Interior fittings

For me, lighting implies improvement of the interior fittings which can be better seen as they are enlightened, especially the walls that are almost always raw. To do this, we’ll have to disassemble the car, hoping that the parts are not (too much) glued.

Disassembling the roof

There are four clips on each side of the roof, plus a tenon at each end under the UIC rubber gangway connectors, which must be pulled apart or even removed. A credit card type plastic plate is enough to release the clips, which are snapped into the window panes. So, easy operation, unlike some other LS Models productions of the same time (“Trois pattes” — six wheel cars —) for example).

Disassembling the window panes

The window panes are blocked not only by the embedding of the windows into the body, but also by the clips fixing the doors, those for intercommunication (forming a single piece with the headstocks) and those for passenger access, which are all inserts. This design makes it possible, depending on the series and the epochs, to mount doors of different appearance: big or small window, porthole or oblong windows. These doors must therefore be disassembled by pushing their clips back from the inside.

Then we just have to remove the windows from the body; they get out quite easily: they are not glued.

Disassembling the interior fittings

Once the windows are removed, the interior fittings get out without too much difficulty: they are only slightly glued and have tabs that clip on the tenons of the part under chassis. These tabs are keyed. Warning: then, the drawbars come out easily from their housing.

Result

Here is the car entirely disassembled. The pseudo heating cables are eliminated (it may be good to put a touch of paint on their tenons left broken in the body). I found other, more realistic, in boxes of… LS Models wagons (standard covered wagons in particular). It had amused me, but, in the end, they will be useful!

USI car disassembled

Note: the bogies are not present on the picture.

Finally, these cars are quite well designed, apart from the roof separated from the body… and the lack of stiffening of the body top, which undulates as it wants. We can find here almost the same design as for the DEV and UIC REE: a single piece for body and chassis, and a separate roof, which leads to a weakness of the upper body which cannot be reinforced due to the moulding impossibility. Same causes, same consequences.

A body moulded with the roof on a separate chassis would have been a much better solution, especially since here the perfectly flat walls would not have created an undercut problem. There is apparently a lack of engineers at model train manufacturers. They are probably too expensive!

Anyway, there will be no difficulty in painting the fittings or sticking printed paper on the panes.

One drawback: for the next car that I disassembled, it was more difficult because certain parts (doors) were glued, which resulted in the breakage of some clips, but without significant consequence.

Intervention on interior fittings

To facilitate the installation of the decors and the passage of the lighting wires, we must make some changes on the interior fittings.

Milling

On the floor, the reliefs due to the mould ejectors and the ribs that are on the platforms (hatchings) must be trimmed, using a cutter or a milling bit. We must also make two notches on the floor of the toilet (circle) for the passage of the wires.

By removing the ribs, one could fear some interior fittings distortion; this is not the case because it is held at the ends by the glazing of the intercommunication doors.

Parts to be milled

Modification of partitions between rooms and platforms

A support (1) for the lighting strip is glued over a platform wall.

To the other side, the lighting control circuit will support the strip.

At both ends, the “door” is fitted with a transparent polystyrene plate (2) which will support the corresponding decor. No need to glue this piece: it will be held in place by the self-adhesive paper.

Extension of platform wall

Specific intervention for the B10t (2nd class) car

After removing the original central partition, trimmed to the level of the seat backs, a groove of 1 to 1.2 mm wide by 3 mm deep is made by milling to accommodate a transparent plastic (CD case for example) partition. This partition has an aesthetic as well as a practical role, to support the future lighting strip in its centre.

Central partition milling

Specific intervention for the A4t4 (1st class) car

The window frames of the corridor wall are not vertical but have a clearance angle to facilitate demoulding: this is not really aesthetic. I thought I simply stick a decor outside, because inside the compartments it would have been much more difficult to proceed in the same way. But it was not satisfactory. So I decided to simply remove the partition, and to replace it with a wall made of transparent polystyrene or PVC on which will be stuck a recto / verso decor. Note that in the picture, the headrests of the seats are already painted, but that the paint has already been damaged by the multiple handlings. The painting and decor must obviously be done after the different machining.

The new partition is visible on the right.

Corridor partition milling

Like for the 2nd class car, the centre partition must be milled to accommodate a 0.1 mm thick Evergreen extension, which will serve to support the lighting strip. It is similar to the end extension, but is truncated to the corridor side.

The dimensions of all the parts shown here are given on page 6 of the PDF document, where you will also find the decors for the interior fittings (see below).

Interior decors

For both the floor and the walls, the dimensions must be carefully taken up so as to avoid any unpleasant surprises at the time of installation. To do this, I combine two methods: the direct reading with a triple decimetre and a calliper, and the reading on photos. I therefore take pictures of profile and top, telephoto (equivalent 300 mm for me) to have the view angle as narrow as possible, and taking care as much as possible the perpendicularity between the object and the axis of shooting.

Here is an example of these photos. The actual dimensions indicated allow, by simple rule of three, to determine other dimensions.

Interior from above

Floor for B10t car

Floor decor for USI B10t

The outline is reduced by 0.5 mm with respect to the strict dimensions to leave a certain laying clearance.

Floor for A4t4 car

Floor decor for USI A4t4

Side walls for any car

Wall decor for any USI car

The notches are reservations for the passage of the roof clips; the latter should be painted in white for more discretion. The height of the decor exceeds that of the glazing on which it will be stuck by about 1 mm, otherwise the part situated above the windows would be too fragile. The overhanging part will be folded over the glazing.

Other walls for A4t4 car

Wall decor for USI A4t4

The upper row shows the corridor walls. Initially, I had planned to only decorate the exterior, because cutting and applying a self-adhesive paper would be too complicated on the inside. But, as mentioned above, I finally decided to replace the corridor wall with a transparent plate on which a decor will be stuck recto / verso. Therefore this wall must be printed in duplicate.

The bottom row shows the partitions between rooms and platforms, recto / verso, then a toilet wall and an internal compartment wall. It displays places for photos and, in the centre, for a mirror.

Walls for B10t car

These walls are not illustrated here, as they are similar to those of the A4t4, and simpler: only the end walls and the toilet walls.

Remarks

Painting of interior fittings

As for 2nd class cars, which are all equipped with an orange fitting, I will repaint two out of three in grey. I use a mixture of about ten parts of Humbrol Enamel No. 145 grey, one part of white No. 34 and a hint of blue No. 25. However, I find the result still too dark. May be two or three parts of white would be better. You'll see pictures on the next page.

Painting is done with an airbrush, with a dilution of about 50% with Humbrol Enamel Thinners. To me, it is much easier to airbrush with Enamel than with acrylics (Humbrol or Interfer).

And maybe I should have also painted the 1st class chairs, because their raw plastic appearance is not very pleasant (see below)!

Laying decors on the interior fittings

I start with the floor covering, then the walls. For the compartments, the mirrors are stuck to the decor before the installation. The gluing of the new corridor partition is done last, as it is much easier to decorate and paint the compartment interior when there is no partition.

Decorated interior decor for USI A4t4, seen  side

This result does not quite satisfy me, because the paper used, in combination with my Canon printer, gives a colour drift to the magenta: the supposed neutral grey is pink. I took it into account for future printing.

Another small flaw is the paper edge that remains white.

But all this is to relativize, because little visible in the car put up again.

Installation of decors on glazing

No particular difficulty. We must only take care of the matching between the paper openings and the windows. The cut-outs for the roof clips are made after the paper has been laid, which is thus much less likely to tear.

decor laying on glazing

Pack of 10 sheets of matte self-adhesive photo paper
Price 3.25 €, free shipping
at Amazon

Aménagement intérieur

Pour moi, qui dit éclairage dit amélioration de l’aménagement intérieur qui se voit d’autant plus qu’il est éclairé, en particulier les parois qui sont presque toujours « brutes de fonderie ». Pour ce faire, il va falloir démonter la voiture, en espérant que les pièces ne soient pas (trop) collées.

Démontage du toit

Il y a quatre clips de chaque côté du toit, plus un tenon à chaque extrémité sous les bourrelets UIC, qu’il faut un peu écarter, voire enlever carrément. Un bout de plastique genre carte de crédit suffit à dégager les clips, qui sont encliquetés dans les vitrages. Opération facile donc, contrairement à certaines autres productions LS Models de la même époque (« Trois pattes » par exemple).

Démontage des vitrages

Les vitrages sont bloqués non seulement par l’encastrement des baies dans la caisse, mais aussi par les clips de fixation des portes, celles d’intercommunication (solidaires des traverses de tête) comme celles d’accès, qui sont des pièces rapportées. Cette conception permet, en fonction des séries et des époques, de monter des portes d’aspect différent : grande ou petite baie, hublot ou fenêtres oblongues. Il faut donc démonter ces portes, en repoussant leurs clips de l’intérieur.

Il reste à dégager les vitres de la caisse, qui sortent assez facilement : elles ne sont pas collées.

Démontage de l’aménagement intérieur

Une fois les vitrages enlevés, l’aménagement intérieur sort sans trop de difficulté : il n’est que légèrement collé et a des pattes qui se clipsent sur les tenons de la pièce sous châssis. Ces pattes sont détrompées. Attention : les timons sortent alors facilement de leur logement.

Résultat

Voici la voiture entièrement démontée. Les pseudo câblots sont éliminés (il sera peut-être bon de mettre une touche de peinture sur leurs tenons restés cassés dans la caisse). J’en ai trouvé d’autres, plus ressemblants, dans des boîtes de… wagons LS Models (couverts standard en particulier). Cela m’avait bien amusé, mais, au bout du compte, ils vont être utiles !

Voiture USI démontée

Finalement, ces voitures sont assez bien conçues, à part le toit séparé de la caisse… et le manque de raidissage du haut de caisse, qui ondule comme il veut. On trouve ici presque la même conception que pour les DEV et UIC REE : caisse et châssis d’une seule pièce et toit séparé, ce qui entraîne une faiblesse du haut de caisse qui ne peut pas être renforcé en raison d’une impossibilité de moulage. Mêmes causes, mêmes conséquences.

Une caisse moulée avec le toit sur un châssis séparé aurait été une bien meilleure solution, d’autant plus qu’ici, les parois parfaitement planes n’auraient pas posé de problème de contre-dépouille. Il manque apparemment d’ingénieurs chez les fabricants de petits trains. Ils sont sans doute trop chers !

Quoi qu’il en soit, il n’y aura pas de difficulté pour peindre l’aménagement ou pour coller du papier imprimé sur les vitrages.

Un bémol : pour la voiture suivante que j’ai démontée, cela a été plus difficile car certaines pièces (portes) étaient collées, ce qui a entraîné la casse de quelques clips, sans conséquence importante toutefois.

Intervention sur les aménagements

Pour faciliter la pose des décors ainsi que le passage des fils de l’éclairage, il faut faire quelques modifications sur les aménagements intérieurs.

Fraisages

Sur le sol, il faut araser les reliefs dus aux éjecteurs du moule et les nervures présentes sur les plateformes (hachures), à l’aide d’un cutter ou d’une fraise. Il faut aussi pratiquer deux encoches sur le sol des toilettes (cercle) pour le passage des fils.

En supprimant les nervures, on pourrait craindre que l’aménagement ne se déforme ; il n’en est rien, car il est maintenu aux extrémités par le vitrage des portes d’intercommunication.

Parties à fraiser

Modification des cloisons entre salles et plateformes

Un support de réglette (1) est collé au-dessus d’une cloison de plateforme.

De l’autre côté, ce sera le circuit de commande d’éclairage qui supportera la réglette.

Aux deux extrémités, la « porte » est garnie d’une plaque de polystyrène transparent (2) qui supportera le décor correspondant. Inutile de coller cette pièce : elle sera maintenue par le papier auto-adhésif.

Rehausse de cloison d’extrémité

Intervention spécifique à la voiture B10t

Après avoir supprimé la cloison centrale d’origine, arasée à la hauteur des dossiers des sièges, une rainure de 1 à 1,2 mm de large sur 3 mm de profondeur est pratiquée par fraisage, pour recevoir une cloison en plastique transparent (couvercle de boîtier de CD par exemple). Cette cloison a un rôle esthétique autant que pratique, pour soutenir la future réglette d’éclairage en son milieu.

Fraisage pour cloison centrale

Intervention spécifique à la voiture A4t4

Les encadrements de fenêtres de la paroi des compartiments ne sont pas verticaux, mais présentent une dépouille pour faciliter le démoulage : ce n’est pas franchement esthétique. Je pensais coller simplement un décor à l’extérieur, car, à l’intérieur des compartiments, il aurait été beaucoup plus difficile de procéder de la même façon. Mais ce n’était pas satisfaisant. J’ai donc décidé de supprimer la cloison purement et simplement, et de la remplacer par une paroi en polystyrène ou en PVC transparent sur laquelle sera collé un décor recto / verso. Remarquez que, sur la photo, les têtières des sièges sont peintes, mais que la peinture s’est déjà abîmée suite aux multiples manipulations. Il est évident que la peinture et la décoration devraient être faites après les différents usinages.

La nouvelle cloison est visible à droite.

Fraisage de la cloison des compartiments

De même que pour la voiture de 2e classe, la cloison centrale doit être fraisée pour recevoir une rehausse en Evergreen ép. 1, qui servira à supporter la réglette. Elle est semblable au support d’extrémité, mais elle est tronquée du côté du couloir.

Les cotes de toutes les pièces présentées ici sont données à la page 6 du document PDF dans lequel vous trouverez aussi les décors pour l’aménagement intérieur (voir plus loin).

Décors intérieurs

Pour le sol comme pour les parois, il faut relever soigneusement les cotes pour ne pas avoir de mauvaise surprise au moment de la pose. Pour cela, je combine deux méthodes : le relevé direct au triple décimètre et au pied à coulisse, et le relevé sur photos. Je prends donc des photos de profil et de dessus, au téléobjectif (équivalent 300 mm en ce qui me concerne) pour avoir l’angle de vue le plus étroit possible, et en soignant au mieux la perpendicularité entre l’objet et l’axe de prise de vue.

Voici un exemple de ces photos. Les cotes réelles indiquées permettent, par simple règle de trois, de déterminer d’autres dimensions.

Intérieur vu de dessus

Sol pour voiture B10t

Décor du sol pour USI B10t

Le contour est réduit de 0,5 mm par rapport aux cotes strictes pour laisser un certain jeu de pose.

Sol pour voiture A4t4

Décor du sol pour USI A4t4

Parois latérales pour toute voiture

Décor des parois pour toute voiture USI

Les encoches sont des réserves pour le passage des clips de toit ; ces derniers devront être peints en crème pour plus de discrétion. La hauteur du décor dépasse celle du vitrage sur lequel il sera collé de 1 mm environ, car sinon la partie située au dessus des baies serait trop fragile. La partie dépassante sera rabattue au dessus des vitrages.

Autres parois pour voiture A4t4

Décor des parois pour USI A4t4

La rangée supérieure montre les parois des compartiments. Au départ, je n’avais prévu de décoration que pour l'extérieur, car le découpage et l'application d’un papier autocollant seraient trop compliqués côté intérieur. Mais, comme indiqué plus haut, j’ai finalement décidé de remplacer la cloison du couloir par une plaque transparente sur laquelle un décor sera collé recto / verso. Donc cette paroi doit être imprimée en double.

La rangée du bas montre les cloisons entre salles et plateformes, recto / verso, puis une paroi de toilettes et une paroi interne de compartiment. Celle-ci affiche des emplacements pour photos et, au centre, pour un miroir.

Parois pour voiture B10t

Ces parois ne sont pas illustrées ici, car elles sont semblables à celles de la A4t4, en plus simple : seulement les cloisons d’extrémité et les parois des toilettes.

Remarques

Peinture de l’aménagement

Concernant les voitures de 2e classe, qui sont toutes équipées d’un aménagement orange, je vais en repeindre deux sur trois en gris. J’utilise un mélange d’environ dix parties de gris Humbrol Enamel no 145, une partie de blanc no 34 et un soupçon de bleu no 25. Cependant, je trouve le résultat encore trop foncé. On en verra des photos à la page suivante.

La peinture est effectuée à l’aérographe avec une dilution à environ 50% au diluant Humbrol. J’ai beaucoup moins de difficultés avec les Enamel qu’avec les acryliques (Humbrol ou Interfer).

Et j’aurais peut-être dû peindre aussi les fauteuils de 1re classe, car leur aspect plastique brut n’est pas très engageant (voir ci-dessous) !

Pose des décors sur l’aménagement

Je commence par le revêtement de sol, puis les différentes parois. Pour les compartiments, les miroirs sont collés sur le décor avant la pose. Le collage de la nouvelle cloison de couloir est effectué en dernier, car il est bien plus facile de décorer et de peindre l’intérieur des compartiments en l’absence de celle-ci.

Aménagement intérieur décoré pour USI A4t4, vu côté compartiments

Ce résultat ne me satisfait pas totalement, car le papier utilisé, en combinaison avec mon imprimante Canon, donne une dérive de couleur vers le magenta : le gris sensé être neutre est rosé. J’en ai tenu compte pour les futures impressions.

Un autre petit défaut est la tranche du papier qui reste blanche.

Mais tout cela est à relativiser, car peu visible dans la voiture remontée.

Pose des décors sur les vitrages

Pas de difficulté particulière. Il faut simplement bien caler le papier par rapport aux baies. La découpe des passages de clips de toit est effectuée après pose du papier, qui risque ainsi beaucoup moins de se déchirer.

Pose du décor sur le vitrage

Lot de 10 feuilles de papier photo auto-adhésif mat
Prix 3,25 €, livraison gratuite
chez Amazon