Intervention on interior fittings

The seats are raw from unmoulding. So they must be deburred. This is not so easy, because some are very well glued, and others not enough. The fixing pins are fragile. And some seats are crooked.

In my mixed 1st/2nd class car, the compartments were inverted (five seats in front in 1st class and four in 2nd). It was not possible to simply return the fitting, which is keyed. I had to unglue and reattach the rows, without being able to avoid breaking the fixing pins.

Intervention on lower level fittings

Preparing the platforms

The main purpose is to hide the horrible bean shaped holes, which are hardly justifiable on the driver car, and not at all on the others.

Begin by trimming the platform floor with a mill bit or a cutter. It does not matter if the surface finish is not very good. Prepare two 24 × 28 mm rectangles into 0.25 mm thick plastic sheet (diagram below), paint them in gray (the original floor is brown, but it seems to me that the platform floor is almost black in reality). Glue these floor coverings to the platforms (model glue applied from below).

Supporting parts for holding bars

Prepare two rectangles of transparent polystyrene (CD case for example), 42 × 26 mm. Why transparent parts? Because they should not mask the light from the LEDs above.

These parts as well as the platform floor must be drilled to receive the holding bars, as shown below. If you have many cars, a drilling template will be very useful.

Platform diagram

There are two different drilling diameters: 0.4 mm for the bars near the doors, and 0.5 mm for the central bar. The ø 0.5 drilling (5) must be 0.5 mm from the bogie pivot axis (6), which is formed under the arrangement by a cylindrical blind hole.

One last thing must be done for giving a path to the central holding bars: grooves (7) of approximately 0.6 mm depth starting from the axes of the previously drilled ø 0.5 mm holes, perpendicular to the axis of the car, and arriving into the “bean” holes. One to the right of the car, the other to the left.

Drilling for holding bars

In the photo, the center bar is already installed. It has a particular shape, in Z, because it is not used only as a decoration…

Intervention on upper level fittings

To facilitate the wiring of the lighting, I chose to glue the two levels together. The top fitting will no longer be snapped into the panes. So the clips must be leveled.

For the lower level lighting strip, given the small available space, it must be as thin as possible. So I decided to put LED through (see below). The components will protrude from the opposite side of the circuit, which will be sticked to the ceiling. We must make a groove in the ceiling to accommodate these components. Difficulty: this ceiling is far from perfectly straight, and there is a risk that the mill bit will pass through, the thickness of the part being only 1.2 mm. So I practiced an individual housing for each component, re-doing the vertical origin of the milling every time. The grooves will have a length of 3 mm and a depth of 0.8. It is obvious that a single groove going from one end to the other would be much faster to do, but also more risky…

Similarly, the electrical connection of the strip without extra thickness requires grooves at one end, as indicated in the drawing.

Passing through LED strip

The visible part of the LED, with the green triangle, is its base. The translucent part is embedded in a hole drilled into the epoxy support, through which the light passes.

Grooves under fittings

Milling diagram

Intervention sur les aménagements

Les sièges sont bruts de démoulage ; il faut donc les ébavurer. Ce n’est pas si simple, parce que certains sont très bien collés, et d’autres pas assez. Les pions sont fragiles. Et quelques sièges sont de travers.

Dans ma voiture mixte 1re / 2e classe, les compartiments étaient inversés (cinq sièges de front en 1re et quatre en 2e). Il n’était pas possible de simplement retourner l’aménagement, qui est détrompé. Il m’a fallu décoller et recoller les rangées, sans pouvoir éviter de casser les pions de fixation.

Intervention sur les aménagements du niveau bas

Préparation des plateformes

Le but principal est de masquer les horribles trous en forme de haricots, qui sont à peine justifiables sur la voiture pilote, et pas du tout sur les autres.

Commencer par araser le sol des plateformes à la fraise ou au cutter. Peu importe si l’état de surface n’est pas très bon. Préparer deux rectangles de 24 × 28 mm (plan ci-dessous) en carte plastique d’épaisseur 0,25, les peindre en gris (le sol d’origine est brun, mais il me semble que celui des plateformes est presque noir en réalité). Coller ces revêtements de sol sur les plateformes (colle à maquette appliquée par dessous).

Pièces supports des barres de maintien

Préparer deux rectangles de polystyrène transparent (boîtier de CD par exemple), de 42 × 26 mm. Pourquoi des pièces transparentes ? Parce qu’elles ne devront pas masquer la lumière provenant des LED situées au dessus.

Ces pièces ainsi que le sol des plateformes doivent être percés pour recevoir les barres de maintien, selon dessin ci-dessous. Si vous avez de nombreuses voitures, un gabarit de perçage sera fort utile.

Plan plateforme

Il y a deux diamètres de perçage différents : 0,4 pour les barres près des portes, et 0,5 pour la barre centrale. Le perçage ø 0,5 (5) doit se situer à 0,5 mm de l’axe de pivotement de bogie (6), qui est matérialisé sous l’aménagement par une dépression cylindrique.

Il reste une dernière chose à faire pour le passage des barres de maintien centrales : des rainures (7) de profondeur 0,6 mm environ partant des axes des perçages ø 0,5 pratiqués précédemment, perpendiculaires à l’axe de la voiture, et arrivant dans les trous en « haricot ». L’une vers la droite de la voiture, l’autre vers la gauche.

Perçages pour barres de maintien

Sur la photo, la barre centrale est déjà installée. Celle-ci a une forme particulière, en Z, car elle ne sert pas que de décoration…

Intervention sur les aménagements du niveau haut

Pour faciliter le câblage de l’éclairage, j’ai choisi de rendre solidaires les deux niveaux. L’aménagement haut ne pourra plus être encliqueté dans les vitrages. Il faut donc araser les tenons de clipsage sur vitrages.

Concernant la réglette d’éclairage du niveau bas, étant donné le faible espace disponible, il faut qu’elle soit la plus mince possible. J’ai donc décidé de mettre des LED traversantes (voir plus loin). Les composants vont faire saillie du côté opposé du circuit, celui qui sera collé au plafond. Il faut faire une rainure dans le plafond pour loger ces composants. Difficulté : ce plafond est loin d’être parfaitement rectiligne, et il y a un risque que la fraise passe à travers, l’épaisseur de la pièce n’étant que de 1,2 mm. J’ai donc pratiqué un logement pour chaque composant, en refaisant l’origine verticale du fraisage à chaque fois. Les rainures auront une longueur de 3 mm et une profondeur de 0,8. Il est clair qu’une seule rainure allant d’un bout à l’autre serait beaucoup plus rapide à faire, mais aussi plus risquée…

De même, le raccordement électrique de la réglette sans surépaisseur nécessite des rainures à une extrémité, comme indiqué sur le dessin.

Réglette à LED traversantes

La partie visible de la LED, avec le triangle vert, est son socle. La partie translucide s’encastre dans un trou percé dans le support en époxy, par lequel passe la lumière.

Rainures sous aménagement

Plan fraisage