Mounting

Bearings

The selected axles (PE JR3 or JR5) have a 26 mm length between ends. In order to mount them, the bearings must be placed flush with the guard plates. For this, I pressed them hot, using a soldering iron (not too hot anyway!). Here are the dimensions of the bearings used (Fig 10).

But I did not think of the fact that there would not be enough backlash, and that the wagon would be very sensitive to the derailment, especially with very small flanges. If I had to do it again, I would change the axles as follows (Fig. 11).

Bearings

Fig. 10

  • 1 - the implemented solution: the (theoretical) clearance is only 0.4 mm, too low. In reality, there is no clearance at all.
  • 2 - the bearing shoulder is no longer embedded, but bears on the guard plate. With an axle of 24.75 mm (Roco type), the backlash will be about 1 mm, which is much better. Recall that the pointed axes can adopt a somewhat oblique position which allows them to adapt to a slightly warped track.

Placing the bearings

Fig. 11

To correct this blunder afterwards, I replaced the original 26 mm axles with 25.4 mm axles. The backlash is a bit too big, and the driving stability improvement is not obvious. The main derailment cause appears to be the combination of three factors: very small flanges, track not necessarily very well laid, and stiffness of the Roco drawbar springs. I was therefore led to increase the ballast by 25 g, which brings the wagon mass to 90 g. The overload is not too troublesome, thanks to the brass bearings, much less sensitive to wear than the plastic.

Buffers, ladder ramps

No particular problem. Possibly rear glue the buffers with super glue. But if the (ø 2) holes are well made, the buffers should stand on their own. Also, glue the ramps through the inside of the body.

Steps

I have not mounted these parts yet.

Marking

As I said, the Carpena decals do not suit me, because the markings are black, whereas they should be white. So for the moment I have printed labels with a laser printer, with the disadvantages of paper thickness and lack of sharpness.

Here is an example of a plate (I used the SNCF font provided gracefully on the Apocopa website). The only drawback is that lowercase letters are much smaller than uppercase letters. For example, to write “Is”, I am forced to change size between "I" and "s". Why? I don’t know…

Attention: the original is vectorized; the image here is in bitmap (PNG), and therefore inevitably of lower quality.

Marking plate

Fig. 12

Mounting the body and the drawbars

After gluing the new ballast — which is actually the real chassis — on the chassis with super glue (because I have given up the double-sided adhesive), I fix the body with two 2.2 × 5 Parker screws. The drawbar bases are then secured to the chassis using M2 screws, interposing the 2 mm thick wedges (attention: modification, see below), without tightening too much. The drawbar must slide without any hard point.

Brake

This equipment, which partially covers the drawbars, can only be assembled at the end.

I bought brake equipment (rod assembly plus shoes) Makette ref. 2404. They are normally fixed under the chassis by four pins (see drawing opposite). However, the fixing screws of the elongated drawbars prevent the mounting of the pins on the coupling side. Too bad: I will content myself with the other two; in any case, the connecting rod passing over the axle almost touches it, which prevents it from falling.

Brake equipment

Caution: the shoe horizontal rod bears on the Roco drawbar, which prevents the shoes from positioning correctly. So I had to revisit the drawbar height adjustment wedges, replacing those 2 mm thick with 1.2 mm thick washers. The drawbar position is not too much affected.

2 × two ø 1.2 or better 1.3 holes must be drilled in the chassis to facilitate assembly, 8.3 mm behind the axles and 9.75 mm on either side of the centre line car. The unusable pin bars will be cut at about half their height. Super glue bonding.

Montage

Paliers

Les essieux choisis (PE JR3 ou JR5) ont un entrepointes de 26 mm. Pour pouvoir les monter, il faut que les paliers soient posés à ras des plaques de garde. Pour cela, je les ai enfoncés à chaud, à l’aide d’un fer à souder (pas trop chaud quand même !). Pour info, voici les cotes des paliers utilisés (Fig. 10).

Mais je n’avais pas pensé au fait qu’il n’y aurait pas assez de jeu, et que le wagon serait très sensible au déraillement, surtout avec les boudins très réduits. Si c’était à refaire, je changerais les axes comme suit (Fig. 11).

Fig. 10

  • En (1), la solution mise en œuvre : le jeu (théorique) n’est que de 0,4 mm, trop, faible. En réalité, il n’y a pas de jeu du tout.
  • En (2), l’épaulement du palier n’est plus encastré, mais porte sur la plaque de garde. Avec un axe de 24,75 mm (type Roco), le jeu sera d’environ 1 mm, ce qui est beaucoup mieux. Rappelons que les axes en pointe peuvent adopter une position quelque peu oblique qui leur permet de s’adapter à une voie légèrement gauchie.

Fig. 11

Pour corriger après coup cette bévue, j’ai remplacé les axes 26 mm d’origine par des axes de 25,4 mm. Le jeu est un peu trop grand, et l’amélioration de la tenue de voie pas évidente. Il semble que la cause principale de déraillement soit la conjonction de trois facteurs : les boudins très petits, la voie pas forcément très bien posée et la raideur des ressorts de rappel des timons Roco. J’ai donc été amené à augmenter le lest de 25 g, ce qui porte la masse des wagons à 90 g. La surcharge n’est pas trop gênante, grâce aux paliers en laiton, beaucoup moins sensibles à l’usure que la matière plastique.

Tampons, rampes d’échelles

Pas de problème particulier. Coller éventuellement les tampons par l’arrière à la cyanoacrylate. Mais si les perçages (ø 2) sont bien faits, les tampons devraient tenir tout seuls. De même, coller les rampes par l’intérieur de la caisse.

Marchepieds

Je n’ai pas encore monté ces pièces.

Marquages

Comme je l’ai dit, les décals Carpena ne me conviennent pas, car les marquages sont noirs, alors qu’ils devraient être blancs. J’ai donc pour le moment imprimé des étiquettes avec une imprimante laser, avec les inconvénients de l’épaisseur du papier et du manque de netteté.

Voici un exemple de plaque (j’ai utilisé la police de caractères SNCF fournie gracieusement sur le site Apocopa). Le seul inconvénient est que les lettres minuscules sont de taille beaucoup plus petite que les majuscules. Par exemple, pour écrire « Is », je suis obligé de changer de taille entre le « I » et le « s ». Pourquoi ? Mystère…

Attention : l’original est vectorisé ; l’image ici présente est en bitmap (PNG), et donc forcément de qualité inférieure.

Fig. 12

Montage de la caisse et des timons

Après avoir collé le nouveau lest — qui est en fait le véritable châssis — sur le châssis avec de la colle cyanoacrylate (car j’ai renoncé à l’adhésif double-face), je fixe la caisse avec deux vis Parker 2,2 × 5. Les embases des timons sont ensuite fixées sur le châssis à l’aide de vis M2, en interposant les cales d’épaisseur 2 mm (attention : modification, voir ci-dessous), sans trop serrer. Le timon doit coulisser sans point dur.

Freins

Ces équipements, qui recouvrent partiellement les timons, ne peuvent se monter qu’à la fin.

J’ai acheté des équipements de frein (tringlerie plus sabots) Makette réf. 2404. Ils se fixent normalement sous le châssis par quatre tétons (voir dessin ci-contre). Mais les vis de fixation des timons à élongation empêchent ici le montage des tétons côté attelage. Tant pis : je me contenterai des deux autres ; de toute façon, la barre de liaison qui passe au dessus de l’essieu touche presque son axe, ce qui l’empêche de tomber.

Attention : la barre horizontale des sabots porte sur le timon Roco, ce qui empêche les sabots de se positionner correctement. J’ai donc dû revoir les cales de réglage de hauteur des timons, en remplaçant celles d’épaisseur 2 mm par des rondelles d’épaisseur 1,2 mm. La position des timons n’est pas trop affectée.

Il faut percer dans le châssis deux fois deux trous ø 1,2 ou mieux 1,3 pour faciliter le montage, à 8,3 mm en arrière des essieux et à 9,75 mm de part et d’autre de l’axe du wagon. Les barres des tétons inutilisables seront sectionnées à environ la moitié de leur hauteur. Collage à la cyano­acrylate.