Dismantling

When possible, it is better to remove the buffers by pushing them from the back. Caution: some spring buffer plates tend to escape. Remove the bogies (just pull).

To separate the chassis from the body, do not start by separating the sidewalls as indicated in the Vitrains instructions: this is the best way to break the small lugs that hold the body on the chassis and prevent it from splaying. It is preferable to first lift one end of the chassis by levering between it and the body with a small screwdriver and then to move towards the other end, moving away as little as possible the body sides.

Do the same to remove the interior fittings, whose side clips are small and fragile. The upper stage fitting is snaped into the panes, so just spread the sides of the body in order to disengage it.

Intervention on body

Window panes

Check the gluing of the windows (sometimes too much, sometimes too little glued), especially the small end windows. Personally, I re-glued the latter with liquid model glue that penetrates very quickly (beware of overflows!), while holding them well pressed with small spring clamps.

Note: in reality, the clamp is placed on the window, with a waxed paper between the clamp and the body to avoid their gluing in case of overflow. But that would not prevent the degradation of the paint! The glue is introduced with a brush at the top of the pane because it is missing there at the origin.

Gluing the panes

Under the roof

Break and/or trim the interior reliefs of the roof, in the axis of the car, which would hinder the installation of a light strip.

Démontage

Lorsque c’est possible, il vaut mieux enlever les tampons en les poussant par l’arrière. Attention : certains plateaux à ressort ont tendance à s’échapper. Enlever les bogies (il suffit de tirer).

Pour séparer le châssis de la caisse, ne pas commencer par écarter les flancs comme indiqué dans la notice Vitrains : c’est le meilleur moyen de casser les petits ergots qui accrochent la caisse sur le châssis et l’empêchent de bâiller. Il est préférable de commencer par soulever une extrémité du châssis en faisant levier entre celui-ci et la caisse avec un petit tournevis, puis de progresser vers l’autre extrémité en écartant le moins possible les flancs de la caisse.

Procéder de même pour enlever l’aménagement intérieur, dont les clips latéraux sont petits et fragiles. L’aménagement de l’étage supérieur est clipsé dans les vitrages, et il suffit d’écarter les flancs de caisse pour le dégager.

Intervention sur la caisse

Vitrages

Vérifier le collage des vitres (parfois trop, parfois trop peu collées), surtout les petites fenêtres d’extrémité. Personnellement, j’ai recollé ces dernières avec de la colle liquide à maquette qui s’infiltre très rapidement (attention aux débordements !), tout en les maintenant bien plaquées à l’aide de petites pinces.

NB : en réalité, la pince est placée sur la fenêtre, avec un papier paraffiné entre la pince et la caisse pour éviter leur collage en cas de débordement. Mais cela n’éviterait pas la dégradation de la peinture ! La colle est introduite au pinceau en haut du vitrage car c’est là qu’il en manque à l’origine.

Collage vitres

Sous le toit

Casser et/ou araser les reliefs intérieurs du toit, dans l’axe de la voiture, qui gêneraient la pose d’une réglette d’éclairage.