RIB profile view

Rame inox de banlieue Jouef (Suburban Stainless Steel Train) with modified couplers.

Observation

It is not very brilliant!

Finally, we will add an interior lighting, which will pose the problem of the electric junction of cars, because this lighting will be controlled by a function decoder.

Mechanical changes

Changing the axles

I bought ø 9 mm axles at micro-model. Only trouble, the length between axle ends wich is different from the original (24.75 mm instead of 24). And impossible to interchange the wheels because the diameter of the new axles is only 1.5 mm.

It will be enough to grind 3/10 mm of the point on each side, with a diamond or corundum disk. Be careful, however, to carefully deburr and even round the flat with a file. The diameter is now practically correct, and the flanges are considerably smaller (1.1 mm instead of 1.3).

Attention, when reassembly, to the current pickup strips on the driver car. Let’s admit here an effort from the manufacturer: the current pickup is done on the four axles of the car.

Couplers

There are two cases to consider: that of the end car that will be coupled to the machine, and that of the intermediate cars. For the first, I did not want to cut the headstock and the bottom of the body.

There is the SMD system. These drawbars are sold in pairs, whereas only one is needed a priori. But RIBs often circulate in double. You’ll then necessary have to order two bags if you want to make a realistic train.

Photo SMD.

Attelage SMD

There remains a doubt: the SMD drawbar is actually a Makette small model, and I am not sure that its elongation will be sufficient. A first test with a suitable Ribu coupler with significantly more distant pivot points showed a buffer mess when pushing the train with the BB 16500 LS Models, despite spiral entry curves, a minimum radius of 500 mm, and large radius Peco turnouts. Temporary parade: the machine is fitted with an adjustable coupler (NEM 363) which puts out the buffers by more than a millimeter.

Lerge Makette drawbar model

This is the KKK1 model whose base is 16 × 16 mm. But it cannot be mounted under the chassis: the ultra thin SMD model itself comes flush with the bottom of the body. But let’s get inside. There is in the head car (or tail?) a large empty place at this location. It will suffice to cut a large enough hole in the bottom to let the drawbar pass through, and to tinker a fastener for the return spring that will be underneath.

In order for the drawbar to be at a suitable height (and also to plug holes resulting from previous tests), I have glued a 0.75 mm polystyrene plate over the frame base. The assembly is then milled with a rectangular hole, and its rear edge is milled (by hand) at an angle to give way for the return spring.

Makette modifed coupler

  1. Profi Fleischmann coupler head
  2. Brass strip equipped with PCB pins
  3. NEM box
  4. Temporary wooden holding wedge
  5. Notched ø 1 rod for spring attachment
  6. 13 × 7 mm hole milled in the chassis
  7. Mounting screw M 1,6 × 4. Better, but not available at that time: P-tite miniature screws that are self-tapping in the plastic and do not require to enlarge the base holes.

Modified Profi coupler head

As it passes under the body, the Makette NEM box is not at the correct height. SMD has solved this problem by providing a dovetail, which is not easy to make by hand. I use another technique that consists of soldering on a brass strip two 2.54 mm pitch PCB pins. This strip, narrowed at the back to fit into the NEM box, will be locked into it with a little soldering.

The Profi head (but this is valid for the Roco heads and probably others too) receives two ø 0.8 mm 2.54 mm spaced holes, 1 mm from its end. Its tail is then cut. The head is finally mounted onto the CI pins.

Profi head drilling

Brass strip with pins

  1. Brass strip drilled at ø 0,8 mm and pair of 2,54 pitch pins.
  2. If needed, shortening of the pins in the vice; the useful part is that included between the jaws.
  3. Soldering of the pins on the reverse side of the strip. The vise is equipped with its rubber jaws, to limit the heat losses.
  4. Aspect of soldering.
  5. Removing the insulating support after reversing it into the vice.
  6. Mounting the head. The rear part of the pins, on the soldering side, has been cut and refined with a file.

The advantages of this technique are that it is possible to adjust very easily both the drawbar length and the head height. And the holding is much firmer than with a dovetail head.

ø 9,0 axles ref. LU-SPARE-9,0-24,75DC
1,40 € per piece by 10 - price 2014
at micro-modele

Pair of RIB drawbars
11.00 € - price 2013
Ref. SMD 096 at smd-productions

10 pairs of Makette KKK1 elongation drawbars
35.10 € - price 2015
at Star Boutique

Black steel 1,4 × 5 P-tite screw
0.15 € each - price 2016
at micro-modele

RIB vue de profil

Rame inox de banlieue Jouef avec attelage modifié.

Le constat

Ce n’est pas bien brillant !

Enfin, nous allons ajouter un éclairage intérieur, ce qui va poser le problème de la jonction électrique des voitures, car cet éclairage sera commandé par un décodeur de fonctions.

Modifications mécaniques

Changement des essieux

J’ai acheté des essieux ø 9 chez micro-modèle (ex-Train Magique). Seul ennui, l’entraxe différent (24,75 au lieu de 24). Et impossible d’échanger les roues, car le diamètre des nouveaux axes d’essieux n’est que de 1,5 mm.

Il suffira de meuler de 3/10 de mm la pointe de chaque côté, avec un disque diamanté ou au corindon. Veiller cependant à ébavurer soigneusement, voire à arrondir le méplat à la lime. Le diamètre est maintenant pratiquement exact, et les boudins nettement plus petits (1,1 au lieu de 1,3).

Attention, lors du remontage, aux lamelles de prise de courant sur la voiture « pilote ». Reconnaissons ici un effort de la part du fabricant : la prise de courant se fait sur les quatre essieux de la voiture.

Attelages

Il y a deux cas à considérer : celui de la voiture d’extrémité qui sera attelée à la machine, et celui des voitures intermédiaires. Pour la première, je ne désirais pas entailler la traverse de tête et le bas de caisse.

Il y a bien le système SMD. Ces timons sont vendus par deux, alors qu’il n’en faut qu’un seul a priori. Mais les RIB circulent souvent en double. Il faudra alors commander deux sachets si l’on veut faire une rame réaliste.

Cliché SMD.

Attelage SMD

Reste un doute : le timon SMD est en fait un petit modèle Makette, et je ne suis pas sûr que son élongation suffise. Un premier essai avec attelage Ribu adapté dont les points de pivotement sont nettement plus écartés avait montré un mariage de tampons en pousse avec la BB 16500 LS Models, malgré des courbes à raccordements paraboliques, un rayon minimum de 500 mm, et des aiguilles Peco grand rayon. Parade provisoire : pose sur la machine d’un attelage réglable (NEM 363) qui écarte les tampons d’un bon millimètre supplémentaire.

Timon Makette grand modèle

Il s’agit du modèle KKK1 dont la base fait 16 × 16 mm. Mais il n’est pas possible de le monter sous le châssis : déjà, le modèle SMD, ultra mince, vient affleurer le bas de caisse. Qu’à cela ne tienne : montons-le à l’intérieur ! Il y a dans la voiture de tête (ou de queue ?) une grande place vide à cet endroit. Il suffira de percer un trou assez grand dans le fond pour laisser passer le timon, et de bricoler une attache pour le ressort de rappel qui sera, lui, en dessous.

Pour que le timon soit à une hauteur convenable (et aussi pour boucher des trous résultant d’essais antérieurs), j’ai collé par dessus le fond de châssis une plaque de poly­styrène de 0,75 mm. L’ensemble est ensuite fraisé d’un trou rectangulaire, et son bord postérieur est fraisé (à la main) en biais pour faire place au ressort de rappel.

Attelage extrémité, Makette modifié

  1. Tête Profi Fleischmann
  2. Bande de laiton munie de broches pour CI
  3. Boîtier NEM
  4. Cale en bois de maintien provisoire
  5. Tige ø 1 encochée pour accrochage du ressort
  6. Trou 13 × 7 fraisé dans le châssis
  7. Vis M 1,6 × 4 de fixation du socle. Mieux, mais non dispo­ni­bles à ce moment : vis miniatures P-tite qui sont autota­rau­deuses dans le plastique et ne nécessitent pas d’agrandir les trous du socle.

Tête d’attelage Profi modifiée

Comme il passe sous la caisse, le boîtier NEM Makette n’est pas à la bonne hauteur. SMD a résolu ce problème en prévoyant une queue d’a­ronde, ce qui n’est pas évident à faire à la main. J’utilise une autre technique qui consiste à souder sur une bande de laiton deux broches pour circuit imprimé au pas de 2,54 mm. Cette bande, rétrécie à l’arrière pour rentrer dans le boîtier NEM, sera bloquée dans celui-ci avec un peu de soudure.

La tête Profi (mais c’est valable pour les têtes Roco et sans doute d’autres aussi) reçoit, à 1 mm de son extrémité, deux trous ø 0,8 espacés bien sûr de 2,54 mm. Sa queue est ensuite sectionnée. Elle (la tête, hein, pas la queue) est enfin montée sur les broches pour CI.

Perçage de la tête Profi

Bande laiton avec broches

  1. La bande de laiton percée à ø 0,8 et la paire de broches au pas de 2,54.
  2. Raccourcissement éventuel des broches à l’étau ; la partie utile est celle comprise entre les mors.
  3. Soudage des broches sur l’envers de la bande. L’étau est muni de ses mordaches en caoutchouc, pour limiter les déperditions de chaleur.
  4. Aspect des soudures.
  5. Retrait du support isolant après retournement dans l’étau.
  6. Montage de la tête. La partie arrière des broches, côté soudures, a été sectionnée et affinée à la lime.

Les avantages de cette technique sont qu’il est possible de régler très facilement à la fois la longueur du timon et la hauteur de la tête. Et la tenue est bien plus ferme qu’avec une tête à queue d’aronde.

Essieux ø 9,0 Réf. LU-SPARE-9,0-24,75DC
1,40 € pièce par 10 — prix 2014
chez micro-modèle

Paire de timons pour RIB
11,00 € — prix 2013
Réf. SMD 096 chez smd-productions

10 paires de timons à élongation Makette KKK1
35,10 € — prix 2015
chez Star Boutique

Vis P-tite 1,4 × 5 acier noir
0,15 € pièce — prix 2016
chez micro-modele