Correction of the bogie center distance and body height

These two operations are linked because the spacer which will allow modifying the pivot position will add some thickness to the bogie frame and will therefore raise the body.

But, on the one hand, as already said, this body is too low, and on the other hand, one can play on the spacer thickness.

Personally, I chose 0.75 mm thick polystyrene, which will raise the body slightly too much (1 or 2 tenths of a millimeter). But as the wheels are of a little too large diameter, if the desire takes me to change them, it will restore the situation. Since the spacer in question will have only a guiding role, it can be chosen thinner, down to 0.25 mm, without inconvenience.

The idea is to remove the current pivot from the bogie (male pin, very offset), to add an (also male) pivot to the (female) body pivot, and to drill a hole into the bogie at the new location of the pivot. It is therefore necessary to intervene both on the body and on the bogie.

Intervention on the body

Here are the parts involved in this operation.

Making the pivots

From left to right: tapping of the pivot placed in a chuck; the Evergreen section and the screw; the same section with the screw tightly screwed; same with the washers installed.

The new pivot is an 8 mm section of ø 3,2 Evergreen tube, which almost perfectly fits into the pivot hole, with little effort. It will therefore be possible, to a limit, not to glue it.

Before installing the pivot, it will be “tapped” by screwing its future screw (sheet metal screw). This operation is done with the tube section tighten into a chuck to avoid deforming it.

Then, ø 3 washers are inserted in sufficient quantity to get a thickness of at least 2.4 mm, so that the bogie has enough clearance in its future pivot.

All you have to do now is to apply very little glue, so not to stick the washers (I used cyano gel) and push the whole into the pivot.

Gluing the pivot

After a few minutes, the screw and the washers can be removed: the pivot is ready. Of course, if you have several cars, you can batch operate.

Glued pivot

Intervention on bogies

After removing the axles, the former pivot is first leveled. Thoroughly smooth the surface, and make it rough to improve future collage.

Preparing the parts for the bogie

From left to right: the bogie before intervention; the bogie without pivot; the spacer to be added. In the background, a series of parts prepared for six cars. They are pre-cut using a conical mill bit for engraving PCBs, as can be seen on the enlargement slightly forged…

Making the pivot spacer

Here is the dimensional drawing of this piece. The total length is not critical, but the distance between the two holes is: it will give the new bogie center distance. The small hole will receive the pseudo rotation stop that will be used to center the spacer. The big hole is that of the new pivot.

For the sake of beauty, on the drawing, I rounded this spacer like the underlying part of the bogie but I actually left it rectangular…

Spacer drawing

Mounting the spacer

The spacer is glued with cyano gel by centering it as well as possible. The ø 3,5 hole is slightly offset in the length direction from the existing hole, hence the need to drill the bogie in correspondence with the new hole.

Gluing the space

Drilling the bogie

This drilling will not be easy, because the drill bit will tend to deflect and attack the softer Evergreen. I therefore proceed on my Proxxon milling machine, the bogie being placed on a machining assembly: a simple piece of wood whose width is the exact spacing of the bogie sides and whose upper edges are chamfered at 45° by about 2 mm.

Drilling the bogie

In the picture, I have not yet thought of placing a stop to avoid me to reposition the bogie every time. A sharp drill bit must be used to prevent it from deviating, and slowly lowered.

Milling the bogie

It remains to mill the ends of the bogie side beams. Before starting, I wanted to see what was the minimum curve radius allowed by leaving the beams intact. This radius is a little less than 800 mm. At home, it is 500, so milling is mandatory for me.

The milling, in length, must remove the material up to 1 mm from the axis of the axle box. In height, to the top of the “spring” of this box.

Cutting the beam

Milling the bogie

Here I thought about putting a stop! Attention: since the plastic is flexible, the sides of the bogie must be held firmly during milling. We can of course do this with a simple cutter, but it will be less precise, and we always risk an unfortunate slippage…

Attention: don’t go wrong! The opposite side to the pseudo-stop must be shortened, the one that will be directed towards the end of the car! Here is the bogie in place, seen from below…

Bogie back in place, bottom view

… then seen in profile. Again, the bogie milling is virtually invisible.

Bogie back in place, side view

Note: the green color of the consoles is wrong. They were painted like bogies, so gray. In any case, the bogies themselves, in translucent material, deserve a painting. I have a doubt as to the orange color of the seats for the IVa era. Moreover, in the following series manufactured by LS Models alone (ref 40,000 and following), the seats are gray (and consoles too).

I salvaged servomotor fixing screws, with an external diameter of 2 mm; the commercial screws are ø 2.2, which becomes a bit difficult to screw into the Evergreen tube, but nonetheless possible. See Improving old Jouef wagons.

Set of 10 60° engraving milling bits
for printed circuit board
9.59 € (price 2017) at Amazon

This value depends on the thickness chosen for the spacer. It is valid for 0.75 mm. It may be slightly decreased for a thinner spacer.

Correction de l’entraxe des bogies et de la hauteur de caisse

Ces deux opérations sont liées, car l’entretoise qui permettra de modifier la position du pivot va ajouter une épaisseur au châssis de bogie, et va donc rehausser la caisse.

Mais, d’une part, comme déjà dit, cette caisse est trop basse, et d’autre part, on pourra jouer sur l’épaisseur de l’entretoise.

Personnellement, j’ai choisi du polystyrène de 0,75 mm, ce qui va légèrement trop rehausser la caisse (1 ou 2 dixièmes). Mais comme les roues sont d’un diamètre un peu trop grand, si l’envie me prend de les changer, ça rétablira la situation. Étant donné que l’entretoise en question n’aura qu’un rôle de guidage, on pourra la choisir plus mince, jusqu’à 0,25 mm, sans inconvénient.

L’idée est de supprimer le pivot actuel du bogie (clip mâle, très désaxé), d’ajouter un pivot (mâle aussi) au pivot (femelle) de la caisse, et de percer un trou, sur le bogie, au nouvel emplacement du pivot. Il faut donc intervenir sur la caisse et sur le bogie.

Intervention sur la caisse

Voici les pièces intervenant dans cette opération.

Fabrication des pivots

De gauche à droite : taraudage du pivot dans un mandrin ; le tronçon d’Evergreen et la vis ; le même tronçon avec la vis vissée à fond ; même chose avec les rondelles installées.

Le nouveau pivot est un tronçon de 8 mm de tube Evergreen ø 3,2, qui s’adapte tout juste, en forçant un peu, dans le trou de pivot. On pourra donc à la limite ne pas le coller.

Avant d’installer le pivot, on va le « tarauder » en lui vissant sa future vis, genre vis à tôle. Cette opération se fait avec le morceau de tube pris dans un mandrin pour éviter de le déformer.

Ensuite, on enfile dessus des rondelles ø 3, en quantité suffisante pour obtenir une épaisseur d’au moins 2,4 mm, ceci pour que le bogie ait suffisamment de jeu dans son futur pivot.

Il ne reste plus qu’à l’encoller très légèrement, pour ne pas coller les rondelles (j’ai utilisé de la cyano gel) et à enfoncer le tout dans le pivot.

Collage du pivot

Après quelques minutes, on peut enlever la vis et les rondelles : le pivot est prêt. Bien sûr, si on a plusieurs voitures, on peut opérer en série.

Pivot collé

Intervention sur le bogie

Après avoir ôté les essieux, on commence par araser l’ancien pivot. Bien aplanir la surface, et la rendre rugueuse pour améliorer le futur collage.

Préparation des pièces pour le bogie

De gauche à droite : le bogie avant intervention ; le bogie privé de pivot ; l’entretoise à ajouter. À l’arrière-plan, une série de pièces préparées pour six voitures. Elles sont prédécoupées à l’aide d’une fraise conique pour gravure de circuit imprimé, comme on peut le voir sur l’agrandissement légèrement trafiqué…

Fabrication de l’entretoise pivot

Voici le plan coté de cette pièce. La longueur totale n’est pas critique, mais la distance entre les deux perçages l’est : elle donnera le nouvel entraxe des bogies. Le petit trou recevra la pseudo-butée de rotation qui servira à centrer l’entretoise. Le grand trou est celui du nouveau pivot.

Pour la beauté de la chose, sur le dessin, j’ai arrondi cette entretoise comme la partie sous-jacente du bogie mais en réalité, je l’ai laissée rectangulaire

Dessin de l’entretoise

Montage de l’entretoise

L’entretoise est collée à la cyano gel en la centrant le mieux possible. Le trou ø 3,5 est légèrement décalé, dans le sens de la longueur, par rapport au trou existant, d’où la nécessité de repercer le bogie en correspondance avec le nouveau trou.

Collage de l’entretoise

Perçage du bogie

Ce perçage ne sera pas facile, parce que le foret aura tendance à dévier et à attaquer l’Evergreen plus tendre. Je procède donc sur ma fraiseuse Proxxon, le bogie étant placé sur un montage d’usinage : un simple tasseau fraisé à l’écartement exact des flancs, et dont les arêtes supérieures sont chanfreinées à 45° sur environ 2 mm.

Perçage du  bogie

Sur la photo, je n’ai pas encore pensé à placer une butée pour m’éviter de repositionner le bogie à chaque fois. Il faut utiliser un foret bien aiguisé pour éviter qu’il ne dévie, et descendre lentement.

Fraisage du bogie

Il reste à fraiser les extrémités des longerons. Avant de me lancer, j’ai voulu voir quel était le rayon de courbure minimum admissible en laissant les longerons intacts. Ce rayon est d’un peu moins de 800 mm. Chez moi, c’est 500, donc fraisage obligatoire.

Le fraisage, en longueur, doit enlever la matière jusqu’à 1 mm de l’axe de la boîte d’essieu. En hauteur, jusqu’au dessus du « ressort » de cette boîte.

Découpe du longeron

Fraisage du  bogie

Ici, j’ai pensé à mettre une butée ! Attention : le plastique étant souple, il faut maintenir fermement les flancs du bogie pendant le fraisage. On peut bien sûr faire cette opération avec un simple cutter, mais ce sera moins précis, et on risque toujours un dérapage malheureux…

Attention : ne pas se tromper de côté ! C’est le côté opposé à la pseudo-butée, celui qui sera dirigé vers l’extrémité de la voiture, qu’il faut raccourcir ! Voici le bogie remonté, vu de dessous

Bogie remonté, vu de dessous

… puis vu de profil. Encore une fois, le fraisage du bogie est pratiquement invisible.

Bogie remonté, vu de côté

Note : la couleur verte des consoles est erronée. Elles étaient peintes comme les bogies, donc en gris. De toutes façons, les bogies eux-mêmes, en matière translucide, méritent une peinture. J’ai un doute quant à la couleur orange des sièges pour l’époque IVa. D’ailleurs, dans la série suivante fabriquée par LS Models seul (réf 40 000 et suivantes), les sièges sont gris (et les consoles aussi).

J’ai récupéré des vis de fixation de servomoteur, de diamètre extérieur 2 mm ; les vis du commerce font ø 2,2, ce qui devient un peu difficile à visser dans le tube Evergreen, mais néanmoins possible. Voir Amélioration d’anciens wagons Jouef.

Allitération involontaire…

Lot de 10 fraises à graver 60°
pour circuit imprimé
9,59 € (prix 2017) sur Amazon

Cette valeur dépend de l’épaisseur choisie pour l’entretoise. Elle est valable pour 0,75 mm. Elle peut être légèrement diminuée pour une entretoise plus mince.