Setting the decoder

I will set the decoder using the Lokprogrammer. It would be possible but much harder with a simple hand remote control like my Lenz LH90.

Note 1: this page would be better located in the Electronics section, but it is also the logical continuation of the preceding page. It can however be used for programming any ESU Lokpilot or Loksound V4 decoder.

Note 2: if you don’t want to worry too much, see the end of this page right now…

What I want to get

I want to get the following operation:

In all the following manipulations, it will be necessary to configure the index, which makes it possible to increase the number of CVs although this number is limited by the DCC standard. Unless otherwise stated, this index will be equal to 4098, which is obtained by making CV31 = 16 and CV32 = 2. Be careful to take this into account, because otherwise you write in other CVs!

Lighting the white lights by F0, the reds by F1

Nothing very complicated (!) We start by looking in the table on the left of page 55 of the manual (Standard Mapping) for the reference lines corresponding to the keys F0 and F1. There are two numbers per key, one for forward (fwd), the other for reverse (rev).

Table page 55

For F0, these are lines 5 and 6; for F1, 7 and 8. These numbers are shown in the table on page 50. I have carried the key numbers over to this table to avoid round trips and I have framed the F0 key lines as an example.

We must now specify which outputs will be controlled the keys in question. This is to be specified in the CV K (Physical Outputs). The “alphabetical” CVs CV A to CV L are not real CVs. The previously identified lines should be consulted for actual numbers. How do we know that the CV to modify is the CV K? Well, we learn it this time by consulting the table at the bottom of page 53! It shows that this CV must contain the value 1 for the front lights, 2 for the tail lights, 4 for the AUX1 output (front red lights for me) and 8 for AUX4 (rear red lights for me). Simple, isn’t it?

Table page 53

Back on page 50, we see that the CV K of line No. 5 (F0 fwd) is CV330. This key must control the front white lights; so we have to put the value 1 in this CV:

CV330 = 1

For F0 rev, the appropriate CV is 346, which must turn on the rear white lights:

CV346 = 2

Let’s go a little faster now. For F1 fwd (line 7), the CV is 362, which must turn on the red rear lights (AUX2):

CV362 = 8

Finally, for F1 rev (line 8), the CV is 378, which must turn on the front red lights (AUX1):

CV378 = 4

Lighting all lights, white by F2, red by F3

There is nothing more complicated than before. Locating the lines for the keys F2 (9 and 10), and F3 (11 and 12). The CVs K of F2 are CV394 and CV410. Whatever the direction of travel, F2 must light the front (value 1) and rear (value 2) white lights:

CV394 = CV 410 = 1 + 2 = 3

Same for F3 (CV426 and CV442). Whatever the direction of travel, F3 must light the front (value 4) and rear (value 8) red lights:

CV426 = CV 442 = 4 + 8 = 12

Note that if we operate both F2 and F3, all the lights, both red and white, will be on! Why not, this can help check whether all lamps work!

Lighting cabs

Always the same method. The CVs K of F4 are CV458 and CV474. The cabs are on AUX3 (rear, value to apply 16) and AUX4 (front, value 32).

CV458 = 32

CV474 = 16

It remains to specify that the cabs must switch off when the locomotive starts. There is therefore a condition to add, which can be expressed as “the front cab lights up IF the machine is stopped”. How to express “machine stopped”? Let’s go back to page 51, Table Conditions block. We read CV A = 2 for Loco stops.

Table page 51

The CV A of the key F4 fwd is CV449 (table on page 50, do you still follow?) The initial value of this CV is not 0, but 4, which means (page 51 and above) Direction is forward. Yes, that’s the case. So let’s add the value 2:

CV449 = 4 + 2 = 6

Similarly, the CV A of the F4 rev key is CV465. Not surprisingly, the initial value of this resume is 8, which means (p.51) Direction is backward. So let’s add the value 2 too:

CV465 = 8 + 2 = 10

It can be checked that the cab turns off immediately when the machine starts. I tried to see if it was possible to delay the extinction, but I didn’t find anything.

We see that conditions to add to a function command, conditions corresponding to a logical AND (IF…), are programmed in CV A to I of each key.

Turning lights off on the coupling side

Let’s take the example of the back coupling. In this case, if the machine is moving forward, the rear lights, red, must be off (the front ones, white, remain lit). On the contrary, if the machine is in reverse, so pushes, the white lights, also rear, must be switched off, the red remaining lit in the front, because they are at the end of the convoy.

Let’s summarize. For the moment, the rear whites are controlled by pressing F0 rev; the rear reds by F1 fwd. If I want to switch them off by pressing F7, I must add the condition: these lights will be lit IF F7 is NOT actuated. What is the condition CV regarding F7? Always p. 51, we find CV C = 8: Key F7 is Off. For the key F0 rev, CV C is CV339; for F1 fwd, it is CV355.

Table page 51

CV339 = CV355 = 8

Conversely, if I want to switch off the rear whites or reds by pressing F8, I must condition their lighting to F8 NOT actuated, i.e. CV C = 32: Key F8 is Off. For F0 fwd, CV C is CV323, for F1 rev, it is CV371:

CV323 = CV371 = 32

You managed to follow so far without catching a headache? Do you agree with my reasoning? Still, it does not work! For this to work, you have to swap the values!

CV339 = CV355 = 32

CV323 = CV371 = 8

I did not try too long to understand, because I was also on the verge of a breakdown. It works, it’s the main thing. But it leaves me a taste of intellectual dissatisfaction.

Visual programming

It is possible to program (almost) everything that has been described in a much more “user-friendly” way by using the Decoder / Function Mapping section of the Lokprogrammer software. Why do I say it only at the end? Because those who don’t have the Lokprogrammer will be obliged to follow the “absolutely not user-friendly” method…

Visual programming

The manual method has some interest, though:

Paramétrage du décodeur

Je vais faire le paramétrage du décodeur à l’aide du Lokprogrammer. Ce serait possible mais beaucoup plus pénible avec une simple commande à main comme ma Lenz LH90.

Remarque 1 : cette page aurait plus sa place dans la rubrique Automatismes, mais elle est aussi la suite logique de la page précédente. Elle pourra néanmoins être utilisée pour la programmation de tout décodeur ESU Lokpilot ou Loksound V4.

Remarque 2 : si vous ne voulez pas trop vous casser la tête, allez voir tout de suite la fin de cette page…

Ce que je veux obtenir

Je veux obtenir le fonctionnement suivant :

Dans toutes les manipulations qui vont suivre, il faudra configurer l’index, qui permet d’augmenter le nombre de CV bien que ce nombre soit limité par la norme DCC. Sauf mention contraire, cet index vaudra 4098, ce qui s’obtient en faisant CV31 = 16 et CV32 = 2. Attention à bien tenir compte de cela, car sinon on écrit dans d’autres CV !

Allumage des feux blancs par F0, des rouges par F1

Rien de bien compliqué (!) On commence par chercher dans le tableau à gauche de la page 55 du manuel (Standard Mapping) les lignes repères correspondant aux touches F0 et F1. Il y a deux repères par touche, l’un pour la marche avant (fwd, forward), l’autre pour la marche arrière (rev, reverse).

Tableau page 55

Pour F0, ce sont les lignes 5 et 6 ; pour F1, 7 et 8. Ces numéros sont à reporter dans le tableau de la page 50. J’ai reporté les numéros de touches dans ce tableau pour éviter des allers-retours et j’y ai encadré les lignes de la touche F0 à titre d’exemple.

Il faut maintenant préciser quelles sorties vont commander les touches en question. Ceci est à spécifier dans la CV K (Physical Outputs). Les CV « alphabétiques » CV A à CV L ne sont pas de véritables CV. Il faut consulter les lignes précédemment repérées pour connaître les numéros effectifs. Comment sait-on que la CV à modifier est la CV K ? Eh bien on l’apprend en consultant cette fois le tableau en bas de la page 53 ! On y voit que cette CV doit contenir la valeur 1 pour les feux avant, 2 pour les feux arrière, 4 pour la sortie AUX1 (feux rouges avant pour moi) et 8 pour AUX4 (feux rouges arrière pour moi). Simple, non ? Non ?

Tableau page 53

De retour à la page 50, on voit que la CV K de la ligne no 5 (F0 fwd) est CV330. Cette touche doit commander les feux blancs avant ; il faut donc mettre la valeur 1 dans cette CV :

CV330 = 1

Pour F0 rev, la CV appropriée est la 346, qui doit allumer les feux blancs arrière :

CV346 = 2

Allons un peu plus vite maintenant. Pour F1 fwd (ligne 7), la CV est la 362, qui doit allumer les feux rouges arrière (AUX2) :

CV362 = 8

Enfin, pour F1 rev (ligne 8), la CV est la 378, qui doit allumer les feux rouges avant (AUX1) :

CV378 = 4

Allumage de tous les feux, blancs par F2, rouges par F3

Il n’y a rien de plus compliqué que précédemment. Repérage des lignes concernant les touches F2 (9 et 10), et F3 (11 et 12). Les CV K de F2 sont CV394 et CV410. Quel que soit le sens de marche, F2 doit allumer les feux blancs avant (valeur 1) et arrière (valeur 2) :

CV394 = CV 410 = 1 + 2 = 3

Même chose pour F3 (CV426 et CV442). Quel que soit le sens de marche, F3 doit allumer les feux rouges avant (valeur 4) et arrière (valeur 8) :

CV426 = CV 442 = 4 + 8 = 12

Notons que si on actionne à la fois F2 et F3, tous les feux, aussi bien rouges que blancs, seront allumés ! Pourquoi pas, cela peut permettre de s’assurer que toutes les lampes fonctionnent !

Allumage des cabines

Toujours la même méthode. Les CV K de F4 sont CV458 et CV474. Les cabines sont sur AUX3 (arrière, valeur à appliquer 16) et AUX4 (avant, valeur 32).

CV458 = 32

CV474 = 16

Il reste à indiquer que les cabines doivent s’éteindre lorsque la locomotive se met en marche. Il y a donc une condition à ajouter, qui peut s’exprimer ainsi : « la cabine avant doit s’éclairer SI la machine est à l’arrêt ». Comment exprimer « machine à l’arrêt » ? Retournons à la page 51, tableau Conditions block. On y lit CV A = 2 pour Loco stops.

Tableau page 51

La CV A de la touche F4 fwd est CV449 (tableau p. 50, vous suivez toujours ?) La valeur initiale de cette CV n’est pas 0, mais 4, qui signifie (p. 51 et ci-dessus) Direction is forward (sens marche avant). Oui, c’est bien le cas. Ajoutons donc la valeur 2 :

CV449 = 4 + 2 = 6

De même, la CV A de la touche F4 rev est CV465. Sans surprise, la valeur initiale de cette CV est 8, qui signifie (p. 51) Direction is backward (sens marche arrière). Ajoutons donc aussi la valeur 2 :

CV465 = 8 + 2 = 10

On peut vérifier que la cabine s’éteint immédiatement lorsque la machine démarre. J’ai essayé de voir s’il était possible de temporiser l’extinction, mais je n’ai rien trouvé.

On voit que des conditions à ajouter à une commande de fonction, conditions correspondant à un ET logique (SI…), se programment dans les CV A à I de chaque touche.

Coupure des feux du côté attelé

Prenons l’exemple de l’attelage à l’arrière. Dans ce cas, si la machine est en marche avant, les feux d’arrière, rouges, doivent être éteints (ceux d’avant, blancs, restent allumés). Au contraire, si la machine est en marche arrière, donc en pousse, ce sont les feux blancs, arrière aussi, qui doivent être coupés, les rouges restant allumés à l’avant, car ils sont en fin de convoi.

Résumons. Pour le moment, les blancs arrière sont commandés par appui sur F0 rev ; les rouges arrière par F1 fwd. Si je veux les couper par appui sur F7, il faut ajouter la condition : ces feux seront allumés SI F7 n'est PAS actionnée. Quelle est la CV de condition concernant F7 ? Toujours p. 51, on trouve CV C = 8 : Key F7 is Off. Pour la touche F0 rev, CV C est CV339 ; pour F1 fwd, c’est CV355.

Tableau page 51

CV339 = CV355 = 8

À l’inverse, si je veux couper les blancs ou les rouges avant par appui sur F8, il faut conditionner leur allumage à F8 NON actionnée, soit CV C = 32 : Key F8 is Off. Pour F0 fwd, CV C est CV323, pour F1 rev, c’est CV371 :

CV323 = CV371 = 32

Vous avez réussi à suivre jusqu’ici sans attraper un mal de tête ? Vous êtes d’accord avec mon raisonnement ? Pourtant, ça ne fonctionne pas ! Pour que ça marche, il faut permuter les valeurs !

CV339 = CV355 = 32

CV323 = CV371 = 8

Je n’ai pas cherché trop longtemps à comprendre, car j’étais aussi au bord du breakdown. Cela fonctionne, c’est le principal. Mais ça me laisse un goût d’insatisfaction intellectuelle.

Programmation visuelle

Il est possible de programmer (presque) tout ce qui vient d’être décrit de façon beaucoup plus « amicale » en utilisant la rubrique Decoder / Function mapping du logiciel Lokprogrammer. Pourquoi je ne le dis qu’à la fin ? Parce que ceux qui n’ont pas de Lokprogrammer seront bien obligés de passer par la méthode « inamicale »…

Programmation visuelle

La méthode manuelle a quand même quelque intérêt :