Lighting

At first, I wanted to make a printed circuit corresponding to the pretty double-roof with its ceiling lights. But it was complicated, because the space is very tight, and you had to do two circuits, one for the compartments and one for the corridor. And it was impossible to place my bistable reed control circuit under the roof; in the toilet, it might be too far from an outside control magnet. So I resigned myself to removing this double-roof and installing a classic lighting strip.

Note: I make these strips myself, respecting the pitch of the compartments. The consumption per car is only about 6 mA, for a lighting that I personally find satisfactory. You can download the PDF document showing the diagrams and the etching mask (623 KB) by clicking here.

The bogies are equipped with brass bearings, and have a path for the wires. The current will be taken by the bearings, and, as far as possible, by insulated half-axles, which will give four points of contact per polarity. This system is quite common at Roco’s for example. Some will think it’s a lot of work for little benefit. Not at all! After having realized this installation, I circulated a Nord car with another classically equipped with pickup strips on the axes, and with the same supply circuit — and the same capacitor. Well, in some places, this last one blinks gleefully while the first one passes without any blinking !

To take the current by the bearings, the wheels must not be isolated from their axle. So I have to find twice the number of “normal” LSM axles, having an insulated wheel (and the same diameter!), to get their uninsulated wheels back. After checking, I have LSM wagons — with bogies — that do not need lighting, and that will therefore receive axles with two insulated wheels, enough to equip my six Nord cars.

Preparation of axles

Small warning: when you remove the axles, some bearings tend to escape, others remain blocked. So caution for runaways; for recalcitrants, it is possible to separate the external side beam with its axle boxes, which is equipped with small not too fragile pins, so as to push the recalcitrant bearing out of its housing from the outside.

Disassembling

Note: as the insulation rings are not very much visible in the drawing below, I used false colors for the wheels: the insulated ones are green, the others are bronze-colored. You may find the following complicated, but it limits the manipulations at their maximum: I only disassemble one wheel out of two, and I only cut one axis out of two. Follow the guide into the wheel workshop…

  1. Pull out an uninsulated wheel from half of the axles with the Puller;
  2. Pull out an insulated wheel from the other half of the axles;
  3. On axles still carrying an insulated wheel, reassemble an insulated wheel coming from the second batch;
  4. Immediately put these completely insulated axles back onto the “donor” wagons.

Mounting the axles

Sawing the axles

After locating the middle of the axles (those carrying a non-insulated wheel) as precisely as possible, place them into the mandrel of a good drill.

  1. With a square-shaped file, make a 45° groove forming a chamfer on each half-axle;
  2. Separate the half-axles with a thin-blade saw.

Reassembling the wheels and axles

  1. Onto the bare semi-axle thus obtained, put a non-insulated wheel back;
  2. Assemble two half-axles with a plastic tube.

Here appears a small hitch: the Evergreen tube that I usually use to do this has an outside diameter of 3.2 mm, and it rubs on the brake linkage of the bogie. So I find thinner tubes coming from ball pen cartridges (not Bic), with an outer diameter of 3 mm, but with an inner diameter of about 2.1 mm, so the axles are not tightened in it. Not good for alignment! To catch the backlash, I stick a layer of tape onto the half-axles, and it fits flawlessly! Obviously, the length of the tubes is calculated to obtain exactly the back-to-back spacing of the wheels: between 14.4 and 14.6 mm according to NEM 310 of 2009. Due to the thickness of the hubs, the sleeve must be 12.8 mm, length which must be in any case adjusted individually.

Before gluing the assembly with cyanoacrylate glue, I check the wheel spacing and the distance between tips (24.7 mm). I also check that there is no electrical contact between the two wheels, which is possible if the half-axes have been cut a bit too long.

I have a total of four axles × six cars = 24 pieces to prepare. And I do not like repetitive work! This is to say that I spread this work over several days!

Éclairage

Au début, j’ai voulu faire un circuit imprimé correspondant au joli double-toit avec ses plafonniers. Mais c’était compliqué, car l’espace est très compté, et qu’il fallait en fait faire deux circuits, un pour les compartiments et un pour le couloir. Et il était impossible de placer mon circuit de commande à ILS bistable sous le toit ; dans les toilettes, il serait peut-être trop loin d’un aimant de commande extérieur. Je me suis donc résigné à enlever ce double-toit et à installer une réglette classique.

NB : je fabrique les réglettes moi-même, en respectant le pas des compartiments. La consommation par voiture n’est que d’environ 6 mA, pour un éclairage que je trouve personnellement satisfaisant. Vous pouvez télécharger le document PDF montrant les schémas et les typons (623 Ko) en cliquant ici.

Les bogies sont équipés de paliers en laiton, et présentent un chemin pour le passage de fils. Le courant sera capté par ces paliers, et, tant qu’à faire, par des demi-essieux isolés, ce qui fera quatre points de contact par polarité. Ce système est assez répandu chez Roco par exemple. D’aucuns penseront que c’est beaucoup de travail pour peu de bénéfice. Que nenni ! Après avoir réalisé cette installation, j’ai fait circuler une voiture Nord avec la Gril Express équipée classiquement de frotteurs sur les axes, et avec le même circuit d’alimentation (donc le même condensateur). Eh bien, à certains endroits, celle-ci clignote allégrement alors que celle-là passe sans sourciller !

Pour capter par les paliers, les roues ne doivent pas être isolées de leur axe. Il faut donc que je trouve un nombre double d’essieux LSM « normaux », à une roue isolée, (et du même diamètre !), pour en récupérer les roues non isolées. Vérification faite, j’ai suffisamment de wagons LSM — à bogies — qui n’ont pas besoin d’éclairage, et qui recevront donc des essieux à deux roues isolées, pour équiper mes six voitures Nord.

Préparation des essieux

Petit avertissement préalable : lorsque vous enlevez les essieux, certains paliers ont tendance à s’échapper, d’autres restent bloqués. Donc prudence pour les fugueurs ; pour les fortes têtes, il est possible d’écarter le balancier externe avec ses boîtes d’essieux, pièce qui est munie de petits tenons pas trop fragiles, de façon à pousser le palier récalcitrant hors de son logement par l’extérieur.

Démontage

NB : comme on ne voit pas très bien les bagues d’isolation sur le dessin ci-dessous, j’ai utilisé des fausses couleurs pour les roues : les isolées sont vertes, les autres sont couleur bronze. Vous allez peut-être trouver ce qui suit compliqué, mais cela permet de limiter au maximum les manipulations : je ne démonte qu’une roue sur deux, et je ne coupe qu’un axe sur deux. Suivez le guide dans l’atelier des roues…

  1. Sortir au Puller une roue non isolée sur la moitié des essieux ;
  2. Sortir une roue isolée sur l’autre moitié des essieux ;
  3. Sur les axes portant enco­re une roue isolée, remonter une roue isolée venant du deuxième lot ;
  4. Replacer immédia­tement ces essieux complè­tement isolés sur les wagons « donneurs ».

Montage des essieux

Sciage des axes

Après avoir repéré le milieu des axes (ceux qui portent une roue non isolée) le plus précisément possible, les placer dans le mandrin d’une bonne perceuse.

  1. Faire à la lime carrée une saignée à 45° formant chanfrein sur chaque demi-axe ;
  2. Séparer les demi-axes en coupant à la bocfil (ou autre).

Remontage des roues puis des essieux

  1. Sur le demi-axe nu ainsi obtenu, remonter une roue non isolée
  2. Manchonner deux demi-essieux avec un tube plastique

Là, il y a un petit couac : le tube Evergreen que j’utilise d’habitude pour ce faire a un diamètre extérieur de 3,2 mm, et il frotte sur la tringlerie de frein du bogie. Je trouve donc des tubes plus minces, venant de cartouches de stylo-bille (mais pas des Bic), dont le diamètre extérieur de 3 mm convient, mais dont le diamètre intérieur est un peu fort : 2,1 mm environ, ce qui fait que les axes flottent dedans. Pas bon pour l’alignement ! Pour rattraper le jeu, je colle une couche de ruban adhésif sur les demi-axes, et ça rentre pile-poil ! Évidemment, la longueur des tubes est calculée pour obtenir exactement l’écartement dos à dos des roues : entre 14,4 et 14,6 mm selon la NEM 310 de 2009. Déduction faite de l’épaisseur des moyeux, le manchon doit faire 12,8 mm, longueur qu’il faut de toutes façons ajuster individuellement.

Avant de coller l’ensemble à la cyanoacrylate, je vérifie l’écartement des roues ainsi que la distance entre pointes (24,7 mm). Je vérifie aussi qu’il n’y a pas de contact électrique entre les deux roues, ce qui est possible si les demi-axes ont été coupés un peu trop longs.

J’ai au total quatre essieux × six voitures = 24 pièces à préparer. Et je n’aime pas les travaux répétitifs ! Autant vous dire que j’étale cela sur plusieurs jours !