux cartes carton ou plastique entre caisse et châssis, et positionner le châssis longitudinalement (se repérer par rapport aux tampons et aux bourrelets). Une fois la position correcte trouvée, le châssis tombe presque tout seul dans la caisse.

Et c’est à ce moment précis que, en manipulant l’ensemble, vous entendez le bruit caractéristique d’une pièce qui se balade à l’intérieur. Ne cherchez pas : c’est une tablette de compartiment qui s’est détachée. Vous avez alors le choix entre redémonter pour replacer la pièce (et toutes les coller à la Kristal Klear), ou la laisser se promener tranquillement, ou encore tenter de la récupérer par un trou de la toiture (je l’ai fait !) en attendant une occasion plus sérieuse de rouvrir la voiture.

Raccordement de la réglette

La méthode la plus pratique est de coller la réglette provisoirement à l’envers, c.-à-d. cuivre vers le haut, sur la toiture, avec de la Patafix. On procède alors prudemment au soudage des fils.

Avant de remettre la réglette dans le bon sens, faire un test d’allumage. Voiture posée sur un coupon de voie, on alimente en 10 V environ, avec une limitation de courant réglée au minimum. Personnellement, bien m’en a pris : il y avait un court-circuit dû à une bavure de soudure dans le circuit de commande. Bilan : dessoudage, démontage de la caisse, réparation, re-soudage.

Raccordement de la réglette

Lorsque tout va bien, la réglette est retournée en position correcte. On répartit quatre petites boulettes de Patafix, et on presse la réglette dessus, en vérifiant que les LED se placent bien dans leurs trous respectifs. Un dernier test d’allumage, et il n’y a plus qu’à refermer le toit.

Conclusion

Je crois que c’est la première fois que je trouve une voiture aussi facile à démonter, sans pièce particulièrement fragile ni câblot risquant de se coincer au remontage. La conception mécanique est donc excellente. Seules les petites tablettes des compartiments, trop peu ou pas collées, sont à surveiller.

Concernant l’éclairage, le mieux serait évidemment d’utiliser les paliers en laiton pour la prise de courant. Avec les lamelles, la résistance à l’avancement est assez importante. Mais, en tout cas pour mon époque, on ne trouve jamais ce type de voiture en grand nombre dans une rame. Ce n’est donc pas un défaut rédhibitoire.

Pour terminer, voici une vue « nocturne » de mes VSE éclairées.

Voitures VSE éclairées

Bien que les LED choisies aient une température de couleur pas trop chaude (3500 K), l’ambiance obtenue est assez jaunâtre à cause des vitres teintées.