Adjustment of height

The cause

Reminder: there is a difference of half a millimeter between the two ends. But where does this difference come from? Let’s disassemble the bogies (just pull). They are identical (apart from the dynamo). Let’s measure the height h between pivots and roof. They are equal! Now let’s look under the chassis: on one side, the pivot is alone, while on the other, there are two supports. Well yes, it's for three-point suspension, that's fine, isn’t it?

Height measurement

Sure, but, in order for the supports to do their job, they must raise the chassis a little, don’t they? This is where the problem lies: the body is lifted by 0.5 mm by these supports! So the opposite side pivot should be 0.5 mm longer! One must not have a high level of education in mechanics to understand it. But at LSM, obviously, they did not understand it. And we find this defect, more or less accentuated, on many productions of the brand (and others too)!

Correction

The actual height of the car is exactly 4 m, or 46.0 mm to scale (I round to three digits). The higher side of the LSM cars being around 46 mm (sometimes 45.8, sometimes 46.1), I consider that this height is correct. It is therefore necessary to raise the other end of 0.5 mm and not to lower the first as I read on the Loco-Revue forum. A simple 7 × 7 mm polystyrene wedge, with a ø 4 centered hole, and placed on the bogie pivot, does the job.

Disassembling

If we want to install a few figurines, or lighting, or to tweak the decoration, we have to disassemble, and if possible without breakage.

Roof

It's easy and safe, and fortunately, given the number of times I had to do the manipulation. Simply start the chink at a door, then slide a finger nail or a not too hard card along the junction.

Chassis

That’s a bit more tricky. If possible, remove the buffers whose pin hinders the lifting of the chassis. But some are very well glued, while others are not at all …

Start by lifting the chassis at one end. Do not try to slip cards like credit card or other along the sides: high risk of breaking fixing clips. Once one end is disengaged, the rest comes by delicately and gradually spreading the skirts on both sides. If accessories try falling down, set them aside by locating their position, as there are many possible locations!

Interior fittings

The interior fittings are extracted from the chassis by gently removing the small holding clips. You may be surprised to see the corridor partition as well as those of the ends escaping. They are also held by small clips that are sometimes twisted and no longer do their job. You will also find that some windows of the partitions are dirty: dust, traces of glue, even fingerprints — not yours! There, I think it would have been better to have no window panes at all!

At this point, it will be a good idea to set aside the drawbars with their return spring. Indeed, they are no longer maintained and may escape at any time.

Rectification de la hauteur

La cause

Rappel : il y a ½ millimètre de différence entre les deux extrémités. Mais d’où vient cette différence ? Démontons les bogies (il suffit de tirer dessus). Ils sont identiques (à part la dynamo). Mesurons les hauteurs h entre pivots et toit. Elles sont égales ! Regardons maintenant sous le châssis : d’un côté, le pivot est seul, alors que de l’autre, il y a deux appuis. Eh bien oui, c’est pour la portée en trois points, c’est bien, non ?

Mesure de la hauteur

Certes, mais, pour que les appuis portent, il faut qu’ils soulèvent ne serait-ce qu’un peu le châssis, n’est-ce pas ? C’est ici que le bât blesse : la caisse est soulevée de 0,5 mm par ces appuis ! Donc il fallait que le pivot côté opposé soit 0,5 mm plus long ! Il ne faut pas avoir fait de hautes études de mécanique pour le comprendre. Mais, chez LSM, manifestement, on ne l’a pas compris. Et on retrouve ce défaut, plus ou moins accentué, sur de nombreuses productions de la marque (et d’autres également) !

Correction

La hauteur réelle de la voiture est de 4 m pile, soit 46,0 mm à l’échelle (j’arrondis à trois chiffres). Le côté le plus haut des voitures LSM étant aux alentours de 46 mm (parfois 45,8, parfois 46,1), je considère que cette hauteur est correcte. Il faut donc relever l’autre extrémité de 0,5 mm et non pas abaisser la première comme je l’ai lu sur le forum Loco-Revue. Une simple cale en polystyrène de 7 × 7 mm, percée à ø 4 en son centre et placée sur le pivot de bogie, fait l’affaire.

Démontage

Si l’on veut installer quelques personnages, ou l’éclairage, ou encore peaufiner la décoration, on est bien forcé de démonter, et si possible sans casse.

Toit

C’est facile et sans risque, et heureusement, vu le nombre de fois que j’ai dû faire la manip. Il suffit d’amorcer l’entrebâillement au niveau d’une porte, puis de glisser un ongle ou autre carte pas trop dure le long de la jonction.

Châssis

Là, c’est un peu plus délicat. Si possible, enlever les tampons dont le tenon gêne l’extraction du châssis. Mais certains sont très bien collés, alors que d’autres ne le sont pas du tout…

Commencer par soulever le châssis à une extrémité. Ne pas essayer de glisser des cartes genre carte de crédit ou autres le long des flancs : fort risque de casse de clips de fixation. Une fois une extrémité déboîtée, le reste vient en écartant délicatement et progressivement les jupes de part et d’autre. Si des accessoires montrent des velléités de fuite, les mettre de côté en repérant leur position, car il y a beaucoup d’emplacements possibles !

Aménagement

L’aménagement s’extrait du châssis en écartant doucement les petits clips de maintien. Vous aurez peut-être la surprise de voir la cloison du couloir ainsi que celles d’extrémité s’échapper. Elles sont aussi maintenues par de petits clips qui sont parfois tordus et ne jouent plus leur rôle. Vous constaterez aussi que certaines vitres des cloisons sont sales : poussières, traces de colle, voire empreintes digitales — et pas les vôtres ! Là, je crois qu’il aurait mieux valu pas de vitre du tout !

Arrivé à ce point, ce sera une bonne idée de mettre de côté les timons avec leur ressort de rappel. En effet, ils ne sont plus maintenus et peuvent à tout moment jouer la fille de l’air.