Electrical wiring

This page deals with the interior lighting wiring common to all cars. A special page will be devoted to the driver car (decoder and lanterns).

Lighting strips

There are four different types of strip: a short and a long “normal”, and a short and a long one for the driver car. Here I am only talking about the first two, but the others are very similar.

The short strip is intended for the lower level and will be stuck under the higher level fitting. The long one is for the higher level and can be stuck either directly under the roof or on spacers fixed to the chassis, each solution having its pros and cons.

For all my lighting strips, I use 0.8 mm thick epoxy, that of 1.6 being much too thick.

For LEDs, I chose 1206 size SMD LEDs, “pretty” warm white (3500 K); to me, the cold white is never usable for railway equipment, even modern (its colour temperature is very much superior to the so-called “daylight” fluorescent tubes, which are currently the most common). The ideal is 2700 K to simulate the incandescence and 3500 K for the fluorescence.

LED 1206

As already mentioned above, the lower level light strip must be as thin as possible due to the low ceiling height. Here is a diagram showing its constitution.

And here is a picture showing three aspects of this strip, front to back:

  • The bare circuit showing the holes under the LEDs (this circuit is not that of the VB2N);
  • The mounted circuit seen component side;
  • The mounted circuit seen opposite side, covered with a plastic sheet that serves both as embellisher and light diffuser (not essential).

Sectional view of the strip

Lighting strips

PCBs

Here you will find all printed circuits as a PDF document.

Note : depending on the fixing method, the longer strip may be a problem in the BD car (mixed 2nd class/luggage, the one coupled to the machine), whose roof is leaning at one end. It may be necessary to bend or even break the strip to follow the inclined plane, while maintaining the electrical connections. Personally, I did a cross saw, not copper side of course, to facilitate bending.

Wiring the lower level strip

I solder two very thin wires (2) (not insulated, extracted from flexible cables) on the provided pads. This must of course be done before gluing the strip (1) to the fitting. These wires are soldered onto self-adhesive copper tapes (3) more discrete than wires and possibly painted, stuck to the end walls.

Connection of lower level strip

Wiring the upper level strip

Four wires will lead to this strip: two soldered to the ends of the ø 0.5 mm holding bars, which are connected to the connecting wires which pass along the chassis, and two others which will feed the lower strip, thanks to the copper tapes as seen above.

Connection of upper level strip

In this picture, we clearly distinguish the two red wires (positive polarity), and less clearly one of the two black wires. The second one is at the other end of the car, soldered to the other holding bar.

You can notice that I chose the option to fix the strip on the chassis and not under the roof. Thus, all the wiring is fixed to the chassis and no wire is likely to be torn off when the body is lifted. On the other hand, this requires a slight adjustment of the spacers height. In the picture, it is too high and has been modified later. A value of 8 mm should be suitable in all cases, except once again in cars with a leant roof. Note that this spacer is glued close to a wall, to avoid bending the transparent plate.

Wiring of the conductive couplers

I have experimented rigid connectors made with printed circuit board. It is very long to make, unless you have a digital control machining table! In addition to the ridiculous cost price, the only advantage over commercial electric couplers (Viessmann in particular) is that I was able to reduce the distance between NEM boxes from 15 to 14 mm without any problem of derailment, even on very tight curves. That said, the wiring is the same. A page is being prepared to describe these connectors.

So the wires of the couplers, shortened if necessary (a length of 40 mm is sufficient), are passed through the wire guide. They are then soldered to the rigid wires of the chassis and, if necessary, to the tinned end of the holding bar. The soldering must be done into the “bean” so as not to protrude too much under the chassis. Be careful not to melt the plastic! The bar in excess can then be cut off.

Connection of coupler

Working test

Before reassembling the body, it is prudent to do a test. I do it initially with direct current, with a variable laboratory power supply. I set the current limit to a low value (eg 20 mA, the actual current should not exceed 13 mA). Then I connect the circuit, and I raise the voltage from 8 V. The strips light up from 9 V. The maximum voltage is around 14 V.

Electrical test

Note: the decoder used is a Lenz LF101XF, whose maximum current per output is 200 mA. Even taking into account cab lighting and lanterns, you could feed a good fifteen cars! There will be no difficulty in illuminating the six to eight cars that constitute a real train set.

To be continued (driver car)…

100 LEDs 1206 3500 K, 520 mcd
13.50 € per 100, price 2015
at LED-Megashop (Electron Discount).

Copper tape
5 mm x 30 m self adhesive,
3.57 € — price 2015
at amazon.fr.

Pair of conductive couplers
ref. 5048 - 11.26€ — price 2015
at modellbahnshop-lippe.

Câblage électrique

Cette page concerne le câblage commun à toutes les voitures, celui de l’éclairage intérieur. Une page spéciale sera consacrée à la voiture pilote (décodeur et fanaux).

Réglettes d’éclairage

Il y a quatre types différents de réglettes : une courte et une longue « normales », et une courte et une longue pour la voiture pilote. Ici, je ne parle que des deux premières, mais les autres sont très semblables.

La courte est destinée au niveau bas et viendra se coller sous l’aménagement du niveau haut. La longue est pour le niveau haut et se colle soit directement sous le pavillon, soit sur des entretoises fixées au châssis, chaque solution ayant ses avantages et ses inconvénients.

Pour toutes mes réglettes, j’utilise de l’époxy ép. 0,8, celui de 1,6 étant beaucoup trop épais.

Pour les LED, j’ai choisi des LED CMS format 1206, blanc « assez » chaud (3500 K), le blanc froid n’étant à mon avis jamais utilisable pour du matériel de chemin de fer, même moderne (sa température de couleur est très supérieure à celle des tubes fluorescents dits « lumière du jour », qui sont les plus courants actuellement). L’idéal est 2700 K pour simuler l’incandescence et 3500 K pour la fluorescence.

LED 1206

Comme déjà dit plus haut, la réglette d’éclairage du niveau bas, la courte, doit être la plus mince possible à cause de la faible hauteur sous plafond. Voici un schéma montrant sa constitution.

Et voici une photo montrant trois aspects de cette réglette, d’avant en arrière :

  • Le circuit nu montrant les perçages au niveau des LED (ce circuit n’est pas celui des VB2N) ;
  • Le circuit monté vu côté composants ;
  • Le circuit monté vu le l’autre côté, recouvert d’une carte plastique qui fait à la fois office d’enjoliveur et de diffu­seur de lumière (pas indispensable).

LED 1206

Réglettes d’éclairage

Circuits imprimés

Vous trouverez ici tous les circuits imprimés sous forme de document PDF.

Note : suivant le mode de fixation, la réglette longue peut poser problème dans la voiture BD (celle qui est attelée à la machine), dont le toit est incliné à une extrémité. Il faudra peut-être plier ou même casser la réglette pour suivre le plan incliné, tout en maintenant les liaisons électriques. Personnellement, j’ai fait un trait de scie en travers, côté non cuivré bien sûr, pour faciliter le pliage.

Câblage de la réglette niveau bas

Je soude deux fils (2) très fins (non isolés, extraits de câbles souples) sur les pastilles prévues. Ceci doit être bien sûr fait avant de coller la réglette (1) sur l’aménagement. Ces fils sont soudés sur des rubans de cuivre autocollants (3) plus discrets que des fils et qu’il est possible de peindre, collés sur les parois de bout.

Connexion réglette basse

Câblage de la réglette niveau haut

Quatre fils vont aboutir sur cette réglette : deux soudés sur les extrémités des barres de maintien ø 0,5, elles-mêmes raccordées aux fils de liaison qui passent le long du châssis, et deux autres qui vont alimenter la réglette basse, par l’intermédiaire des rubans de cuivre vus ci-dessus.

Connexion réglette haute

Sur cette photo, on distingue bien les deux fils rouges (polarité positive), et moins bien un des deux fils noirs. Le deuxième se trouve à l’autre extrémité de la voiture, soudé sur l’autre barre de maintien.

Vous pouvez constater que j’ai choisi l’option de fixer la réglette sur le châssis et non sous le toit. Ainsi, tout le câblage est solidaire du châssis et aucun fil ne risque d’être arraché lorsqu’on lève la caisse. En revanche, cela nécessite un réglage peu évident de la hauteur des entretoises. Sur la photo, elle est trop importante et a été modifiée ensuite. Une valeur de 8 mm devrait convenir dans tous les cas, sauf encore une fois dans les voitures dont le toit est incliné. Remarquez que cette entretoise est collée au niveau d’une cloison, pour éviter de faire fléchir la plaque transparente.

Câblage des attelages conducteurs

J’ai expérimenté des barrettes d’attelage rigides faites en circuit imprimé. C’est très long à fabriquer, à moins d’avoir une table d’usinage à commande numérique ! Outre le prix de revient dérisoire, le seul avantage par rapport aux attelages électriques du commerce (Viessmann en particulier) est que j’ai pu réduire la distance entre boîtiers NEM de 15 à 14 mm, permettant ainsi la marche à bourrelets vraiment joints, ceci sans aucun problème de déraillement, même sur les courbes très serrées. Cela dit, le câblage est le même. Une page est en préparation pour décrire ces barrettes.

Donc les fils des attelages, raccourcis au besoin (une longueur de 40 mm est suffisante), sont passés dans le guide-fils. Ils sont alors soudés sur les fils rigides du châssis, et, le cas échéant, sur la queue étamée de la barre de maintien. La soudure doit se faire dans le haricot pour ne pas trop faire saillie sous le châssis. Attention donc à ne pas faire fondre le plastique ! L’excédent de la barre peut alors être coupé.

Connexion attelage

Test du fonctionnement

Avant de remonter la caisse, il est prudent de faire un essai. Je le fais dans un premier temps en courant continu, avec une alimentation variable de laboratoire. Je règle la limitation de courant à une valeur faible (p. ex. 20 mA, le courant normal ne devant pas dépasser 13 mA). Puis je raccorde le circuit, et je monte la tension à partir de 8 V. Les réglettes s’allument vers 9 V. La tension maximale est autour de 14 V.

Test électrique

Remarque : le décodeur utilisé est un Lenz LF101XF, dont le courant maximal par sortie est de 200 mA. Même en tenant compte de l’éclairage cabine et des fanaux, on pourrait alimenter une bonne quinzaine de voitures ! Il n’y aura donc aucune difficulté à éclairer les six à huit voitures qui constituent une rame réelle.

À suivre (voiture pilote)…

100 leds 1206 3500 K, 520 mcd
13,50 € les 100, prix 2015
chez LED-Megashop (Electron Discount).

Ruban feuille de cuivre
5 mm x 30 m adhésif,
3,57 € — prix 2015
sur amazon.fr.

Paire d’attelages conducteurs
réf. 5048 - 11,26€ — prix 2015
chez modellbahnshop-lippe.