Intervention on the body

As I said earlier, the spacing of LED housings on the false roof does not match that of the compartments which is precisely 26.75 mm. Hence, how are these illuminated? It is theoretically thanks to a translucent diffuser equipped with a multitude of small lenses, glued under the false roof.

I did not have an a priori about this system. So I made a strip respecting the pitch of the roof. Is it because of the LEDs different than those provided by LSM? Still, the lighting was particularly poor, and very badly distributed. So I decided to make a more classic lighting respecting the pitch of the compartments. But this necessitated, on the one hand, to suppress the diffuser, which I obtained by swinging it from left to right with the aid of a flat pliers to break its fixing pins one after the other, and, on the other hand, to drill holes into the roof, at the compartments pitch.

Rather than a drill, I prefered using a Ø 6 mill bit (the minimum drilling diameter for PLCC LEDs is 4.5). In my opinion, the milling gives a neater cut. The body is fixed into the vice of the milling machine, with a 10 mm thick, 30 mm wide plywood shim inside, and protected externally by a non-woven wiper folded to form a thick enough mattress — there is no significant relief likely to be damaged. There is no need to tighten the vice excessively, the machining forces being only perpendicular. On the diagram, the origin (the zero) is the middle of the car. For the dimensions to be respected, see the PDF document.

In addition to these drillings, the various reliefs of the false roof must be leveled too.

Drilling of the body

In front of the drilled body (arrows), the lighting strip and, in the foreground, the suppressed light diffuser. Hover the picture to see more details.

Intervention sur la caisse

Comme je l’ai dit précédemment, l’espacement des logements de LED sur la fausse toiture ne correspond pas à celui des compartiments qui est de 26,75 mm précisément. Dès lors, comment sont éclairés ces derniers ? C’est théoriquement grâce à un diffuseur translucide muni d’une multitude de petites lentilles, collé sous la fausse toiture.

Je n’avais pas d’a priori sur ce système. J’ai donc fabriqué une réglette respectant le pas de la toiture. Est-ce à cause des LED différentes de celles prévues par LSM ? Toujours est-il que l’éclairage était particulièrement indigent, et très mal réparti. J’ai donc décidé de refaire un éclairage plus classique respectant le pas des compartiments. Mais cela nécessitait d’une part la suppression du diffuseur, que j’ai obtenue en le balançant de gauche à droite à l’aide d’une pince plate pour casser ses tenons de fixation l’un après l’autre, et d’autre part le perçage de trous sur la toiture, au pas des compartiments.

Plutôt qu’un foret, j’ai préféré utiliser une fraise Ø 6 (le diamètre de perçage minimum pour les LED PLCC étant de 4,5). Selon moi, la fraise donne une coupe plus franche. La caisse est fixée dans l’étau de la fraiseuse, avec à l’intérieur une cale d’épaisseur en contreplaqué ép. 10, largeur 30 mm, et protégée à l’extérieur par une lingette non tissée repliée pour former un matelas suffisamment épais — il n’y a pas de relief important risquant d’être endommagé. Inutile de serrer l’étau exagérément, les efforts d’usinage n’étant que perpendiculaires. Sur le plan, l’origine (le zéro) est le milieu de la voiture. Pour les cotes à respecter, voir le document PDF.

Outre ces perçages, il faut aussi araser les différents reliefs de la fausse toiture.

Perçage de la caisse

Devant la caisse percée (flèches), la réglette d’éclairage et, au premier plan, le diffuseur de lumière supprimé. Survolez l’image pour voir plus de détails.