Observation

This is the first series of USI cars designed by LS Models in collaboration with Heris, references 14001 to 14034. The improvements should also apply to Belgian K4 cars, which are USIs sold to SNCB, then rented for some time to NS (Dutch Railways) ref. LSM 12003-4, 12131-12134.

The defects

Molded handles and cables are stunted. The bogies whose axis is offset to facilitate running in curves and which have no rotation stop easily place themselves perpendicular. Annoying. The inner windows of the compartments (for the 1st class car) have very visible clearance angles, i. e. the sides that are supposed to be vertical are oblique — see the pictures below.

The body is too low (43.8 mm instead of 44.5) and the bogie center distance is too short by 7 mm! The cantilever of the actual cars is quite important — but not more than that of “long” DEV cars — here it becomes caricature. And, at the same time, the body openings above the bogies are strongly elongated towards the middle of the car.

It is possible to correct the defect of the center distance, provided that we accept to slightly trim the bogie beams, which come to bump into the steps. For once, here is, before starting, the result of this operation, to show you that the sacrifice is not so terrible.

Comparison before / after center distance modification

LS Models-Heris USI cars A4t4 ref. 14016 and 14011-I.

Top, unmodified car, bottom, modified car. It can be seen that in alignment, the reduction of the beams is almost invisible.

On the other hand, the height has been slightly increased, which shows a space between the body and the secondary suspension consoles. These consoles are in fact fixed on the bogie, whereas they should be fixed on the body. This “cheating” could be understood to facilitate the movement of the bogie with the eccentric pivot. As the pivot is brought closer to the center, we can try to fix the consoles on the body.

In summary, the following operations are envisaged:

Le constat

Il s’agit de la première série de voitures USI conçues par LS Models en collaboration avec Heris, de références 14001 à 14034. La modification doit pouvoir s’appliquer aussi aux voitures belges K4, qui sont des USI vendues à la SNCB, puis un temps louées aux NS (Chemins de fer Néerlandais) réf. LSM 12003-4, 12131 à 12134.

Les défauts

Les mains montoires et les câblots moulés sont rabougris. Les bogies dont le pivot est désaxé pour l’inscription en courbe et qui n’ont pas d’arrêt de rotation se mettent facilement à la perpendiculaire. Pénible. Les fenêtres intérieures des compartiments (pour la voiture de 1re classe) ont des angles de dépouille très visibles, c.-à-d. que les côtés sensés être verticaux sont obliques — voyez les photos ci-dessous.

La caisse est trop basse (43,8 mm au lieu de 44,5) et l’entraxe des bogies trop court de 7 mm ! Déjà que le porte-à-faux des voitures réelles est assez important — mais pas plus cependant que celui des voitures DEV « longues » — ici, cela devient caricatural. Et, du coup, les échancrures de caisse au niveau des bogies sont fortement allongées vers le milieu de la voiture.

Il y a moyen de corriger le défaut de l’entraxe, à condition d’accepter de rogner légèrement les longerons de bogies, qui viennent buter sur les marchepieds. Une fois n’est pas coutume, voici, avant de commencer, le résultat de cette opération, pour vous montrer que le sacrifice n’est pas si terrible.

Comparaison des voitures avant / après modification de l’entraxe

Voitures USI A4t4 LS Models / Heris réf. 14016 et 14011-I.

En haut, voiture non modifiée, en bas, voiture modifiée. On peut constater qu’en alignement, la réduction des longerons est quasi invisible.

En revanche, la hauteur a été un peu augmentée, ce qui fait apparaître un espace entre la caisse et les consoles de suspension secondaire. Ces consoles sont en effet fixées sur le bogie, alors qu’elles devraient l’être sur la caisse. Cette « tricherie » pouvait se comprendre pour faciliter le débattement du bogie au pivot excentré. Le pivot étant ramené plus au centre, on pourra tenter de fixer les consoles sur la caisse.

En résumé, voici les opérations envisagées :