3D printing part design

Once the material and the 3D printing technique, therefore the supplier, chosen, we can know exactly the limits of this technique and modify one last time the parts if necessary. Finally, we export the files in STL (stereolithography). In AutoCAD 2000, a parameter is used to adjust the curve smoothing by increasing the fineness of the mesh; this is FACETRES. By default, its value is 0.5. Raising it to its maximum of 10 greatly enhances the appearance while only doubling the file size. So don’t deprive yourself.

Errors in STL files

Attention: the export to STL command can give errors (“holes” in the mesh for example). Typically, 3D print providers correct these errors before printing the objects, but you’d better doing it yourself before sending the files.

Many software programs are able to search for errors and make corrections, but most are commercial. There is an old version of nettfab (from Autodesk), free, that does this job very simply. This is version netfabb-basic 7.4, available on GitHub. A tutorial is available here. You’ll see that it is very simple.

Images

Here are images of STL files obtained with 3D-Tool Free Viewer, a 3D object display utility — really — free which allows you to view STL files (and other formats) and to detect any inconsistencies. It can do much more that will not be very useful to me, but who can do more can do less, and this program is not too cumbersome.

Main parts

  • Legs. The cab-side leg is illustrated here, the most complex, with holes for fixing the ladder, supports for gangways, tenons for assembly with beams and holes for cleaning the printed object (removal of the inner support wax).
  • Double beams (two symmetrical parts), including the trolley rails and the (flat) power cable supports.

Cab-side leg

Double beams

  • Cab (deprived of its floor printed with other parts, see below)

Cab

  • Electrical cabinets with their shelter.

Electrical cabinets

Grouping of small parts

Small parts can be grouped in clusters, as in injection molding. I thus grouped:

  • Driving bogies, head to tail so that they are not attached by their fragile part;

Driving bogies

  • Carrying bogies. I hope that the immobilizer brake wheel — supposed to be four spike, I have no explicit photo — will be correctly rendered;

Carrying bogies

  • Cab base, current pickup support, hoists and electrical cabinet infrastructure;

Base, trolleys, hoists

  • Trolleys
                                                

Trolleys

The inside of the trolleys, hollow, is provided with holes to attach the hoist cables. I didn’t plan a winch! But it would not be totally unimaginable…

Trolley sectional view

  • Leg beams
                                       

Leg beams

Note: after receiving the parts, it turned out that the idea of putting them together in cluster was not good, even for very small ones. Indeed, the fasteners cause traces throughout the wall height, traces due I think to the support material, and that are very difficult to remove.

We see that the design of objects for 3D printing is not very complicated, once the model correctly designed. This is not the same for the photo-etching, as we are going to see now.

Nevertheless, minimum dimensional constraints must be respected: for example, at Shapeways, at least two dimensions must be greater than 2.5 mm; the sum of the three dimensions must be greater than 12 mm. It is sometimes enough to add a detail to get compliant.

Conception des pièces pour impression 3D

Une fois choisies la matière et la technique d’impression 3D, donc le fournisseur, on peut connaître exactement les limites de cette technique et modifier une dernière fois les pièces si besoin. Enfin, on exporte les fichiers en STL (stéréolithographie). Dans AutoCAD 2000, un paramètre permet de régler le lissage des courbes en augmentant la finesse du maillage ; il s’agit de FACETRES. Par défaut, il vaut 0,5. Le porter à son maximum de 10 améliore grandement l’aspect tout en multipliant par 2 seulement la taille du fichier. Donc ne pas s’en priver.

Voici des images des fichiers STL obtenues avec 3D-Tool Free Viewer, un utilitaire d’affichage d’objets 3D — vraiment — gratuit qui permet de visualiser les fichiers STL (et d’autres formats) et de repérer éventuellement des défauts de cohérence. Il peut faire bien d’autres choses qui ne me seront pas très utiles, mais qui peut le plus peut le moins, et ce programme n’est pas trop encombrant.

Pièces principales

  • Palées. C’est la palée côté cabine qui est illustrée ici, la plus complexe, avec des perçages pour la fixation de l’échelle, des supports pour les passerelles, des tenons pour l’assemblage avec les poutres et des trous pour le nettoyage de l’objet imprimé (évacuation de la cire de support intérieure).
  • Poutres doubles (deux pièces symétriques), incluant les rails de circulation des chariots et les supports de câbles (plats) d’alimentation électrique.
  • Cabine (privée de son socle imprimé avec d'autres pièces, voir ci-dessous)

Palée côté cabine

Poutres doubles

Cabine

  • Armoires électri­ques avec leur abri.

Armoires électriques

Regroupement de petites pièces

Les petites pièces peuvent être regroupées en grappes, comme dans le moulage par injection. J’ai ainsi regroupé :

  • les bogies moteurs, tête-bêche pour qu’ils ne soient pas attachés par leur partie fragile ;

Bogies moteurs

  • les bogies porteurs. J’espère que le volant de frein d’immobilisa­tion — supposé à quatre branches, je n’ai pas de photo explicite — sortira correctement ;

Bogies porteurs

  • le socle de cabine, le support de trolleys, les palans et l’infrastruc­ture des armoires électriques ;

Socle, trolleys, palans

  • les chariots ;
                                                

Chariots

L’intérieur des chariots, creux, est muni de perçages pour fixer les câbles des palans. Je n’ai pas prévu de treuil ! Mais ce ne serait pas totalement inimaginable…

Chariots en coupe

  • les poutres-entretoises.

Poutres-entretoises

NB : après avoir reçu les pièces, il s’est avéré que l’idée de les mettre en grappe n’était pas bonne, même pour les très petites. En effet, les attaches provoquent des traces sur toute la hauteur de paroi, traces dues je pense au matériau de support, et qu'il est bien délicat d’enlever.

On voit que la conception des objets pour impression 3D n’est pas très compliquée, une fois le modèle correctement conçu. Il n’en va pas de même pour la photodécoupe, comme on va le voir maintenant.

Il faut néanmoins respecter les contraintes de dimensions minimales : par exemple, chez Shapeways, deux dimensions au moins doivent être supérieures à 2,5 mm ; la somme des trois dimensions doit être supérieure à 12 mm. Il suffit parfois d’ajouter un détail pour rentrer « dans les clous ».