Mechanical works (continued): motor car

Chassis milling

In order to power the trailer, it will be necessary to pass wires along the motor car, six wires to be precise (two for current pickup by the rear bogie — black and red — and others, blue, white, yellow and green, for the trailer lanterns and lighting). The best solution I found is to mill a groove into the chassis. Width and depth: 2 mm. I did it only on one side, but it would have been more convenient for the wiring to make two symmetrical grooves.

Milled chassis centre

To prevent chips from falling into the transmission, which was copiously greased, I disassembled what was possible: printed circuit board, motor and its gimbals, and protected the rest with adhesive tape.

The zamak is easily machined. As a precaution, I lubricated with “WD 40”, which posed some difficulties when I had to glue the wires!

Cab

For future wiring of the front lights, we have to remove the internal partition (B) which divides this cab in two, and enlarge the housings (F) by about 0.5 mm, through which the light guide passes and where will be placed the bicolor LEDs.

Work under cab

Inside the cab, two strips of plastic card (D) of about 5 mm wide are glued to serve as holds for the future PCB visible on the left with the upper front light LED (A). But let us not anticipate… Let us also note that the light guide is shortened (C) to exceed the “ceiling” only by 4 mm.

I roughly drew with a felt pen the path of the wires which will connect the LEDs to the circuit. This is actually the current path of the light guide: so, I'm sure there will be enough place.

I also sawed the pedestal (E) of the driver's chest, very visible from the outside and of a too Germanic appearance, to replace it with a more Frenchy, whole character (i.e. having what he needs to sit) and without a cap…

As long as the parts are separated, let's take advantage to cover the top and inner sides with black electrician tape to minimize light leakage. For the same purpose, a rounded piece in the shape of the body, black plastic (CD case!) or black painted Evergreen is glued (Kristal Klear) above the window panes (placed below it would be easier to set up, but it would be visible from the outside). Similarly, the desk and the bosses covering the future LEDs locations are painted black.

Anti-light cap

See also photos next page.

Travaux mécaniques (suite) : motrice

Fraisage du châssis

Pour alimenter la remorque en électricité, il va falloir passer des conducteurs, six pour être précis (deux pour le captage du courant par le bogie arrière — noir et rouge — et les autres, bleu, blanc, jaune et vert, pour les fanaux et l’éclairage de la remorque). La meilleure solution que j’aie trouvée est de pratiquer des fraisages dans le châssis. Largeur et profondeur : 2 mm. Je ne l’ai fait que d’un côté, mais il aurait été plus pratique pour le câblage de faire deux passages symétriques.

Centre du châssis fraisé

Pour éviter toute introduction de copeaux dans la transmission, copieusement graissée, j’ai démonté ce qui était possible : circuit imprimé, moteur et ses cardans, et protégé le reste avec de l’adhésif.

Le zamak s’usine facilement. Par précaution, j’ai lubrifié avec du « WD 40 », ce qui a posé quelques difficultés quand il a fallu coller les fils !

Cabine

Pour le futur câblage des feux avant, il faut supprimer la cloison interne (B) qui partage cette cabine en deux, et agrandir d’environ 0,5 mm les logements (F) par où passe le conduit de lumière, et où prendront place les LED bicolores.

Travaux sous cabine

À l’intérieur, deux bandes de carte plastique (D) d’environ 5 mm de large sont collées, pour servir de cales au futur circuit imprimé visible à gauche, avec la LED (A) du feu frontal. Mais n’anticipons pas… Notons aussi que le conduit de lumière est raccourci (C) pour ne dépasser du « plafond » que de 4 mm.

J’ai grossièrement tracé au feutre le chemin des fils qui relieront les LED au circuit. C’est en fait le chemin actuel du conduit de lumière : ainsi, je suis sûr qu’il y aura une place suffisante.

J’ai aussi scié le socle (E) du buste du conducteur, très visible de l’extérieur et d’apparence trop germanique, pour le remplacer par un personnage plus franchouillard, entier (ayant ce qu’il faut pour s’asseoir, quoi) et sans casquette…

Tant que les pièces sont séparées, profitons-en pour recouvrir le dessus et les faces internes de scotch d’électricien noir pour minimiser les fuites de lumière. Dans le même but, une pièce arrondie épousant la forme de la caisse, en plastique noir (boîtier de CD !) ou en Evergreen peint en noir est collée (Kristal Klear) au dessus des vitrages (placée en dessous, elle serait plus facile à mettre en place, mais elle serait visible de l’extérieur). De même, le pupitre et les bossages recouvrant les emplacements des futures LED sont peints en noir.

Casquette anti lumière

Voir aussi photos page suivante.