Pantographs

I had bought a set of four LS Models pantographs for CC 40100. One of them was to replace the one I had broken on my 1502 LSM. I thought that the others would be useful to me one day. Only fault: among the three, there is no 15 kV panto whose bow should be wider (22.4 mm). But as the 25 kV LSM bows are already too large (20.5 instead of 16.7), it will not show very much.

First point to check: are the distances of the insulators the same? Answer: yes! These insulators are not very pretty, besides, with many molding burrs.

Removal of fixing bosses

The pantos fixing bosses are 4 mm dia. I remove the greatest part with a dia. 5 mm drill. Ideally, I should finish with a 4 mm dia. cylindrical milling bit, but I don’t have one. To avoid using a putty (I don’t like it!), I finish with a 4.2 mm dia. drill by penetrating a little in the roof, then I put a 4 m dia. plastic card pad, 0.25 mm thick, cut with a punch, and glued with Kibri model glue, which, by melting the plastic, will somewhat fill the remaining gap.

A little bit of Humbrol paint, a mixture of dark matte gray No. 32 with a little white No. 34 and a drop of blue no. 14 will do; the painting will be polished after drying. The result (a) is not too visible, is it? On the other hand, I see in the photo that it would be necessary to fill the tapped hole, and to shorten the jack rod…

Pantograph base

There is no difficulty in gluing the pantos to the insulators with Kristal Klear. This gluing is weak, but better is detached panto than broken panto!

Limiting the extension of pantographs

Here, we should not have drunk too much coffee: we’ll place a wedge to limit the extension of the pantos. A small rectangle of plastic card 0.35 mm thick, approximately 1 × 2 mm or less, blackened with a felt pen for more discretion, is kept stuck by the stop of the main arm, panto raised, and glued with a micro drip of cyano (mark b on the picture above). Do not overflow, otherwise the panto may not be folded anymore!

About cyano, I noticed something, but maybe I reinvented the wheel: a drop on waxed paper, the kind used to protect double-sided adhesives, remains usable for about ten minutes! It even tends to roll over like a drop of water.

And here is the final result.

View of pantograph

Set of 4 pantos ref. LS Models 89206
ref. 91289206 - 45 € - price 2013
at cdfinformatique.com

Pantographes

J’avais acheté un ensemble de quatre pantographes LS Models pour CC 40100, dont un, bipalette, pour remplacer celui que j’avais cassé sur ma 1502 LSM. Je me disais bien que les autres me serviraient un jour. Seul défaut : il n’y a pas de panto 15 kV dont l’archet devrait être plus large (22,4 mm). Mais comme les archets 25 kV LSM ont déjà une largeur trop importante (20,5 au lieu de 16,7), cela ne se verra pas beaucoup.

Premier point à vérifier : les entraxes des isolateurs sont-ils les mêmes ? Réponse : oui ! Isolateurs qui ne sont pas très jolis, d’ailleurs, avec nombreuses bavures de moulage et carottes d’injection.

Suppression des bossages de fixation

Les bossages de fixation des pantos font ø 4. J’en enlève la plus grande partie avec un foret ø 5. L’idéal serait de terminer avec une fraise cylindrique ø 4, mais je n’en ai pas. Pour éviter le masticage (je n’aime pas !), je finis donc avec un foret de ø 4,2 en pénétrant un peu dans le toit, puis je pose une pastille de carte plastique ø 4, ép. 0,25, découpée à l’emporte-pièce et collée à la colle Kibri pour maquette, qui, en faisant fondre le plastique, va combler quelque peu l’interstice restant.

Un peu de peinture Humbrol, mélange de gris foncé mat no 32 avec un peu de blanc no 34 et une touche de bleu no 14 fera l’affaire, peinture qui sera lustrée après séchage. Le résultat (a) n’est pas trop visible, n’est-ce pas ? En revanche, je m’aperçois sur la photo qu’il faudrait boucher le trou taraudé, et raccourcir la tige du vérin…

Socle du panto

Le collage des pantos sur les isolateurs, à la Kristal Klear, ne pose pas de difficulté. Ce collage est faible, mais mieux vaut panto décollé que panto cassé !

Limitation de l’extension des pantographes

Là, il ne faut pas avoir bu trop de café : je vais poser une cale pour limiter l’extension des pantos. Un petit rectangle de carte plastique ép. 0,35, d’environ 1 × 2 mm, noirci au feutre pour plus de discrétion, est maintenu coincé par la butée du bras principal, panto levé, et collé avec une micro-goutte de cyano (repère b sur la photo ci-dessus). Ne pas déborder, sinon le panto ne pourra plus être replié !

À propos de cyano, j’ai remarqué quelque chose, mais je réinvente peut-être la roue : une goutte posée sur un papier paraffiné, du genre qui sert à protéger les adhésifs double-face, reste utilisable environ dix minutes ! Elle a même tendance à rouler dessus comme une goutte d’eau.

Et voici le résultat final.

Vue des pantos

Set de 4 pantos réf. LS Models 89206
réf. 91289206 - 45 € — prix 2013
chez cdfinformatique.com