Bogie equipment

For current pickup, I have the choice between two solutions: either, conventionally, strips rubbing on the axles or wheels, or conductive bearings.

The bogies of these cars are not equipped with conductive bearings, and their installation is never obvious. On the other hand, the train is short and will never be modified: the restraint force due to friction will be minimal. So I can choose the solution of the strips, on a single car; the transmission of current will be through conductive couplings. To obtain a maximum of contact points (four per polarity), I prefer that the strips rub on the wheels rather than on the axle rods (in which case there would be only two contact points per polarity), despite the higher friction torque.

The pickup car will be the BD car. The available space will allow to install a rectifying circuit and energy reserve without difficulty.

Mounting the contact strips

The strips of 34 mm in length are made from bronze strips. They are soldered on salvage nickel silver plates, 9 × 6.5 mm. After soldering, a ø 0.6 hole is drilled 3.5 mm from the outer edge of the bogie for the passage of a wire through the existing slot (arrows). The whole is glued with CA. The wires go up through the pivot hole.

The tests will reveal that this solution was not the good one.

Bogies with pickup strips before assembling

Bogies with pickup strips after assembling

Connection onto the chassis

The link between the two bogies is made of self-adhesive copper tape, although it is also possible with wires (there is a 2 mm high space between interior fittings and chassis, completely free if the ballast plate is removed). The wires coming from the bogies and going towards the rectifier circuit are soldered on the copper tape.

Chassis connections

Note the piece of red electrician tape stuck on the brass plate that covers the drawbar. Its role is to ensure the insulation of the future lantern circuit with respect to this plate. See further.

Phosphor bronze in strip 200 × 1,5 × 0,20
Bandbrzph-200x0,20x1,5
€1,20 — price 2019
at micro-modele.

Équipement des bogies

Pour la prise de courant, j’ai le choix entre deux solutions, soit, classiquement, des lamelles frottant sur les axes ou sur les roues, soit des paliers conducteurs.

Les bogies de ces voitures ne sont pas munis d’origine de paliers conducteurs, et leur pose n’est jamais évidente. D’autre part, la rame sera indéformable, et courte : l’effort de retenue dû aux frottements sera minime. Je peux donc choisir la solution des lamelles, sur une seule voiture ; la transmission du courant se fera par attelages conducteurs. Pour obtenir un maximum de points de contact (quatre par polarité), je préfère que les lamelles frottent sur les roues plutôt que sur les axes (auquel cas il n’y aurait que deux points de contact par polarité), malgré le couple de frottement plus élevé.

La voiture « capteuse » sera la mixte fourgon. L’espace disponible permettra sans difficulté d’installer un circuit de redressement et de réserve d’énergie.

Pose des lamelles de contact

Les lamelles de 34 mm de long sont tirées de bandes de bronze. Elles sont soudées sur des plaquettes en maillechort de récupération, de 9 × 6,5 mm. Après soudure, un trou ø 0,6 est percé à 3,5 mm du bord extérieur du bogie pour le passage d’un fil à travers la fente existante (flèches). Le tout est collé à la cyano. Les fils remontent par le trou du pivot.

Les essais montreront que cette solution n’était pas la bonne.

Bogies avec frotteurs avant montage

Bogies avec frotteurs après montage

Raccordement sur le châssis

La liaison entre les deux bogies est faite en ruban de cuivre autocollant, bien qu’elle soit possible aussi en fils (il y a un espace de 2 mm entre aménagement et châssis, totalement libre si on enlève la plaque de lest). Les fils venant des bogies et partant vers le circuit redresseur sont soudés sur les rubans.

Connexions sur châssis

Noter le morceau de scotch d’électricien rouge collé sur la plaquette de laiton qui recouvre le timon. Son rôle est d’assurer l’isolation du futur circuit des fanaux par rapport à cette plaquette. Voir plus loin.

Bronze phosphoreux en bande 200 × 1,5 × 0,20
Bandbrzph-200x0,20x1,5
1,20 € — prix 2019
chez micro-modele.