Working on existing parts

Dismantling

Simply remove the two coupler pivot screws. Separate body, chassis and ballast. The ballast, the couplers and their screws will no longer be used.

Work on the chassis

  1. Remove the centre struts of the chassis tie rods (Fig. 1)
  2. Cut the eight brake shoes with a disk saw blade
  3. Fasten the chassis by the coupling holes on a good quality plywood plate, i.e. of constant thickness (I had surprises!), with ø 2.9 Parker screws (interpose a piece of thick cardboard or hardboard also of constant thickness to the ballast approximate dimensions to serve as martyr, and to distribute the effort on the largest possible surface. The purpose is to machine the chassis with the Proxxon XY table, on which I therefore fix the plywood plate with the chassis
  4. Drill ø 2 holes in the axis of the buffers (before cutting them), the drill being rotated by 90° with respect to its support (Fig 2). Drilling before cutting the buffers helps to centre and align the holes
  5. Cut the four buffers with the saw disc, the drill being in the same position as before (Fig. 3). If necessary, correct the flatness of the headstock with a file or a mill bit
  6. Drill the bearings at ø 2 with a ball mill bit 15° tilted, to about 2 mm deep (Fig 4). Attention: the drill is tilted, not the displacement axis, which must stay vertical
  7. Mill the shoe and coupler brackets level with the floor (remove the fastening screw when coming close). Remove the floor between the already open part and the headstock, leaving approximately 5 mm along the headstock (do not mill too close to the headstock because the piece between the vertical backrest reinforcements would no longer be held, and it would be made fragile)

Fig. 1

Fig. 2

Fig. 3

Fig. 4

Why remove part of the floor? I have found that if the flatness is not perfect, the Roco drawbars may become blocked. So they will be fixed directly to the ballast plate, which is perfectly flat (see below).

Work on the body

  1. Remove the ladders (for this, unfasten the straps inside the box)
  2. Drill the ramp holes at ø 0.4 (Fig. 5). Caution: the lower holes must not pass through the pillar from the outside! The ideal would be to make blind holes cut the ramps to the exact dimension
  3. Possibly (I did not do it), mill the board grooves where they were not made to facilitate the marking: registration, “REFRIGERANT” marking. The groove spacing is 1.44 (end faces) or 1.49 mm (side faces).

Fig. 5

  1. Possibly (I did not do it), mill the door handles, then drill the ramp holes (hindrance 4.4 mm) to ø 0.4
  2. Plane the old couplers threaded columns down to the bottom of the body. Re-drill them to ø 3, depth about 10, then forcefully insert a piece of 6 mm Bic pen cartridge.

Travaux sur l’existant

Démontage

Il suffit d’enlever les deux vis pivots d’attelages. Séparer la caisse, le châssis et le lest. Le lest, les attelages et leurs vis ne serviront plus.

Travaux sur le châssis

  1. Supprimer les entretoises centrales des tirants du châssis (Fig. 1).
  2. Découper au disque scie les huit sabots de frein.
  3. Fixer le châssis par les trous d’attelages sur une plaque de contreplaqué de bonne qualité, c’est-à-dire d’épaisseur constante (j’ai eu des surprises !), avec des vis Parker ø 2,9 (interposer un morceau de carton épais ou d’isorel là aussi d’épaisseur constante aux dimensions approximatives du lest pour servir de martyr, et pour répartir l’effort sur la plus grande surface possible. Tout ceci pour usiner le châssis avec la table XY Proxxon, sur laquelle je fixe donc la plaque de contreplaqué avec le châssis.
  4. Percer à ø 2 dans l’axe des tampons (avant de les couper), la perceuse étant tournée de 90° par rapport à son support (Fig. 2). Percer avant de couper les tampons aide à centrer et aligner le perçage.
  5. Découper les quatre tampons au disque scie, la perceuse étant dans la même position que précédemment (Fig. 3). Éventuellement, corriger la planéité de la traverse de choc à la lime ou à la fraise.
  6. Percer les paliers à ø 2 à la fraise sphérique inclinée de 15° sur environ 2 mm de profondeur (Fig. 4). Attention : c’est la perceuse qui est inclinée, mais pas l’axe de déplacement qui doit être vertical.
  7. Fraiser les supports de sabots et les supports d’attelages à ras du plancher (enlever la vis de fixation en arrivant à proximité). Éliminer le plancher entre la partie déjà ouverte et la traverse de tête, en laissant environ 5 mm le long de cette traverse (ne pas fraiser trop près de la traverse, car le morceau compris entre les renforts verticaux de dossiers ne serait plus maintenu, et elle serait fragilisée).

Fig. 1

Fig. 2

Fig. 3

Fig. 4

Pourquoi enlever une partie du plan­cher ? C’est que j’ai constaté que, si la planéité n’est pas parfaite, les timons Roco risquent de se bloquer. Ils seront donc fixés directement sur la tôle de lest, qui est parfaitement plane (voir plus loin).

Travaux sur la caisse

  1. Enlever les échelles (pour cela, détordre les pattes à l’intérieur de la caisse)
  2. Percer à ø 0,4 les emplacements des rampes (Fig. 5). Attention : les perçages du bas ne doivent pas traverser le montant par l’extérieur ! L’idéal serait de faire des trous non débouchants et de couper les rampes à la cote exacte.
  3. Éventuellement (je ne l’ai pas fait), fraiser à la fraise conique les rainures des planches là où elles n’ont pas été faites pour faciliter le marquage : immatriculation, marquage « REFRIGERANT ». L’espacement des rainures est de 1,44 (dossiers) ou 1,49 mm (faces latérales).

Fig. 5

  1. Éventuellement (je ne l’ai pas fait), fraiser les mains montoires des portes, puis percer à ø 0,4 les emplacements des rampes (entraxe 4,4 mm).
  2. Araser les colonnes filetées de fixation des anciens attelages au niveau du bas de caisse. Les repercer à ø 3, profondeur environ 10, puis y insérer en force un morceau de cartouche de stylo Bic de 6 mm.