Electrical changes

Lights

The red lights are simply painted. Not acceptable for a recent model (but this one is about 20 years, I guess), so let’s drill at diameter 2 mm, fill with Kristal Klear (in several times to speed up drying). There is probably a better solution: plastic optic fiber for example, but I had none.

At first disassembly, I had destroyed the white lights LED, then the light guide. So I remade a tiny printed circuit of which here are the diagrams.

Lights circuit

The specified colors are those of the decoder wires. The 1.5 kΩ resistor, common to all LEDs, will be mounted on the lighting circuit.

Lighting

I know that some will think that I make my life unnecessarily complicated… I make the PCBs myself, which allows me to respect the pitch of the compartments. For a RIB car, there are four compartments and three platforms, which makes seven LEDs. Since we can not reasonably put more than four white LEDs in series (otherwise the voltage drop would be too high), I need two circuits, one with four LEDs, the other with three. In this case, depending on the voltage (DCC is different), the voltage dropped by the series resistor will not be the same in each circuit, and thus the current and the brightness may be different (Yes, I know, I quibble). To compensate for this difference, I place a (non-electroluminescent!) diode, which will have about the same voltage drop as an LED, in series with the three-LED circuit. It is a Zener diode, in this case having a 3.3 V Zener voltage.

Diagram and calculation of the lighting circuit

Lighting diagram

Here are actual values ​​measured with a 1.5 kΩ resistor. You will check that VR / I gives (approximately) 1500 Ω:

UPWR (V) VLED (V) VR (V) I (mA)
12 2,7 1,2 0,8
14 2,8 2,8 1,9

You may find the current too low. It is indeed very far from the rated current, but, for me, the luminosity is satisfactory; it depends of course on the type of LED. Choose LEDs as bright as possible, they will consume less current for the low illumination we need.

How do you say? The capacitor? Ah yes! It is used to store a little energy and to restore it in case of bad electrical contact. See this page for an explanation of how it works.

Modifications électriques

Feux

Les feux rouges sont simplement peints. Pas admissible pour un modèle récent (mais celui-ci date de 20 ans environ, je crois), donc perçage au diamètre 2, remplissage à la Kristal Klear (en plusieurs fois pour accélérer le séchage). Il y a sans doute mieux : fibre optique plastique par exemple, mais je n’en avais pas.

Au premier démontage, j’avais détruit la LED des feux blancs, puis ensuite le conduit de lumière. J’ai donc refait un tout petit circuit imprimé dont voici les schémas.

Circuit des feux

Les couleurs notées sont celles des fils du décodeur. La résistance de 1,5 kΩ, commune à toutes les LED, sera montée sur le circuit d’éclairage.

Éclairage

Je sais que certains vont penser que je me complique la vie inutilement… Je fabrique moi-même les circuits imprimés d’éclairage, ce qui me permet de respecter le pas des compartiments. Pour une voiture RIB, il y a quatre compartiments et trois plateformes, ce qui fait sept LED. Comme on ne peut pas raisonnablement mettre plus de quatre LED blanches en série (sinon la chute de tension serait trop forte), il me faut deux circuits, l’un avec quatre LED, l’autre avec trois. Mais dans ce cas, suivant la tension (continue, le cas du DCC est différent), la tension chutée par la résistance en série ne sera pas la même dans chacun des deux circuits, et donc le courant et la luminosité pourront être différents (je sais, je pinaille). Pour compenser cette différence, je place en série avec le circuit à trois LED une diode (non électroluminescente !) qui aura à peu près la même chute de tension qu’une LED. Il s’agit d’une diode Zener, en l’occurrence ayant une tension de Zener de 3,3 V

Schéma et calcul du circuit d’éclairage

Schéma d’éclairage

Voici des valeurs réelles relevées avec une résistance de 1,5 kΩ. Vous vérifierez que VR / I donne bien (environ) 1500 Ω :

Ualim (V) VLED (V) VR (V) I (mA)
12 2,7 1,2 0,8
14 2,8 2,8 1,9

Vous trouverez peut-être le courant trop faible. Il est en effet très loin du courant nominal, mais, pour moi, la luminosité est satisfaisante ; elle dépend bien sûr du type de LED. Prenez les plus lumineuses possible, elles consommeront moins de courant pour le faible éclairement dont nous avons besoin.

Comment dites-vous ? Le condensateur ? Ah oui ! Il est là pour emmagasiner un peu d’énergie et la restituer en cas de mauvais contact électrique. Voyez cette page pour l’explication du fonctionnement.