RGP TEE profile view

Roco TEE Rame à grand parcours after improvement.

Observation

Deformed body

The problem of the deformed body that does not hold on the chassis (both for the motor car and the trailer) was known to me and signaled by the seller. But the evil is worse than expected, because the deformation is irregular along the sides. It is precisely where the clips are that the sides move away the most from the chassis.

On the other hand, at the center of the bodies, lugs are supposed to catch on the chassis, but they are a little too short to really work.

The positive point is that it is very easy to disassemble the bodies: just shake (a little!) and the chassis fall!

Painting

The painting is gloss (I have nothing against), is unfortunately very thick and has an orange peel appearance.

Interior fittings

In terms of interior fittings, this model is well-old, i. e. it is simplified to the extreme. The interior lighting is made, as for Roco unified trailers, by incandescent lamps and light guide.

Electricity

The trailer is equipped with power pickup strips on the four axles (some of which are twisted and others fully disassembled) and a bogie is equipped with a two-pole reversing switch working by friction on the axles, which adds further travel resistance. This arrangement, which could be justified at the time when this DMU was designed, about twenty years ago, can today be replaced advantageously by a power supply from the motor car.

As for the decoder, there is an eight point NEM plug and all the necessary space in the motor car. But, apart from the motor of course, only the front lights of the motor car are controlled.

Mechanical

There is only one driving axle per bogie — the one of the front bogie has a rubber tyre. It is a curious solution, which makes a transmission shaft pass all along the chassis, whereas it would have been simpler to motorize the two axles of the front bogie, as in reality indeed!

Tests

The first tests, in analog mode, well demonstrate the importance of the trailer travelling resistance: starting under 4.5 V; maximum speed under 12 V: about 170 km/h — to scale of course — motor car alone, and 130 only with the trailer! The train passes over the smallest Fleischmann radius (356 mm), with an elongation much greater than strictly necessary. The bellows, almost joined in alignment, then spread by more than 5 mm.

The trailer is taller than the motor car by about 0.5 mm and it is visible!

RGP TEE vue de profil

Rame à grand parcours TEE Roco après modification.

Le constat

Caisse déformée

Le problème de la caisse déformée qui ne tient pas sur le châssis (tant pour la motrice que pour la remorque) était connu de moi et signalé par le vendeur. Mais le mal est pire que prévu, car la déformation est irrégulière le long des parois. C’est justement à l’endroit où se trouvent les clips que les parois s’écartent le plus du châssis.

D’autre part, il y a au centre des caisses des ergots sensés s’accrocher au châssis, mais ils sont un peu trop courts pour vraiment jouer leur rôle.

Le point positif est qu’il est très facile de démonter les caisses : il suffit de secouer (un peu !) pour que les châssis tombent !

Peinture

La peinture, brillante (je n’ai rien contre), est malheureusement très épaisse et en « peau d’orange ».

Aménagement

Concernant l’aménagement intérieur, ce modèle fait bien son âge, c.-à-d. qu’il est simplifié à l’extrême. L’éclairage intérieur se fait, comme pour les remorques unifiées, par lampes à incandescence et conduit de lumière.

Électricité

La remorque est équipée sur les quatre essieux de lames de prise de courant (dont certaines sont tordues et d’autres carrément déboîtées) et un bogie est muni d’un dispositif d’inversion à deux pôles, qui fonctionne par frottement sur les axes, ce qui rajoute encore de la résistance à l’avancement. Cet arrangement, qui pouvait se justifier au moment de la conception de cette rame, il y a une vingtaine d’années, peut aujourd’hui être remplacé avantageusement par une alimentation à partir de la motrice.

Concernant le montage d’un décodeur, il y a une prise NEM huit broches et toute la place nécessaire dans la motrice. Mais, en dehors du moteur bien sûr, seuls les feux avant de la motrice sont commandés.

Mécanique

Il n’y a qu’un seul essieu moteur par bogie — celui du bogie avant est bandagé. C’est une curieuse solution, qui fait passer un arbre de transmission tout le long du châssis, alors qu’il aurait été plus simple de motoriser les deux essieux du bogie AV, comme en réalité d’ailleurs !

Essais

Les premiers essais, en analogique, montrent bien l’importance de la résistance à l’avancement de la remorque : démarrage sous 4,5 V ; vitesse maxi sous 12 V : environ 170 km/h — à l’échelle bien sûr — motrice seule, et 130 seulement avec la remorque ! La rame passe sur le plus petit rayon Fleischmann (356 mm), avec une élongation bien plus grande que celle strictement nécessaire. Les soufflets, presque joints en alignement, s’écartent alors de plus de 5 mm.

La remorque est plus haute que la motrice d’environ 0,5 mm et ça se voit !