Lighting, continued - Equipement of bogies

Drilling

The bogie must get holes for the bare wires coming from the conductive bearings (1), and for the insulated wires coming from the body inside (2).

For the former, I drill at the indicated locations, at the end of the path which seems to have been provided by the manufacturer, at ø 0,4. The bare wires come from a computer power supply cables.

Drilling the bogie

Note the 0.5 mm wedge around the axis to raise the body.

For the others, I enlarge the pivot hole to ø 1.6, greatly sufficient for passing two wires of 0.5 mm outside diameter.

Thinning of the ends of side beams

As I said earlier, the end of the internal side beams tends to get curved and comes rubbing on the wheel side. So I take advantage that the bogies are disassembled to thin these beams, with a diamond file, which bite the plastic better than a classic file.

Connection plate

I have provided a connection plate, although it is not essential, but it simplifies soldering the various wires. It is of 0.8 mm thick epoxy, with maximum dimensions of 9 × 11 mm so as to fit between the leaf springs. It is drilled in its center at the same 1.6 diameter as the bogie pivot, and is glued with cyanoacrylate by centering it through its hole. This plate is visible on the picture at the bottom of the page.

Preparation of bearings

Here again, the path of wires seems to have been provided on the side of the bearings. The wire must arrive tangentially on the bearing shoulder. Under no circumstances should the solder flow around the body, otherwise it will not be possible anymore to put back the bearing into the axle box.

To avoid this, I made a small assembly consisting of an epoxy plate drilled to the diameter of the bearings, i.e. 1.8 mm. This plate is tightened in my mini-drill vice. The bearing in the hole is firmly held by pressing a cocktail peak hold into the drill mandrell. I use wood, not metal, to avoid heat losses.

Soudure d’un palier

Click the image to get a closer view.

The wire, about 100 mm long (much too long but easier to handle), is wound about a quarter of a turn on the bearing and held by tweezers. A drop of Bergeon flux (free advertising) is filed. I melt very little solder on the iron tip, then I put it on the bearing. A little sizzle, and it’s done. The wire that protrudes from the “bad” side (here on the left) is cut flush.

Attention: due to symmetry, it is necessary to prepare half of bearings with wire going to the right, as here, and half with wire leaving to the left.

Note: with increasing experience, I happened to operate in vivo, without removing the bearings from the bogies, and of course without anesthesia. In this case, I make a space in the plastic with a small ø 1 mill bit, near the bearing; I place the connecting wire, Bergeon flux, and I solder directly with very little tin, and very quickly. It is a bit risky, but much faster. It is necessary to rinse carefully to eliminate the flux, which is acid and electricaly conductive.

Installation of bearings and wires, reassembly of axles

This is undoubtedly the most tiresome part, because some bearings do not hold in their housing. I hold them temporarily with an axle without wheels. The wires are placed in their groove and then passed through their ø 0.4 mm hole. They are glued with cyanoacrylate, then finally soldered on the plate.

Before gluing, make sure that the temporary axle is loose enough, i.e. that the bearings are deeep inside their housing. Otherwise, there will be big frictions, which will destroy all our efforts…

Wired bogie

  1. Insulated wires coming from the pivot (see later)
  2. Bare wires soldered to the plate
  3. Thinned beam (see above)
  4. Bearing with soldered wire

So, let’s check the axles immediately. If by misfortune an axle has difficulty turning, nothing is lost: separate the two half-axles from their sleeve, shorten one of them a little, push back the axle tip with respect to the wheel. The distance between tips will be slightly decreased, and everything will return in order. Be careful not to exaggerate: the wheel should not be rubbing on the beam, something that it already tends to do naturally!

Éclairage, suite - Équipement des bogies

Perçages

Le bogie doit recevoir des perçages pour les fils nus venant des paliers conducteurs (1), et pour les fils isolés provenant de l’intérieur de la caisse (2).

Pour les premiers, je perce aux endroits indiqués, à l’extrémité du chemin qui semble avoir été prévu par le fabricant, à ø 0,4. Les fils nus proviennent de câbles récupérés sur une alimentation d’ordinateur.

Perçage du bogie

Remarquer autour de l’axe la cale de 0,5 mm pour relever la hauteur de caisse.

Pour les autres, je reperce le pivot du bogie à ø 1,6, amplement suffisant pour le passage de deux fils de diamètre extérieur 0,5.

Amincissement des extrémités de balanciers

Comme je l’ai indiqué précédemment, l’extrémité des balanciers internes a tendance à rebiquer et à venir frotter sur le voile de roue. Je profite donc que les bogies sont démontés pour amincir ces balanciers, à la lime diamantée, qui mord mieux le plastique qu’une lime classique.

Plaquette de raccordement

J’ai prévu une plaquette de raccordement, bien que ça ne soit pas indispensable, mais ça simplifie le soudage des différents fils. Elle est en époxy épaisseur 0,8, de dimensions maximales 9 × 11 pour pouvoir passer entre les ressorts à pincettes. Elle est percée en son centre au même diamètre 1,6 que le pivot du bogie, et y est collée à la cyanoacrylate en la centrant grâce à son trou. Cette plaquette est visible sur la photo en bas de page.

Préparation des paliers

Ici aussi, le passage des fils semble avoir été prévu sur le côté des paliers. Le fil doit arriver tangentiellement sur l’épaulement du palier. En aucun cas la soudure ne doit s’écouler sur le corps, sous peine d’empêcher la remise en place dans les boîtes d’essieux.

Pour éviter cela, j’ai fabriqué un petit montage constitué d’une chute d’époxy percée au diamètre des paliers, 1,8 mm. Cette plaquette est serrée dans l’étau de ma mini-perceuse. Le palier placé dans le trou est maintenu fermement par appui d’un pic à cocktail serré dans le mandrin de la perceuse. J’utilise du bois et non du métal pour éviter les déperditions de chaleur.

Soudure d’un palier

Cliquez sur l’image pour voir le montage de plus près.

Le fil, de 100 mm de long environ (ce qui est beaucoup trop mais facilite sa manipulation) est enroulé d’un quart de tour environ sur le palier, et maintenu par des pinces ou des brucelles. Une goutte de flux Bergeon (publicité gratuite) est déposée. Je fais fondre très peu d’étain sur la panne du fer, étain que je dépose ensuite sur le palier. Ça fait un petit pchitt, et c’est soudé. Le fil qui dépasse du « mauvais » côté (ici à gauche) est coupé à ras.

Attention : pour cause de symétrie, il faut préparer moitié de paliers avec fil partant à droite, comme ici, et moitié avec fil partant à gauche.

Remarque : il m’est arrivé, l’expérience venant, d’opérer in vivo, sans sortir les paliers des bogies, et bien sûr sans anesthésie. Dans ce cas, je ménage, dans le plastique, avec une petite fraise ø 1, un espace près du palier ; j’y place le fil de raccordement, du flux Bergeon, et je soude directement avec très peu d’étain, et très rapidement. C’est un peu risqué, mais beaucoup plus rapide. Il faut penser à rincer soigneusement pour éliminer le flux, acide et conducteur électrique.

Pose des paliers et des fils, remontage des essieux

C’est sans doute la partie la plus pénible, car certains paliers ne tiennent pas dans leur logement. Je les maintiens provisoi­rement avec un axe d’essieu sans roues. Les fils sont placés dans leur saignée, puis passés par leur trou ø 0,4. Ils sont collés à la cyanoacrylate, puis enfin soudés sur la plaquette.

Avant collage, bien vérifier que l’axe posé provisoirement joue librement, donc que les paliers sont bien au fond de leur logement. Sinon, il y aura de gros frottements, ce qui réduira à néant tous ces efforts…

Bogie câblé

  1. Fils isolés venant du pivot (c’est pour plus tard)
  2. Fils nus soudés sur la plaquette
  3. Balancier aminci (voir plus haut)
  4. Palier avec son fil soudé

D’ailleurs, vérifions tout de suite en remontant les essieux. Si par malchance un essieu a du mal à tourner, rien n’est perdu : il faut le séparer de son manchon, raccourcir un peu l’un des deux demi-axes, repousser d’autant la pointe par rapport à la roue. La distance entre pointes sera légèrement diminuée, et tout rentrera dans l’ordre. Attention quand même à ne pas exagérer : il ne faudrait pas que la roue frotte sur le balancier, chose qu’elle a déjà tendance à faire naturellement !