Decoration

There is not much to add to the decoration of these cars. However, for the 1st class compartments, I wanted to add headrests, mirrors and pictures. I believe that there were also pictures in 2nd class, but they are a little tedious to stick! So for the moment only the 1st class privileged people will enjoy this!

This work will obviously be much easier on the disassembled interior fittings.

Headrests

No question for me to do this in painting, too tedious. The headrests are therefore made of small pieces of self-adhesive labels. Small defect: the sides of the headrests, which should be treated, are not.

Mirrors

I have got for a long time a set of self-adhesive metallic paper rolls of different colors (very good for Christmas decorations), including a silver version, into which I cut out small rectangles of 6 × 2.5 mm.

Photos

I went on the Internet and found real black and white photographs of simple subjects (landscapes, statues, architecture). There are about ten different subjects. Obviously, the huge reduction makes them virtually no longer recognizable, but that’s just for the beauty of it. Size (images imported under MS Word, here magnified about five times): 3.4 × 2.1 mm.

Photos for decoration

The photos are printed on self-adhesive labels. The paper being of ordinary quality, after having pre-cut the images, I passed a blow of Humbrol gloss acrylic varnish.

If I had to do it again, I would print the entire partition, at least the part above the seats, with the pictures and a frame to position the mirror. I could thus stick this mirror comfortably before placing everything into the fittings.

Reassembling

Fittings and bogies on chassis

After putting the drawbars back in place, I position the fittings on the chassis, I pass the wires through the pivot holes, and I snap the whole.

I pass the wires through the bogie pivots, and while holding the wires taut enough, so that they do not get caught anywhere, I snap the bogies.

I solder the wires to the bogie PCB (be careful of the polarity!) and then I gently pull the excess from the top of the fittings — they should slide without too much difficulty. I leave a little slack.

Body on chassis

I put the body near the chassis, I pass the wires through the oblong holes drilled in the racks. I place the body onto the chassis, but I do not snap it.

I solder the wires on the lighting strip. I stick the strip to spacers with thick double-sided adhesive.

Reassembling the body

Note the spacer for the strip provided with its adhesive with its protective paper. The steps are painted light wood color.

Functional test

With an ohmmeter, I check the electrical continuity between the two bogies, for the same rail line, and the insulation between the two lines of rails.

I power a track coupon, I put the car on it and I check the lighting of the strip. If a bistable reed is used, it may need to be switched on by means of the control magnet.

End of reassembling

I completely snap the body onto the chassis. Watch out for cables that can get caught in between. I put the buffers back in place if necessary. I glue the accessories that would have escaped during the operations.

I snap the roof. It's over! Who said “at last”?

Lightened “Nord Rapide” coach

Metallic adhesive paper ref. AD 185
Size 1 x 0.33 m, pack of 5 colors:
Gold, silver, red, blue and green
10,91 € - price 2015 at Ogéo

Décoration

Il n’y a pas grand chose à ajouter à la décoration de ces voitures. Toutefois, je voulais, pour les compartiments de 1re classe, ajouter des têtières, des miroirs et des photos. Pour ces dernières, je crois qu’il y en avait aussi en 2e classe, mais c’est un peu fastidieux à coller ! Donc j’en reste pour le moment aux privilégiés de 1re !

Ce travail sera beaucoup plus facile, évidemment, sur l’aménagement démonté.

Têtières

Pas question pour moi de faire cela en peinture, trop fastidieux. Les têtières sont donc faites de petits morceaux d’étiquettes autocollantes. Petit défaut : les côtés des appuis-tête, qui devraient être traités, ne le sont pas.

Miroirs

J’ai depuis longtemps en stock des rouleaux de papier métallisé autocollant de différentes couleurs (très bien pour faire des décorations de Noël), dont une version « argent ». J’y ai découpé de petits rectangles de 6 × 2,5 mm.

Photos

Je suis allé chercher sur Internet de véritables photos, en noir et blanc, de sujets simples (paysages, statues, architecture). Il y a une dizaine de sujets différents. Évidemment, la réduction énorme fait qu’ils ne sont pratiquement plus reconnaissables, mais c’est pour la beauté du geste. Format (images importées sous MS Word, ici grossies cinq fois environ) : 3,4 × 2,1 mm.

Photos pour décoration

Les photos sont imprimées sur étiquettes autocollantes. Le papier étant de qualité ordinaire, après avoir prédécoupé les images, j’y ai passé un coup de vernis acrylique brillant Humbrol en bombe.

Si c’était à refaire, j’imprimerais la totalité de la cloison, du moins la partie au dessus des sièges, avec les photos et un cadre pour positionner le miroir. Je pourrais ainsi coller ce miroir confortablement avant de placer le tout dans l’aménagement.

Remontage

Aménagement et bogies sur châssis

Après avoir remis les timons en place, je présente l’aménagement sur le châssis, je passe les fils par les trous de pivot, et j’encliquette le tout.

Je passe les fils dans les pivots des bogies, et, tout en maintenant les fils assez tendus, pour qu’ils ne se coincent pas n’importe où, j’encliquette les bogies.

Je soude les fils sur la plaquette en circuit imprimé des bogies (attention à la polarité !), puis j’en tire gentiment l’excédent par le dessus de l’aménagement — ils devraient coulisser sans trop de difficultés. Je laisse un peu de mou.

Caisse sur châssis

J’approche la caisse du châssis, je fais passer les fils par les trous oblongs percés dans les porte-bagages. Je place la caisse sur le châssis, mais sans l’encliqueter.

Je soude les fils sur la réglette d’éclairage. Je colle la réglette sur les entretoises au double-face épais.

Remontage de la caisse

Remarquez l’entretoise pour la réglette munie de son adhésif avec son papier protecteur. Les marchepieds sont peints couleur bois clair.

Test de fonctionnement

Avec un ohmmètre, je vérifie la continuité électrique entre les deux bogies, pour la même file de rail, et l’isolement entre les deux files de rails.

J’alimente un coupon de voie, je pose la voiture dessus et je vérifie l’allumage de la réglette. Dans le cas d’utilisation d’un ILS bistable, il faut peut-être passer l’aimant de commande pour provoquer l’allumage.

Fin du remontage

J’encliquette complètement la caisse sur le châssis. Attention aux câblots qui peuvent venir se coincer entre les deux. Remettre éventuellement les tampons. Je colle les accessoires qui se seraient échappés pendant les opérations.

J’encliquette le toit. C’est fini ! Qui a dit « enfin » ?

Voiture Nord Rapide éclairée

Papier adhésif métallisé réf. PAD 185
Format 1 x 0.33 m, lot de 5 couleurs :
or, argent, rouge, bleu et vert
10,91 € — prix 2015 chez Ogéo