1607 SNCB profile view

Photo taken after improvement. The pantos are of LS Models brand.

Observation

A bargain: I found this model on sale at 99 €. Known song: red lights are not separated from white. But, a bit of originality, the upper front lights, mandatory for an international traffic, which are supposed to be illuminated, are not!

I also find the pantographs particularly coarse. What do you want, you easily get used to luxury!

Finally, all the detailing parts are to be assembled, except (nevertheless!) the pantos and the electrical roof line. It is perhaps the ransom of a European manufacturing with a deterrent labor cost. This doesn’t bother me, because for the moment, my hands don’t shake too much yet. What bothers me a little, are the photo-etched rails, thus flat, not round.

Electrical point of view

Maximum consumption motor blocked at 12 V DC: 1.1 A; consumption in skating under the same conditions: 0.5 A. The light intensity is correct, even a little weak, especially the reds.

The circuits

After having lifted the body (attention, the clips are not in the places indicated on the instruction leaflet, but closer to the bogie pivots), I discover for the first time a simple and clear PCB, despite the absence of silkscreen marking. It is single-sided, and the tracks are easy to follow. The wires that connect this circuit to that of the LEDs are: blue for positive common, red for the red LED and black for the white LED.

Each LED is powered by a large SMD 1 kΩ resistor.

So far, so good.

If you lift the LED support, you can discover the light guides. First snag: the two guides (red and white) are connected, probably to facilitate their installation and holding. But it is the door open to the light leaks, and that is what is happening.

Second snag: the instruction leaflet indicates how to place the frontal lantern light guide (remove the cab layout, remove the glass from the lantern, replace it with the guide). Besides the fact that the cab is not easy to put back in place, because it is clipped on windows that are prone to get out of their housing, and tend to twist, there is more annoying: this light guide doesn’t communicate with any light source!

It is a gag that reminds me of the unified railcar trailer Roco, which has a lamp enclosed in a closet thus perfectly invisible from the outside, and without a light guide. If Vitrains and Roco were associated, one could hope for both the source of light and its guide! Wrecking!

Wiring diagram

Wiring diagram

Note: the component marks are from me, as there is no marking on the circuit board.

The changes to be made to separate the red lights are drawn in red: not too complicated, is it?

1607 SNCB vue de profil

Photo prise après modification. Les pantos sont des LS Models.

Le constat

Une aubaine : j’ai trouvé ce modèle en solde à 99 €. Air connu : les feux rouges ne sont pas séparés des blancs. Mais, petite originalité, les fanaux frontaux, nécessaires pour une circulation internationale, qui sont sensés être éclairés, ne le sont pas !

Je trouve aussi les pantos particulièrement grossiers. Que voulez-vous, on s’habitue facilement au luxe !

Enfin, toutes les pièces de détaillage sont à monter, sauf (quand même !) les pantos et la ligne de toit. C’est peut-être la rançon d’une fabrication européenne au coût de main d’œuvre dissuasif. Cela ne me dérange pas, pour le moment, car je ne tremblote pas encore trop. Ce qui m’ennuie un peu, ce sont les rambardes photogravées, donc plates et non rondes.

Point de vue électrique

Consommation maximale moteur bloqué sous 12 V CC : 1,1 A ; consommation au patinage dans les mêmes conditions : 0,5 A. L’intensité des feux est correcte, même un peu faiblarde, surtout les rouges.

Les circuits

Après avoir levé la caisse (attention, les clips ne sont pas aux endroits indiqués sur la notice, mais plus proches des pivots de bogies), je découvre pour une fois un circuit imprimé simple et clair, malgré l’absence de sérigraphie. Il est à simple face, et les pistes sont faciles à suivre. Les fils qui relient ce circuit à celui des LED des feux sont : bleu pour le commun positif, rouge pour la LED rouge et noir pour la LED blanche.

Chaque LED est alimentée par une résistance CMS de grande dimension, de 1 kΩ.

Jusqu’ici, tout va bien.

Si on soulève la plaquette support des LED, on découvre les conduits de lumière des feux. Premier hic : les deux (rouge et blanc) sont reliés, sans doute pour faciliter leur mise en place et leur maintien. Mais c’est la porte ouverte aux fuites de lumière, et c’est bien ce qui se passe.

Deuxième hic : la notice indique comment placer le conduit de lumière du fanal frontal (enlever l’aménagement de cabine, enlever la « vitre » du fanal, la remplacer par le conduit). Outre le fait que la cabine n’est pas du tout facile à remonter, car clipsée sur les vitrages qui profitent de l’opération pour sortir de leur logement, et qui tendent à se tordre, il y a plus ennuyeux : ce conduit de lumière n’est en communication avec aucune source de lumière !

C’est un gag qui me rappelle celui de la remorque Decauville Roco qui a, elle, une lampe enfermée dans un cagibi donc parfaitement invisible de l’extérieur, et privée de conduit de lumière. Si Vitrains et Roco s’associaient, on pourrait espérer à la fois la source de lumière et son conduit ! Navrant !

Schéma électrique

Schéma électrique

NB : les repères de composants sont de moi, car il n’y a aucun marquage sur le circuit imprimé.

En rouge, les modifications à effectuer pour séparer les feux rouges : pas trop compliqué, n’est-ce pas ?