Mechanical changes (continued)

Concerning intermediate couplers, I initially used very much modified Ribu boxes, but the result was not satisfactory because the elongation kinematics was no longer respected and the return springs had become traction springs so that the train played the accordion in acceleration, all the more since the driver car opposed a considerable running resistance, with its current pickup strips. So I then decided to use large size Makette drawbars.

But using NEM boxes was not possible because it was prevented by the very forward and also too low position of the drawbars (because of the bogies). It was also necessary to ensure the train’s electrical continuity.

I first tried a complicated system of double connector extensions, which would have made it possible to turn a car without reversing its polarity. But it was useless for such a train whose composition in service is normally immutable.

So I imagined to cut the NEM boxes that had become useless and replace them with a brass tube long enough to ensure the cars rubber gangway connectors junction. Here is the fruit of this cogitation…

NB: if you are interested in knowing what I tried with the Ribu drawbars, you can consult this page.

Makette drawbars

So I tried a 3 x 6 mm rectangular brass tube coupler, which will be relatively simple to make. Here are two aspects of it:

The tubes, longer than NEM boxes, make it possible to avoid an intermediate part. In addition, their internal height (2.4 mm) allows very little machining to insert a 2.54 mm pitch tulip connector.

The problem of locking is solved with a bronze wire loop. This loop was initially placed under the boxes. In use, I found that it was better to place it at the top, because it thus prevents the couplers from bending during the coupling.

Rectangular tube coupler, view 1

Rectangular tube coupler, view 2

Note: I had first tried with a square tube and a single centered contact, the tube acting as the second pole. But this solution posed a certain number of problems: short circuits between the base of the drawbar and the wheels, bad contact between the two boxes facing each other.

Drawing of the coupler

Electrical coupler profile dimensioning

Making

The brass tube is milled (ø 6 milling bit) across every 12 mm to a 2 mm depth. Milling is required for each half coupling. The tube is held between two 10 mm thick plywood jaws which have been grooved together with the same ø 6 milling bit, to a 2 mm depth. When machining, the wood is notched, but it does not matter.

Milling of boxes

After turning the tube upside down, the locking grooves can be milled, every two boxes. For this, I use a PCB engraving milling bit.

Finally the tube is cut with a “Bocfil” saw in 12 mm lengths, then rectified to 10.5 mm with the milling machine to obtain the dimensions indicated above.

Grooving the boxes

3 × 6 × 500 rectangular brass tube
ref. Tubrectlaiton-6x3
6.00 € - price 2015
at micro-modele

Modifications mécaniques (suite)

Pour les attelages intermédiaires, j’ai dans un premier temps utilisé des boîtiers Ribu très modifiés, mais le résultat n’était pas satisfaisant, car la cinématique d’élongation n’était plus respectée, et les ressorts de rappel des timons étaient devenus des ressorts de traction, ce qui fait que la rame jouait à l’accordéon en accélération, d’autant plus que la voiture pilote opposait une résistance importante à l’avancement, avec ses frotteurs de prise de courant. J’ai donc décidé ensuite d’utiliser des timons Makette grand modèle.

Mais l’utilisation de têtes NEM n’était pas possible, car la position très avancée des timons (à cause des bogies) et aussi trop basse l’empêchait. Il fallait de plus assurer la continuité électrique de la rame.

J’ai d’abord essayé un système compliqué de rallonges à double connecteur, qui aurait permis de retourner une voiture sans inverser sa polarité. Mais c’était inutile pour une RIB dont la composition en service est normalement immuable.

J’ai donc imaginé de supprimer les boîtiers NEM devenus inutiles et de les remplacer par un tube laiton assez long pour assurer la jonction bourrelet contre bourrelet des voitures. Voici le fruit de cette cogitation…

NB : s’il vous intéresse de savoir ce que j’avais tenté avec les timons Ribu, vous pouvez consulter cette page.

Timons Makette

J’ai donc essayé un attelage à base de tube rectangulaire de 3 × 6 mm en laiton, qui permettra d’obtenir une fabrication relativement simple. En voici deux aspects :

Les tubes, plus longs que les boîtiers NEM, permettent de se passer de pièce intermédiaire. De plus, leur hauteur interne (2,4 mm) permet avec très peu d’usinage d’y insérer un connecteur tulipe au pas de 2,54 mm.

Le problème du verrouillage est résolu avec une boucle en fil de bronze. Cette boucle était au début placée sous les boîtiers. À l’usage, je me suis aperçu qu’il valait mieux la placer au dessus, car elle empêche ainsi les attelages de fléchir lors de l’accouplement.

Attelage à tube rectangulaire vue 1

Attelage à tube rectangulaire vue 2

Note : j’avais d’abord essayé avec un tube carré et un seul contact centré, le tube faisant office de deuxième pôle. Mais cette solution posait un certain nombre de problèmes : courts-circuits entre socle du timon et roues, mauvais contact entre les deux boîtiers en vis à vis.

Plan de l’attelage

Attelage électrique cotation du profil

Fabrication

Le tube laiton est fraisé (fraise ø 6) en travers tous les 12 mm sur une profondeur de 2 mm. Il faut un fraisage pour chaque demi-accouplement. Le tube est maintenu entre deux « mordaches » en contreplaqué ép. 10 mm qui ont été rainurées ensemble avec la même fraise ø 6, sur une profondeur de 2 mm. Lors de l’usinage, le bois est entaillé, mais cela importe peu.

Fraisage des boîtiers

Après retournement, il est possible de fraiser les rainures de verrouillage, cela concernant un élément sur deux. J’utilise pour cela une fraise de gravure pour circuit imprimé.

Enfin le tube est débité à la scie Bocfil en longueurs de 12 mm, longueurs rectifiées ensuite à 10,5 mm à la fraiseuse pour obtenir les cotes indiquées ci-dessus.

Rainurage des boîtiers

Tube rectangulaire laiton 3 × 6 × 500
réf. Tubrectlaiton-6x3
6,00 € — prix 2015
chez micro-modele