Equipment of bogies

Installation of current pickups

Current pickup strips can be found in the spare parts bag. They are provided for rubbing on the inner side of the wheels. But as they fall into the crook of the flank, they must be bent at least 1 mm, otherwise they do not make contact.

As wires will have to be soldered, I recommend to pre-tin the strips, to the inside, i. e. side opposite the bending. Do not put too thick a layer of tin, otherwise you will not be able to install the strips into their housing.

The strips are slided under the bogie, after removing the brake equipment, into a slot provided for this purpose. The small tongue protrudes about 2 mm above the bogie frame.

Reassembling the brake equipment will then be sufficient for the strips to be held in position.

Installation od wires

Prepare two flexible wires as thin as possible, 80 mm long. Personally, I use 0.5 mm wire sold by ESU. I try as much as possible to respect the NMRA colour conventions, so here: red wire for the right rail and black wire for the left (with direction of movement end #1 forward). Needless to say that the wires of bogie #2 must be reversed! These wires are stripped — very little: 2 mm are enough — and tinned.

The soldering must be done quickly, the wires being horizontal so as not to rub under the frame, and going towards the front — see photo below. Be careful not to damage the bosses that are used for 2-point suspension, and which are very close to the tongues.

Reassembling the bogies

There is no intervention to be made on the chassis: the bogies may then be reassembled by passing the wires through the T-shaped opening near the hooking of the drawbar spring.

The picture shows the bogie #2 already assembled, and #1 waiting.

Connections on bogies

Note the groove in the chassis going from the T-shaped opening to the other end, passing under the ballast. Its utility is not clear to me, for it can contain only one wire, and therefore cannot be used to connect the two polarities of the bogies.

Ø 0.5 mm electrical wire
3.59 € per 10 m — price 2015
ref. ESU 519xx at ModellbahnShop-Lippe

Équipement des bogies

Pose des lamelles

Les lamelles de prise de courant sont dans le sachet de pièces détachées. Elles sont prévues pour frotter sur le flanc intérieur des roues. Mais comme elles tombent dans le creux de ce flanc, il faut les cambrer d’au moins 1 mm, sinon elles ne font pas contact.

Comme il faudra souder des fils, je recommande de pré-étamer les languettes, côté intérieur, c.-à-d. côté opposé à la cambrure. Ne pas mettre une épaisseur trop forte d’étain, sous peine de ne pas pouvoir installer les lamelles dans leur logement.

Les lamelles se glissent par dessous le bogie, après avoir enlevé l’équipement de frein, dans une fente prévue à cet effet. La petite languette dépasse d’environ 2 mm au dessus du châssis de bogie.

Il suffit ensuite de remonter l’équipement de frein pour que les lamelles soient maintenues en position.

Pose des fils

Préparer deux fils souples les plus fins possible, de 80 mm de long. Personnellement, j’utilise le fil de 0,5 mm vendu par ESU. J’essaie autant que faire se peut de respecter les conventions de couleur NMRA, donc ici : fil rouge pour le rail droit et fil noir pour le gauche (avec sens de circulation extrémité 1 en avant). Il va de soi que les fils du bogie no 2 doivent être inversés ! Ces fils sont dénudés — très peu : 2 mm suffisent — et étamés.

La soudure doit se faire rapidement, les fils étant horizontaux pour ne pas frotter sous le châssis, et partant vers l’avant — voir la photo ci-dessous. Attention de ne pas détériorer les bossages qui servent à la portée en deux points, et qui sont très proches des languettes.

Remontage des bogies

Il n’y a aucune intervention à faire sur le châssis : on peut donc tout de suite remonter les bogies, en faisant passer les fils dans l’ouverture en T à proximité de l’accrochage du ressort de timon.

La photo montre le bogie no 2 déjà remonté, et le no 1 en attente.

Connexions sur bogies

Remarquez la rainure dans le châssis, qui part de l’ouverture en T puis qui se dirige vers l’autre extrémité en passant sous le lest. Son utilité m’échappe un peu, car elle ne peut contenir qu’un seul fil, et ne peut donc servir à relier les deux polarités des bogies.

Fil électrique Ø extérieur 0,5 mm
3,59 € les 10 m — prix 2015
réf. ESU 519xx chez ModellbahnShop-Lippe