Mechanical works

Correcting the bodies deformation

It will be necessary to carry out a selective “counter-deformation”, because, as already seen, the deformation is greater at clips location than on the rest of the body. On the other hand, I prefer to avoid hot proceeding (hair dryer or very hot water), because it is almost impossible to control the behavior of the plastic material under these conditions, and the remedy may be worse than the evil.

So I make a 10 mm plywood template (the same will fit for both vehicles). I install it at the bottom of the body.

Template

The slots visible in the middle of the template allow the body lugs to take place. The template corners should be rounded.

I apply pressure to the clips location with plastic clamps to avoid degrading the painting.

Counter-deformation

I let it simmer at least three days per body (one week is better), to get a result not perfect, but enough for the body to hold on its chassis. But, of course, there is no reason to suppose that the deformation will not be back some day…

Extension of body lugs

Into 1 mm thick Evergreen, I cut pieces similar to the original lugs, with just a “claw” longer by about 1 mm. This jutting out, probably exaggerated, may be adjusted after testing. These pieces are glued (Uhu Strong & Safe) on one side of the existing lugs. On the motor car, it is better to glue them towards the front side because their housing in the chassis is slightly offset in this direction. There is also a small outgrowth of the windows, acting as a spring, to cut.

Mounted body lug

Reconstruction of the trailer end side skirt

On the trailer driving cab end, Roco has provided the possibility of coupling another trailer, hence the presence of an opening in the skirt to allow the drawbar to pass. But it's really not aesthetic when the DMU is alone. Too bad that Roco did not provide a complementary piece, as it did for its unified railcar trailers.

This is part of my intentions, but I hesitate to start, especially because of the difficulty to reconstitute the paint shades to apply.

Travaux mécaniques

Rattrapage de la déformation des caisses

Il va falloir procéder à une « contre-déformation » sélective, car, comme déjà vu, la déformation est plus accentuée au niveau des clips que sur le reste de la caisse. D’autre part, je préfère éviter de procéder à chaud (sèche cheveux ou eau très chaude), car il est presque impossible de maîtriser le comportement de la matière plastique dans ces conditions, et le remède risque d’être pire que le mal.

Je fabrique donc un gabarit en contreplaqué de 10 mm (le même conviendra pour les deux véhicules). Je l’installe au niveau des bas de caisse.

Gabarit

Les fentes visibles au milieu du gabarit permettent le passage des ergots d’accrochage de la caisse. Les angles doivent être arrondis.

J’applique une pression à l’endroit des clips avec des pinces à ressort ou des serre-joints en plastique pour ne pas dégrader la peinture.

Contre-déformation

Je laisse mijoter au moins trois jours par caisse (une semaine, c’est mieux), pour obtenir un résultat pas parfait, mais suffisant pour qu’elle tienne sur son châssis. Mais, bien sûr, rien ne permet de supposer que la déformation ne va pas réapparaître…

Allongement des ergots de caisse

Je taille dans de l’Evergreen épaisseur 1 mm des pièces semblables aux ergots d’origine, avec simplement une « griffe » plus longue d’environ 1 mm. Ce dépassement, sans doute exagéré, pourra être ajusté après essai. Ces pièces sont collées (Uhu Strong & Safe) sur un côté des ergots existants. Sur la motrice, il vaut mieux les coller côté avant, car leur logement dans le châssis est légèrement décalé dans ce sens. Il y a aussi une petite excroissance des vitrages, faisant ressort, à couper.

Ergot de caisse monté

Reconstitution de la jupe de bas de caisse de la remorque

Côté cabine de conduite de la remorque, Roco a prévu la possibilité d’atteler une deuxième rame, d’où la présence d’une échancrure dans la jupe pour laisser passer le timon. Mais ce n’est vraiment pas esthétique lorsque la rame est toute seule. Dommage que Roco n’ait pas jugé bon de fournir une pièce de complément, comme il l’a fait pour ses remorques d’autorail unifiées.

Cela fait partie de mes intentions, mais j’hésite à me lancer, surtout en raison de la difficulté de reconstituer les teintes des peintures à appliquer.