Lighting (continued): equipement of the body

Drilling the inside fittings

Usually, the bogie connection wires are passed to the light strip through the toilet, where a rectifier and a capacitor are also placed. But, in the Nord Rapide coaches, the toilets are in the center! There is no discreet path for the wires, except maybe between chassis and interior fittings. But the place is occupied by a ballast. I tested this solution: it is tricky to keep the wires in this position. So I tried something else: make the wires pass into a compartment partition thickness!

There is another solution I would have used if I had known it at that moment. It consists of using self-adhesive copper tape. Thin as the tracks of a printed circuit, this tape would pass without any problem between chassis and interior fittings.

This is feasible: the partitions are 1.2 mm thick in their thinnest part, and there is only about 8 mm to run through “uncovered” before passing behind the seat backs, which can hide an accidental exit of the drill bit. I think I can drill at ø 0.6 for wires ø 0.5.

Naturally, the inside fittings to be drilled must be firmly held in a vice and perfectly horizontal.

To deflect as little as possible, I start with a carbide drill bit (1), very rigid (and brittle!), but too short to reach the bottom. I finish with a classic drill bit (2) very, too flexible. It is necessary to work at very low speed, otherwise the material warms up and deforms.

Partition drilling

It is also necessary to often lift up the drill to clean it, let us say every millimeter of tool advance. Two holes must be drilled per partition, one per wire, to a distance between about 3 or 4 mm. Even with all these precautions, I could not avoid getting out a little too soon, but it did not go too bad.

Passing the wires in the fittings

Here are the wires installed. I was afraid of difficulties in introducing them, but it went well. It is important that they slide easily, to get the excess under the roof after soldering them on the bogies.

Passage des fils dans la cloison

Milling of crossing beams

It's not over: when the body is reassembled, its crossing beams with their pretty, though almost invisible, luggage racks will position themselves just above the partitions, risking to block the wires. These crossing beams must therefore be drilled, or rather milled. Obviously, the milling must be right above the partition holes.

Milling the luggage racks

Other work on the body

I prefer that the entire lighting system be independent of the roof, so that it can be safely removed. The light strips are therefore not sticked on the roof, but on the body, by means of spacers, with thick double-sided adhesive. These spacers are cut in 4 mm thick polystyrene. On a total of three, two are glued to the extreme body crossing beams (1) and one is located towards the middle of the car, depending on the possibilities. The gluing is made with liquid model glue, like Kibri’s.

Entretoises et profil anti fuite

  1. Spacer for the light strip
  2. Anti-light leakage profile
  3. Slotted hole for the passage of wires

On the first finished car, I noticed light leaks between the body and the roof, especially at the doors. So I glue a 1 mm square Evergreen profile (2) all along the body behind the roof clips. This gluing is also done with plastic model glue. There is of course a profile on each side. These profiles will be painted black.

Copper foil tape
5 mm x 30 m adhesive
at amazon.com

Éclairage, suite - Équipement de la caisse

Perçages de l’aménagement

D’habitude, on fait passer les fils de raccordement des bogies à la réglette d’éclairage par les toilettes, dans lesquelles on place aussi un redresseur et un condensateur. Mais, dans les voitures Nord Rapide, les toilettes sont au centre ! Il n’y a aucun endroit pour le passage des fils en toute discrétion, à part peut-être entre châssis et aménagement. Mais la place est occupée par un lest. J’ai essayé cette solution : il est délicat de maintenir les fils dans cette position. J’ai donc tenté autre chose : les faire passer dans l’épaisseur d’une cloison de compartiments !

Il y a bien une autre solution que j’aurais employée si je l’avais connue à ce moment. C’est celle du ruban de cuivre autocollant. Mince comme les pistes d’un circuit imprimé, ce ruban serait passé sans aucun problème entre châssis et aménagement.

C’est jouable : les cloisons font 1,2 mm d’épaisseur dans leur partie la plus mince, et il n’y a que 8 mm environ à parcourir « à découvert » avant de passer derrière les dossiers de sièges, qui pourront masquer une sortie accidentelle du foret. Je pense pouvoir percer à ø 0,6 pour des fils ø 0,5.

Naturellement, il faut que l’aménagement à percer soit fermement maintenu dans un étau et parfaitement horizontal.

Pour dévier le moins possible, je commence avec un foret carbure (1), très rigide (et cassant !), mais trop court pour atteindre le bas. Je finis donc avec un foret classique (2) très, trop souple. Il faut travailler à vitesse très réduite, sinon la matière s’échauffe et se déforme.

Perçage de cloison

Il faut aussi dégager souvent le foret pour débourrer, disons tous les millimètres d’avance. Il faut percer deux trous par cloison, un par fil, à un entraxe d’environ 3 à 4 mm. Même avec toutes ces précautions, je n’ai pu éviter parfois de déboucher un peu trop tôt, mais ça ne s’est pas trop mal passé.

Passage des fils dans l’aménagement

Voici les fils installés. Je craignais des difficultés pour les introduire, mais cela s’est bien passé. Il est important qu’ils coulissent facilement, pour rentrer l’excédent sous le toit après leur soudage sur les bogies.

Passage des fils dans la cloison

Fraisage des traverses de caisse

Ce n’est pas terminé : quand la caisse sera remontée, ses traverses munies de leurs jolis, quoique à peu près invisibles, porte-bagages viendront se positionner juste au dessus des cloisons, risquant de bloquer les fils. Il faut donc percer, ou mieux fraiser, les traverses concernées. Évidem­ment, ce fraisage doit se trouver au dessus des perçages de cloison.

Fraisage du porte-bagages

Autres travaux sur la caisse

Je préfère que tout le système d’éclairage soit indépendant du toit, de façon à pouvoir l’enlever sans risque. Les réglettes d’éclairage sont donc collées non sous le toit, mais sur la caisse, par l’intermédiaire d’entretoises, avec de l’adhésif double-face épais. Ces entretoises sont découpées dans du polystyrène de 4 mm. Au nombre de trois, elles sont collées sur les traverses de caisse extrêmes (1) et sur une située vers le milieu de la voiture, en fonction des possibilités. Le collage se fait à la colle liquide pour maquette, genre Kibri.

Entretoises et profil anti fuite

  1. Entretoise pour la réglette d’éclairage
  2. Profilé anti-fuite de lumière
  3. Trou oblong pour le passage des fils

Sur la première voiture terminée, j’ai constaté des fuites de lumière entre caisse et toit, surtout au niveau des portes. Je colle donc un profilé Evergreen carré de 1 mm (2) tout le long de la caisse, derrière les clips de fixation du toit. Ce collage est également réalisé à la colle pour maquette. Il y a bien sûr un profilé de chaque côté. Ces profilés seront peints en noir.

Ruban feuille de cuivre
5 mm x 30 m adhésif
5,95 € — prix 2015,
sur amazon.fr