Mechanical changes (continued)

Observations during tests

I notice derailments that did not happen before, and, curiously, rather in pulling. Well, they happen mostly in a place where the track is particularly badly leveled, but not only.

However, I deduce that my “improvements” are somewhat questionable and in any case insufficient. Probable causes are:

For the first point, as the car height misses a few tenths of millimeter, I decide to slightly raise the bodies.

For the second point, and in conjunction with the first, I will create a three-point suspension.

And finally, concerning the third point, I decide to install conductive bearings on the driver car, something I have already done on several vehicles: DEV U50 cars, East metallic cars, three-axle South East metallized cars, VB2N, etc.

3-point suspension

Simple and (rather) quickly done. The bogie pivots must first be given a little more backlash by digging the chassis holes, from above, to a 5 mm diameter and a depth of about 0.5 mm. This is the longest point to realize, because the body and the interior fittings must be disassembled.

The chassis is supported on the bogies by 12 mm outer diameter rings. This support is obviously far too wide to let the bogies moving freely. On these rings, I glue an Evergreen 0.25 mm thick rectangular profile, on one end lengthwise (for an almost one-point fulcrum), and on the other end perpendicular (2-point fulcrum — first photo).

Once the (cyanoacrylate) glue dries, I cut what exceeds to get four tiny supports — second picture. Do not forget to scratch the paint before gluing!

Gluing of Evergreen profile

Gluing of profile on the 2-point fulcrum end.

Cutting of Evergreen profile

Result after trimming on the (false) one-point fulcrum end. False because it is actually 2-point: it lacks the possibility of pivoting on a transverse axis.

Logically, the height of the risen car should be increased by 0.25 mm. This is not the case: just 0.1 to 0.15 mm. It is usualy the contrary: you get a higher height than expected with the wedges thickness, and it is easy to explain: when stacking flat objects, the height of the set is greater than the sum of the objects thickness, due to bad contact and flatness defects. But I just observe the fact…

Good news: such equipped cars, launched individually at high speed, do not derail any more. Now let’s take a look at the case of the driver car, which has its brakes permanently tightened…

Conductive bearings

For the technique, I refer you to the article already quoted. Here, the axle point housings are of rather large diameter (almost 3 mm). The bearings stamp must therefore be large enough to center properly.

The electrical connections are made at the bottom of the bogie sides, with thin wire.

A long time ago, I replaced the original axles with ø 9 axles whose particularity is to have axes of 1.5 mm in diameter. Now, as usual, I want to get axles with isolated axes and non-insulated wheels: I have to find suitable sleeves.

Modified axle

I am fortunate to have one (and only one!) suited ballpoint pen cartridge, but I admit that I have not found anything standard on the Internet: the smallest Evergreen tube, ø 2.4 mm, has an inside diameter of only 1 mm. As for boring properly without a lathe…

The presence of sleeves on the axles makes it necessary to increase the width and height of the notches of the bogie beams: width 4 mm, depth 4 mm from the surface, see photo. This is done with a ø 4 milling bit.

View of a current pickup bogie

The insulated wheels are exchanged with the non insulated wheels of another car, which will therefore be equipped with all insulated wheel axles. After the necessary adjustments (see drawing): shortening of the half axles so that they do not touch each other, distance between points decreased by about 1 mm, distance back to back of the wheels equal to the length of the sleeve, ie 14.4 mm, the axles are mounted and their free rotation verified.

The wires wich were connected to the current pickup strips before are soldered to the connection between the bearings. The car is reassembled, and now it runs as well as its buddies.

Test again: at full speed (equivalent to 120 km/h) as at medium speed, in pulling as in pushing, in curve of 500 mm as on a series of turnouts, the entire train now passes without flinching.

0.25mm x 1.0mm Evergreen strips
ref. 269-PS-102
4.90 € per 10 — price 2015
at micro-modele.fr

ø 9.0 mm axles LU-SPARE-9.0-24.75DC
1.40 € piece per 10 — price 2014
at micro-modele.fr

Modifications mécaniques (suite)

Constatations pendant les essais

Je constate des déraillements qui ne se produisaient pas auparavant, et, curieusement, plutôt en marche tractée. Bon, ils se produisent surtout à un endroit où la voie est particulièrement mal nivelée, mais pas seulement.

J’en déduis quand même que mes « améliorations » sont quelque peu contestables et en tout cas insuffisantes. Les causes probables sont :

Pour le premier point, comme il manque un pouïème à la hauteur des voitures, je décide de rehausser légèrement les caisses.

Pour le deuxième point, et en conjonction avec le premier, je vais créer une portée en trois points.

Et enfin, concernant le troisième point, je décide d’installer des paliers conducteurs sur la voiture pilote, chose que j’ai déjà faite sur plusieurs matériels : voitures DEV U50, voitures métallisées Est, voitures à trois essieux métallisées Sud-Est, VB2N, etc.

Portée en trois points

Simple et (assez) vite fait. Il faut d’abord donner un peu plus de jeu aux pivots de bogies en creusant les trous du châssis, par dessus, au diamètre 5 sur environ 0,5 mm de profondeur. C’est ce point le plus long à réaliser, car il faut démonter la caisse et l’aménagement intérieur.

La portée des bogies s’effectue sur les couronnes de diamètre extérieur 12 du châssis. Cette portée est évidemment bien trop large pour laisser du débattement aux bogies. Sur cette couronne, je colle un profilé Evergreen rectangulaire de 0,25 mm d’épaisseur, d’un côté dans le sens de la longueur (portée presque en un point), et de l’autre perpendiculairement (portée en deux points — première photo).

Une fois la colle (cyano­acrylate) sèche, je coupe ce qui dépasse pour obtenir quatre minuscules portées — deuxième photo. Ne pas oublier de gratter la peinture avant collage !

Collage du profilé Evergreen

Collage du profilé côté portée en deux points.

Rognage du profilé Evergreen

Résultat après rognage côté (fausse) portée en un point. Fausse car il manque la possibilité de pivotement sur un axe transversal.

Logiquement, la hauteur de la voiture remontée devrait être augmentée de 0,25 mm. Il n’en est rien : à peine 0,1 à 0,15 mm. En général, c’est le contraire : vous obtenez une hauteur plus augmentée que l’épaisseur des cales, et c’est plus facile à expliquer : lorsqu’on empile des objets plats, la hauteur de l’ensemble est supérieure à la somme des épaisseurs des objets, à cause du mauvais contact et des défauts de planéité. Mais je me borne à constater…

Bonne nouvelle : les voitures ainsi équipées, lancées individuellement à grande vitesse, ne déraillent plus. Occupons-nous maintenant du cas de la voiture pilote, qui a en quelque sorte ses freins serrés en permanence…

Paliers conducteurs

Pour la technique, je vous renvoie à l’article déjà cité. Ici, les logements des pointes d’essieux sont d’assez grand diamètre (presque 3 mm). L’embouti des paliers devra donc être assez grand pour pouvoir se centrer correctement.

La liaison électrique se fait en bas des flancs de bogie, avec du fil fin.

J’ai depuis longtemps remplacé les essieux d’origine par des essieux ø 9 dont la particularité est d’avoir des axes de 1,5 mm de diamètre. Or je veux com­me d’habitude obtenir des essieux à demi axes isolés et roues non isolées : il faut que je trouve des manchons adéquats.

Essieu modifié

J’ai la chance d’avoir une (et une seule !) cartouche de stylo-bille qui convient, mais j’avoue n’avoir rien trouvé en standard sur Internet : le plus petit tube Evergreen, ø 2,4, a un diamètre intérieur de 1 mm seulement. Quant à le réaléser proprement sans tour…

La présence des manchons sur les axes fait qu’il faut augmenter la largeur et la hauteur des encoches des longerons de bogies : largeur 4, profondeur 4 à compter de la surface, voir photo. C’est fait avec une fraise ø 4.

Vue d’un bogie capteur de courant

Les roues isolées sont échangées avec les roues non isolées d’une autre voiture, qui sera donc équipée d’essieux à roues toutes isolées. Après les indispensables réglages (voir dessin) : raccourcissement des demi essieux pour qu’ils ne se touchent pas, distance entre pointes diminuée d’environ 1 mm, distance dos à dos des roues égale à la longueur du manchon, soit 14,4 mm, les essieux sont remontés et leur libre rotation vérifiée.

Les fils qui aboutissaient aux frotteurs sont soudés à la liaison entre les paliers. La voiture est remontée, et elle roule maintenant aussi bien que ses copines.

Re-test : à pleine vitesse (équivalente à 120 km/h) comme à vitesse moyenne, en traction comme en pousse, en courbe de 500 mm comme sur une série d’aiguilles, l’ensemble de la rame passe maintenant sans broncher.

Strips Evergreen 0,25mm x 1,0mm
réf. 269-PS-102
4,90 € les 10 — prix 2015
chez micro-modele.fr

Essieux ø 9,0 LU-SPARE-9,0-24,75DC
1,40 € pièce par 10 — prix 2014
chez micro-modele.fr